We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Oasis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oasis Hotel
Ranked #7 of 56 Bagan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The staff is very helpful and friendly, and the facilities are great. They have bicycle rental outside, and no curfew. Breakfast is buffet during weekends. During the week it was very quiet. Close to restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Idunn Egaas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Oasis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Loved this hotel!

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was perfect. Breakfast was good (toast, croissants, fruit, eggs, tea etc), really good shower, very clean room and lovely staff. The most gorgeous little pool at the end of the garden which was always clean and quiet and covered in pretty fairy lights at night time! The staff were great with organising taxi's and horse & cart ride for us.

Very close walk to some really good restaurants in the evening.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L-Cuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Oasis hotel for 2 nights during a quick holiday to Myanmar. The hotel gardens are lovely and the rooms very nice - comfortable and clean. We didn't use the pool, but the airconditioner in the room coped well given the heat. Only a 5-10 minute walk to 'Restaurant Street'. The best thing about the Oasis Hotel was that they arranged a fantastic driver to take us sightseeing over the two days in Bagan. His name is Mr. Win and he made our time in Bagan the most enjoyable out of our holiday! I would recommend staying at the hotel and if you want to arrange a car & driver for temple touring, then definitely ask for Mr Win!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakeandKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We reserved rooms for a six day stay arriving very early from Yangon. The rooms were ready on arrival so no delay getting settled in. On our day of departure we were allowed to keep our rooms till 4.30 pm which was a delight. The hotel has comfortable rooms, efficient air-con, great showers and even satellite TV. Yes, the Internet connection was very slow, but that was not why we came to Bagan. The breakfast buffet was very good. The pool was a nice place to relax at the end of a long day of sightseeing. Most importantly the staff was friendly and efficient. We could not have wished for a more pleasant time in Bagan.

Room Tip: Just go there. All rooms are great but the ones by the pool I suspect are the best.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Paid 100 USD per night and stayed in one of their double rooms. We got this rate from Asia Travel, if we booked directly with them it would have been 150. The location of this hotel is in between the airport and old bagan. We biked for 20 mins each way from the hotel to old bagan (Hotel at Tharabar gate), this is where a lot of the restaurants are. Along the way you get to see a lot of the temples and pagodas. The motorists love to honk their horns just to warn you that they are coming so dont get alarmed. Its safe to bike coz the streets are not so busy and congested. It is worth noting that the land is flat so biking is very manageable but make sure to really test your bikes to make sure that there are no problems (brakes, tires, etc) coz its a long way back. I think we paid 2 bucks a day for each bike and they have a rental just outside the hotel's gate.

When you walk out of the gate, turn right and a 5 min walk away from the hotel is a strip of restaurants, shops etc. At night be aware that there are big gaps on the sidewalks, they use these as drainage. So watch your steps, my husband was looking up at the stars and fell a foot down these gaps and had a big cut on the hand that supported his fall, it could have been worse. We would have dinner in this area coz we dont want to bike late at night as the streets are dark. The location of this hotel was ok for us since we like to walk and bike and are pretty active. Plus theres more things to do here along that restaurant street at night. Old Bagan is great too but the hotels can be more expensive. If you are a fast mover, 2 full days is good enough in Old Bagan but if you like to take your time and immerse then 3 or 4 would be plenty.

We stayed in room 7, it was nice and comfortable. All rooms are on the first floor. If you want luxury stay at the hotel at tharabar gate or aureum. This place is just casual/comfort. Is it worth the money? Im not sure, its just hard to pin down the standards in this part of the world. You can find places for 30 USD per night but it might be good for the backpackers but not those who want some comfort and maybe a just a tad of luxury. I can hear my neighbors from the other room so I wasnt excited about that. Around 730 am, you hear this motor running in the back and its my alam to get up, hard to sleep when you have that sound in the background. The bathroom was not well designed, after you shower, theres water everywhere. The internet is weak, but I guess that everywhere in Bagan. The service depends on who is stationed in the front desk. The slim woman working in the evening is not so helpful but the woman with her hair tied back during the day is the one you can rely on. Dont expect anything good for breakfast, very small portion and limited choices. We just skip the breakfast pretty much and go somewhere else to eat since its inexpensive. Our first night, after traveling for almost 40 hours (long story) we decided to just eat at the hotel. Big mistake, we spent 20 USD for 2 people for chicken curry with a few strips, bland and no good. You have to keep in mind, you can eat like a king for less than 10 USD in most restaurants in that strip or even in old bagan.

Now that I know what I know about this area, I might try to find other places to stay. I would stay at this place if the rate goes below 80 USD but not more than that as there are many options out there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexisRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Small local hotel with poor food at breakfast. No English spoken by front desk people or staff. Rooms are ok but if you expect luxury, go to another location. There are plenty of better hotels around.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We selected this hotel having arrived on the overnight train rather tired and in desperate need of sleep! It was more than we wanted to pay ($80) but we were allowed to access the room at 08:00.

The room was tidy and spacious. The beds are lovely, clean and soft. There is a safe, minibar and tv.

The one let down in the room is the bathroom. There is no ventilation and there is a bit damp. The damp is also affecting the inner walls. The floor tiling is also not waterproof and gets a bit wet. The water is hot though which is a massive plus.

Swimming pool is small but refreshing and the look and feel of the place is great.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jakeyboygetslost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.4 mi away
Zfreeti Hotel
Zfreeti Hotel
#2 of 6 in Nyaung U
685 reviews
3.8 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 47 in Bagan
1,211 reviews
4.9 mi away
Blue Bird Hotel
Blue Bird Hotel
#2 of 47 in Bagan
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#6 of 47 in Bagan
769 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
#14 of 47 in Bagan
496 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Hotel

Address: Anawyahta Road, Near Phayani Pagoda, Aung Theikhti Ward Nyaung Oo, Bagan Nyaung Oo and Airport Area, Bagan 4802, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Bagan
Price Range: £25 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oasis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An outpost of comfort and style, Oasis Hotel opened in December 2012 and is conveniently located in the Nyaung Oo area of the ancient capital of Bagan. Featuring 10 Superior and 5 Deluxe rooms on a leafy, cool compound, our boutique hotel is designed for travelers looking for an oasis of green to return to after exploring the wonders of this historic area.As a relatively small hotel, we pride ourselves on providing personalised, high-quality service: you can expect gracious and genuine traditional Myanmar hospitality during your stay in the breathtaking Bagan area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Oasis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing