We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pleasant hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bawga Theiddhi Hotel
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Antwerp
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice pleasant hotel...”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is simply a nice solid good hotel .. Staff is kind and helpfull, rooms are clean and well maintained....
Pool is soooooo nice after a day of temple visits !
I had NO issues with the wifi, it worked perfect.
Arrived at 4am from the busstation and got a checkin already that early !
Only one disadvantage.... The 'open shower' is too open .... the whole bathroom get soaking wet ....
For the rest : a very nice place, highly recommendable ....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RudyVerhaegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    69
    34
    15
    6
See reviews for
19
58
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
561 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

All hotels are expensive in Myanmar compared to their like in many other countries and this one was no different. Similarly, all restaurant orders take much more time to arrive than in other countries. This was also the case on the first night when our order took an hour to produce when there were only ten guests eating. They brought tea in a pot which appeared weak and when we investigated there was no tea in the hot water! When the food arrived after an hour, an order was missing. The table was not laid and we had to ask them to do so even after the food arrived and a dirty fork that I saw on the floor suddenly appeared on our table. The waiters appeared to be in another world and desperately needed training. On the other hand, when the Thai food we had ordered eventually arrived, it was good. Despite the good food, we chose to eat elsewhere on the subsequent two night we stayed.
The rooms were ok and about 4 star size, but dark and a little tired, especially the bathroom floor. There was no smell as previously reported by others. The bathroom water was very hot and there were lots of electrical outlets.
Breakfast was totally unremarkable basically consisting of unrecognisable hot stodge and eggs.
The room was cleaned adequately but we were charged $4 for a blood stain inadvertently caused on the bed sheet.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room on the garden side as the other side looks out onto the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bagan hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay in this hotel for 2 nights. You all know that bagan is expensive. But this hotel proves the opposite. So I know you are searching on trip-advisor for a nice hotel. I promise this is a good choice. The swimming pool is large. And it is not that crowdy, the rooms are large. We stayed in 2 different rooms. The small room is large enough. Every room is brand new. Food is good. Complains? Well coffee at breakfast could be better. But the service at the frontdesk was professional, they arrange a perfect guide with car for us to enjoy the sightseeing.
A tip, go up early, it s very hot in the afternoon. They serve breakfast at 6.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank recter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzgitter, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We just came back from our round trip thru Myanmar. The best hotel so far has been the Bawga Theiddhi in Bagan where we spend a week. Spacious rooms, lovely surroundings and very charing staff. Especially the friendly German General Manager, who speaks English with a Canadian tongue, was very accomodating and helpful.
Best to take a dip in big refreshing pool located in the nicely landscaped garden, which is kind of an exception in Myanmar. In general the food in the restaurant could be more tasty. Only a few members of staff spoke English. To improve this we're told they will receive English lessons in the near future. Excellent idea for further education of people in Myanmar.

Room Tip: Be aware of the cold water in the pool yet totally refreshing when in!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We've stayed at this hotel for over a week in January and the Bawga Theiddi is a place where you really can relax. Very friendly staff, although the English skills could be improved. However the nice, young German Manager was very helpful and made up for it. Rooms are spacious and clean and the sourrounding garden and pool area is excellent. To get around you can rent e-bikes at the hotel. Reception was very helpful with domestic flight bookings. Very good price/value ratio. Would stay there again any time and would also recommend this hotel to others

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor in the main building are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g_k_hannemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

great newly built resort type hotel. good design and a nice garden with the pool. not very central - on outskirts of new bagan, great staff and good breakfast. great value for what we paid. would definately recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The hotel building, structure and grounds are very nice. The pool is impressive in size and design. But there is a sense of disappointment in the whole place, and having booked two rooms the impression we came away with was that the whole place seemed to lack basic management of the different services:
+ when we checked-in, there was no record of our reservation. Thankfully there were two rooms free at 07:30 (we had taken the early Yangon flight) but the receptionists treated us, and charged us as "walk-in". It took four seperate conversations to retrieve a booking and still the price we paid was $8 higher than what I was quoted during the reservation (done by phone and e mail).
+ like other people have reviewed there is an odd smell. We were on the first floor and it was less noticable. The room has a lot of ambition: fully equipped bathroom, bathrobes in the wardrobe, safe, 30 inch LG LCD. And yet they already look well worn.
+ like other people have reviewed the breakfast is uninspiring. Given how cold it is in the morning in Bagan, the coffee we were served was cold (it was not kept in a heated pot) and the food buffet also. The selection is incredilbly limited for the type of hotel it markets itself as, and the quality is not good (the sausages, pastries and cakes were all not good).
+ this is not a direct criticism, as we had determined this in advance: the hotel is not family friendly. They don't have cots available, nor a lift functioning between the different floors. However, we found the garden good for our 16 month-old to wander around.

It was "OK", but everything had to be negotiated multiple times. If you get a room at the online reservation price (i.e. under $60) then it could be worth it, particularly when Bagan gets really hot.

Room Tip: Only book this if you get an online deal for a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maximobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.2 mi away
Arthawka  Hotel
Arthawka Hotel
#8 of 46 in Bagan
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Razagyo Hotel
Razagyo Hotel
#26 of 46 in Bagan
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon Bagan
Hotel Yadanarbon Bagan
#16 of 46 in Bagan
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
#13 of 46 in Bagan
486 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kumudara Hotel Bagan
Kumudara Hotel Bagan
#28 of 46 in Bagan
455 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaday Aung Hotel
Kaday Aung Hotel
#22 of 46 in Bagan
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bawga Theiddhi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bawga Theiddhi Hotel

Property: Bawga Theiddhi Hotel
Address: Myat lay Street, Anaw Ra Htar Block , Na Ra Theinga Quarter, New Bagan, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bawga Theiddhi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bawga Theiddhi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing