We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like stepping into the past”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bagan Hotel River View
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Bagan
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Made to look as though it has been built in the ruins of old Bagan, this hotel is strikingly beautiful in lush, green garden settings and a view to die for. The impact is firstly exotic, then serene and you want to stay forever. Dining by the river is pure magic and just watching the boats leisurely cruise with the gentle flow of the river is tonic for the work weary of us who have escaped to this tranquille place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during the Ananda festival - this was amazing and we would strongly recommend visiting at this time if possible. The hotel is a little dated but the rooms are comfortable and large. The service was excellent - all the staff were really friendly, they helped us organise flights and when we left for an early boat gave us a packed lunch.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank FeeFeeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at River View for one night, after a night at Thande next door. River View's rooms are very spacious (we had a Junior Suite for little more than a standard double) although cleanliness especially in the bathroom wasn't the best. The restaurant has an open view on the river and sunset here is a treat. Dinner was ok, but we had better food around Bagan. I thought the complex had a lot of potential, with the pagodas in the garden and nice touches here and there, but it is a little cavernous at the moment and a little messy. It is hovewer very central, very easy access to the temples and the bike rental stall is just outside the main door.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elidaloia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

we stayed in the presidential suite for 3 nights, and we had the trip of our dream. the room was spacious, nicely furbished, very clean, and most importantly had the best view in the house, facing the river.

staffs were genuinely hospitable, and friendly.

upon arrival, on the way to our room we were wowed by this ancient pagoda, located on the left side of the open-air restaurant. never before we stayed in a hotel where a piece of history dated back to 12th century was part of the hotel. amazing.

food was OK, but again we were there for something other than culinary adventure.

in all, we had a great stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: choose the corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgg a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Bagan Hotel Riverview

The early morning flight from Yangon to Nyang U (airport for Bagan) landed on schedule but the baggage handling was a bit chaotic at the airport as individual baggage pieces were brought into the small terminal building one at a time from the cart and handed personally to each passenger in turn!

The taxi fare from the airport to the hotel in Old Bagan is around 6 USD and has to be negotiated in advance with the taxi driver as Myanmar taxis do not have meters. Checkin was efficient and the hotel honoured the Agoda billing done earlier.

The setting of the hotel is in nice gardens with two ancient pagodas from the 11th century actually within the hotel grounds. The restaurant in the hotel had fantastic views of the Irrawaddy River and it's banks. The large bougainvillaea bush in the garden was in full bloom and that added to the ambience.

The Junior Suite Room was huge and we had two mattresses added at reasonable cost as my son and his friend joined us at the last minute on the trip. The room was is some wooden cabins near the swimming pool. The views from the room were non existent as apparently the RiverView rooms were not large enough to accommodate extra beds.

Complimentary water, TV, minibar fridge, tea making facilities, hair drier, flip flops and dressing gowns were provided. Bathroom was large and clean. There was a heavy scent however that pervaded the room as though to cover up some other unpleasant odour. The hotel cleaning staff did come and carried out an extra clean but the odour persisted. The toilet flush operated very slowly and this may have been related to the lingering pong. Anyway all of it looked very dated and could done with renovation and good maintenance.

Anyway as we were out sightseeing most of the day so we did not request a room change. Just outside the gates one can hire bikes (around 8 USD for the whole day) or horse buggies that take roughly 3 slim people for about 24 USD.

We used a horse buggy and bicycles to visit the main pagodas:
- Schwezigon Phaya (furthest from hotel)
- Ananda Phaya (best preserved)
- Suleman Palito (best paintings)

We skipped the massive Dhammayangyi temple as it involved a lot of walking and we skipped the Shwesandaw Phaya (sunset views) due to the mad rush of tourists to climb steep steps to watch the sunset.

We opted to watch the sunset from the Bagan Myaw (temple 1774) instead which was just as lovely and almost devoid of the tourist hordes. Here we met the delightful family that look after the temple. The family have 5 daughters Thiri, Moemoe, Saungsaung, Eiei, Gingin. Thiri is the eldest and has taught herself English by talking to tourists and has taught her sisters too. All of them are so chirpy, humorous, inquisitive, well mannered and thoroughly enjoyable to talk to. Thiri sells Tanaka, the sandal wood paste that's Burmese ladies
put on their cheeks but none of the selling is pressured and all the family are so sweet. Such bright kids would have a great future ahead of them if they only had the opportunities available to them. There also was a bright little boy also selling books at the temple and was largely being ignored while tourist bought some souvenirs.

We saw the last sunset for 2013 from this temple in the delightful company of this family before returning to the hotel. On our way back on the horse buggy at dusk we found a little boy cycling furiously on his bike following us for a while shouting "what about me?". It was the little boy selling books at the temple. We just had to buy a book from him!

The hotel had organised a New Year's Eve party including dinner, traditional dances, music and a disco however we avoided it due to the high price being charged. The music from the disco continued to disturb us well into the early hours of the morning but we were too tired and went off to sleep as we had flights to Inle Lake in the morning.

The Buffet breakfast was served from 6 am but all the buffet was cold. Fortunately the omelette station was open and this was welcome before our departure for our flight.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranjan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We got a room with an interconnecting door to the next room (which was not our kids' room - they had to stay in another building). The wall between the rooms, made of wooden planks, was paper thin so we could hear every word our neighbours said. The floor boards also creaked like crazy so we could hear them walk across the room, and we were sure they could hear us too.

Our kids' room at another block, on the other hand, did not have the same problems. The floors did not creak as much, and there were proper walls so we could not hear the neighbours. So ask for rooms without interconnecting doors and proper walls.

The rooms were otherwise very big and spacious, but furnishings were tired and needed refurbishment.

The grounds were very nice, and they even had their very own temple ruins within the hotel grounds. Breakfast was outdoors by the river. This was nice the first morning when we ate at 7.30am - air was cool and view was good. However, the next day we had to eat at 6am to catch our airport transfer. This was a bit uncomfortable because the air was still cold, dew was condensing on the tables and chairs, and breakfast and coffee got cold within minutes. Food was also mediocre at best.

Tharabar Gate was a fifteen-minute walk away from the hotel. There were a number of restaurants near the gate where one could get good food at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Get a room without interconnecting doors and proper walls. The one we stayed with interconnecting do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HTH17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

one can't help but get confused by reading through
some of the reviews of this property. i can't remember a
hotel with such a wide range of opinions offered about it
...from pretty much top-notch, all the way to "terrible."
so, i think before i begin, it's time to remember that there
are on one hand, some people that just can never be made
happy--no matter what is offered...and there are others who
realize that they're TRAVELING, and that therefore, things
just aren't going to be "like home." if you want "home"...then
stay home!!.
that being said...i thought the BAGAN HOTEL RIVER VIEW
was well worth the stay. perhaps the best way to do this, is
to post pictures...those i've included with this review should
go a long way to making my case.
our room, a lower-priced one without a river view, was clean
and spacious. in fact, it was huge. there was a big flat-screen
tv, plenty of water, and in truth, just about anything any reason-
able person could want. a maintenance issue that arose, was
quickly, and properly handled...and it was "after hours" at that.
the breakfast which was included and quite sufficient, was
served on a deck, overlooking the irrawaddy river with all the
boat traffic, and a great view of a working farm just below. we
walked down there after eating, and were greeted by friendly
farmers plowing the fields, and planting peanuts. it was a won-
derful opportunity to 'ENGAGE SOME AUTHENTIC INDIGENOUS
PERSONNEL,' as they'd have said in the army!!! while 'down on
the farm,' you're actually walking on ground that is under water
during the rainy season.
back up at the hotel, there's a pagoda, with a beautiful
buddha, right on the grounds of the hotel. it was a great way
to get a preview of what was to come in our touring around
BAGAN.
the hotel also offered a gorgeous pool area, and a bar in an
authentic thatched-roof hut. in the beautiful reception area, there
was decent internet service, and a staff that could help with some
of your planning.
when we left bagan, we opted to see some of the country, and
took the 13-hour boat trip to mandalay. that was a good choice,
food on-board was very good, and low-priced, and there was a
bar, with local wine and beer...it too was reasonable. the views of
the passing farms and pagodas were nice, and there was a good
opportunity to visit with travelers from all over the world. this was
a chance to sit back, and relax. also interesting to note--since we
left the hotel before breakfast... they offered, and provided a box
meal that we could take with us--just in case. yet another service
issue, properly handled!!
i mention this here, because arrangements were made by the
hotel staff at the front desk--who were efficient enough, contrary
to opinions in some other reviews--to notice that I'D MADE AN
ERROR, and given them the wrong date. THEY quickly made the
correction, and booked us on the right day, for the right boat.
except for a bowl of soup, and the included breakfast, we did
not eat at the hotel's restaurant...however, we did enjoy some
drinks and socializing there, along with the relaxing view. instead
we took a taxi for the short ride 'downtown' and enjoyed meals in
another spot along the river, along with walks through the very
interesting markets. the people in myanmar were friendly, and
welcoming--they are eager to engage travelers from the west.
in closing... i can say with complete confidence, that we thor-
oughly enjoyed the three days that we spent here. i can also
offer, that i felt like the staff were our 'travel partners,' and that
they could help with anything we wanted to accomplish...you
can't go wrong staying here... (and, it was reasonable!!!)

(NOTE #1 -- getting to BAGAN is now much easier...BANGKOK
AIRWAYS now has a direct flight from BANGKOK, eliminating
the need to make a change in YANGON...saving time, and
trouble)

(NOTE #2 -- the hotel has internet, so i was able to receive
e-mail, and even to listen to radio in the U.S. via I-HEART
RADIO... AT&T phone service however was not available,
making a sim card change necessary to use your phone)

(NOTE #3 -- there is a 'visa on arrival' service available
now for arrivals in YANGON)

Room Tip: we took 'pot luck' and were quite satisfied...i'm not in the room long enough, other tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flyingsteve_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.1 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#9 of 50 in Bagan
1,266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
0.3 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#6 of 50 in Bagan
802 reviews
3.3 mi away
Zfreeti Hotel
Zfreeti Hotel
#3 of 7 in Nyaung U
753 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagan Hotel River View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagan Hotel River View

Address: 8 Ward, Thein Ni Road, | Near Archeological Museum, Old Bagan, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bagan
Price Range: £73 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagan Hotel River View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagan Hotel River View is situated in a stunning location with fantastic views across the Ayeyarwaddy River. With the towering Gawdawpalin Temple on one side and the river front on the other, this attractive hotel is situated in the heart of Old Bagan, one of the world's most fascinating cultural heritage sites and Theravada Buddhism first flourished in Bagan. The hotel set on its own 7.8 acres of landscaped garden, indulges prominent view to breathtaking Ayeyarwaddy River, a treasure of Myanmar and a gift from the Nature. Not only the resort has been meticulously planned to be unique and original. The hotel unique architecture remains loyal to authentic Myanmar cultural and its lush garden compound features two ancient Pagoda are Shinpinthettawshay Pagoda and Shinpinthettawya Pagoda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bagan Hotel River View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Hotel Bagan
River View Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing