We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place with some minor flaws”
Review of Oasis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oasis Hotel
Ranked #8 of 58 Bagan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 November 2013

we have stayed at this lovely hotel in november during our amazing travel.
Great location, just few minutes away from restaurant road, in a peaceful position.
Our standard room was clean, spacious and tastefully furnished. Beatiful and well kept garden.
There are small flaws that may be fixed: breakfast (little choice), and it would be perfect to have a small wardrobe in the room.
The staff is kind and welcoming, but we suggest not to delegate them to book transfers. At our arrival we asked if they could book our bus ride from Bagan to Inle. They assured that they could take charge of this, but the night before we were informed that no seats were available. Due to the balloon festival in Taunggy the flights were fully booked and the only option for us was a private car, that was 6 times more expensive.
All in all a great experience and we are happy to recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lory-italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

We paid roughly 90 USD per night for a room at our stay at Oasis hotel in Bagan. Comparable to other places we have stayed in Myanmar this was a bit overpriced and a more reasonable price would be around 60/70 USD.

The rooms are clean and fine. The bathroom is very nice. Another good thing was that the wifi worked perfectly in the rooms.

The hotel has a nice small garden and a swimming pool which unfortunately is in a shady spot but nice to have after a day of bycycling around Bagan. The breakfast was very good with coffee, croissant, eggs, fresh juice, fresh fruit and toast.

The staff were attentive but communication were at times a bit difficult at the english skills were a bit lacking.

The hotel is located close to the main road. It is a 5-10 minute walk to both the town and the restaurant street. By bike it is a 20 minute ride to Buledi and roughly 35 minutes to Shwe Sin Taw. A fairly good location.

All in all Oasis is a very nice place to stay, but a bit overprices compared to other places in Myanmar.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexanderHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This small Hotel is a fantastic place of retreat - like an oasis! The personnell was friendly and always very helpful. The garden is beautiful and a real Relaxing place. Many restaurants are in Walking distance. Bicycles can be rented just outside the door.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinchen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Upon arrival, my friend and I were greeted with watermelon juice and a cold towel. We arrived very early (6am) yet the staff were ready to check us in. The rooms are great and spacious and they had warm showers. Most places stated you need to request this- not here.. its available! The hotel staff were all very helpful and nice and always ready to serve. The grounds housed an amazing pool, restaurant, and beautiful garden scenery. Free WIFI

Also, for girls- they had blow dryers available in the room. Nice touch!

Hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

From the first moments in Bagan, you the feel thousands of years of Buddhist history pulsing through plains. And Oasis helps you move within and relax to that pulse.

Located in the tranquil "Nang Oo" area and a long bike ride from New Bagan's bustling tourist area, the Oasis is a little piece of peacefulness. From its lush garden sitting area and its bountiful breakfasts to the nature-inspired modern decors, you'll feel relaxedly at home here. Tucked in amongst history, dozens of temples are scattered alongside the hotel's tree-lined boulevard. Also a few minutes walk to one of Bagan's main "food corridors," where marvelous Myanmar curries, indelible Indian paneers, incredible Italian and Savory chinese are offered. Oasis is also right across from a government telecommunications office, if you need access to wifi there is a small internet shop right there.

When I arrived at the heat of mid-day (and it is HOT! there), the down to earth and incredibly professional staff servedd mango juice in a martini glass to take the heat off. The reception area is welcoming, with traditional Burmese carvings and art, low wooden tables with floral-filled water sculptures. Simply amazing customer service from all staff, who speak English fluently. From check-in to check-out, they help arrange all of your flights, local tours, outings and love to share about their local culture and specialties. I was urged to experience "toddy," a sort -of moonshine from palm sap. Toddy is fermented in ceramic jugs out in the full-sun & served for two out of rounded cups made from coconut husk. Staff also spoke of the nats (spirits) of nearby Mt. Poppa, and how to appease and honor them on your hike up the mount. Apparently, nats like toddy! And of course, staff will arrange for your travel to the Mount.

Oasis' bed room is spacious and of soothing earth tones. Loved the nature-inspired decor, like bamboo thatch light covers and river rock themed bathroom replete with walk-in shower - and water-saving shower head. One problem with the room, though: some wide gaping holes from removed mounts on the walls. I hope they replace with a textile or some other local art, because there is such remarkable craftsmanship in the country. And adding to the mystique the shower tiles had Burmese and Roman numerals written all over the shower.

Electrical outages are common in Burma, so you need just be patient. Staff will work to accommodate. Also, if you book through Agoda or other discount service, and even if (like me) you wish to go paperless, print a print out of your room voucher. Oasis needs the hard copy on-site. Myanmar is in the process of vamping up its tourism sector, its infrastructure, its telecommunications and its banking systems. Most hotels don't accept credit cards (yet) and are cash-only ventures. Oasis is a customer's best friend, partnering with Agoda to ease the burden for tourists needing to carry so many US dollars for hotel stay.

Dining area is lovely and oasis filled - looking out onto expansive garden with sunken ceramic vases, filled with water and floating lilies. Modern art adorns the simple walls, with an elegant modern rendering of "The Lady" herself, Daw Aung San Suu Kyi. Food plentiful, fresh, seasonal and fabulous. Omelettes and fresh watermelon juice abound. They offer a decent european breakfast too but the Burmese food is remarkable! I recommend eating Mohingya for breakfast; it's a yellow fish broth bathing vermicelli noodles. Served on the side is black sticky rice with nutty overtones, crusted with crispy yellow beans. It may sounds like a lunch dish for the western palette but believe me - Burmese noodles are for breakfast!

Just a wonderful stay and highly recommended.

Room amenities:

- green cotton robes
- great wifi connection
-flatscreen TV with a few satellite channels.
-fridge with mini bar - great for bringing home leftovers as the portions at all Bagan restaurants are sizable
- two bottles of water daily
- CFLs.
- Energy saving reminders
-aircon. - once, air conditioning and lights left on by housekeeping
- toiletries - including ear buds and toothbrush
-bike rental just outside Oasis gate for $1.50 day. Though, the bikes are getting old and rusty; I had had two pedals fall off mid-ride from two separate bikes in the space of one hour. The second time, the very kind non-English speaking folks came and found me at one of Bagan's 3,500 temples, delivering a different, pedal-attached bicycle by motorcycle!
.- You may want to walk to the food alley or to the heart of Nang Oo (about 10 minus) to find newer bikes.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The rooms are clean and modern, big shower with hot water, flat TV, quiet, decorative small ponds and plants all around,sweaming pool, patient and helpfull staff, 24 h room service, close to all the restaurants..
The best hotel in Bagan

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiradina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Great hotel, friendly staff and very clean. Room service included late at night which is a great advantage if you only return late after sunset.

Rooms very nice, and big relaxing showers.

If staying here, please take the time to wander into the older part of Nyuang U. Very nice people there, and a good escape from the tourist trail. The local school is worth a visit. Teachers are very friendly and children are super friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niallasargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.4 mi away
Zfreeti Hotel
Zfreeti Hotel
#3 of 8 in Nyaung U
799 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sky View Hotel
Sky View Hotel
#10 of 51 in Bagan
213 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
#14 of 51 in Bagan
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#5 of 51 in Bagan
832 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ruby True Hotel
Ruby True Hotel
#12 of 51 in Bagan
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thante Hotel Nyaung Oo
Thante Hotel Nyaung Oo
#30 of 51 in Bagan
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Hotel

Address: Anawyahta Road, Near Phayani Pagoda, Aung Theikhti Ward Nyaung Oo, Bagan Nyaung Oo and Airport Area, Bagan 4802, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Bagan
Price Range: £26 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oasis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An outpost of comfort and style, Oasis Hotel opened in December 2012 and is conveniently located in the Nyaung Oo area of the ancient capital of Bagan. Featuring 10 Superior and 5 Deluxe rooms on a leafy, cool compound, our boutique hotel is designed for travelers looking for an oasis of green to return to after exploring the wonders of this historic area.As a relatively small hotel, we pride ourselves on providing personalised, high-quality service: you can expect gracious and genuine traditional Myanmar hospitality during your stay in the breathtaking Bagan area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Oasis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing