We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good not great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bawga Theiddhi Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bawga Theiddhi Hotel
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Bagan
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Overall we were very happy with the hotels, rooms were of a decent size and cleaned impeccably. Bathroom was also very clean but as with a lot of open shower bathrooms in warm weather and bad ventilation developed a somewhat mildew-y smell at peak temperature times in the day. The bathroom was also too small to be a wet room so taking a shower meant getting water all other the toilet and sink area

Breakfast was ok but nothing to write home about. Fitness centre did not have the AC turned on and consisted of basic cardio machines. There were benches but no weights. It is also in the same room as the conference table so not show how that works if there is a meeting on...

Staff tried to be friendly but spoke minimal English so was hard to get them to understand what you wanted. On more than a few occasions we had to step in to translate for other tourists. We had issues with both our AC and our TV. Reception sent bell boys to look at the issue but after fiddling about pressing buttons for 10 mins gave up and said someone more familiar would fix it tomorrow. In both cases, to their credit, it was fixed the next day.

Overall clean and in a good position to see Bagan but don't expect anything other than that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tasstw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    66
    31
    15
    6
See reviews for
18
53
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Nice room, beautiful swimming pool.
Compared to all Myanmar, our price was excellent, about 80$ a twin bed room.
The breakfast isn't the reason your staying here though ... not bad but not excellent either.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peatraveladvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is simply a nice solid good hotel .. Staff is kind and helpfull, rooms are clean and well maintained....
Pool is soooooo nice after a day of temple visits !
I had NO issues with the wifi, it worked perfect.
Arrived at 4am from the busstation and got a checkin already that early !
Only one disadvantage.... The 'open shower' is too open .... the whole bathroom get soaking wet ....
For the rest : a very nice place, highly recommendable ....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RudyVerhaegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
494 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

All hotels are expensive in Myanmar compared to their like in many other countries and this one was no different. Similarly, all restaurant orders take much more time to arrive than in other countries. This was also the case on the first night when our order took an hour to produce when there were only ten guests eating. They brought tea in a pot which appeared weak and when we investigated there was no tea in the hot water! When the food arrived after an hour, an order was missing. The table was not laid and we had to ask them to do so even after the food arrived and a dirty fork that I saw on the floor suddenly appeared on our table. The waiters appeared to be in another world and desperately needed training. On the other hand, when the Thai food we had ordered eventually arrived, it was good. Despite the good food, we chose to eat elsewhere on the subsequent two night we stayed.
The rooms were ok and about 4 star size, but dark and a little tired, especially the bathroom floor. There was no smell as previously reported by others. The bathroom water was very hot and there were lots of electrical outlets.
Breakfast was totally unremarkable basically consisting of unrecognisable hot stodge and eggs.
The room was cleaned adequately but we were charged $4 for a blood stain inadvertently caused on the bed sheet.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room on the garden side as the other side looks out onto the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bagan hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay in this hotel for 2 nights. You all know that bagan is expensive. But this hotel proves the opposite. So I know you are searching on trip-advisor for a nice hotel. I promise this is a good choice. The swimming pool is large. And it is not that crowdy, the rooms are large. We stayed in 2 different rooms. The small room is large enough. Every room is brand new. Food is good. Complains? Well coffee at breakfast could be better. But the service at the frontdesk was professional, they arrange a perfect guide with car for us to enjoy the sightseeing.
A tip, go up early, it s very hot in the afternoon. They serve breakfast at 6.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank recter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzgitter, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We just came back from our round trip thru Myanmar. The best hotel so far has been the Bawga Theiddhi in Bagan where we spend a week. Spacious rooms, lovely surroundings and very charing staff. Especially the friendly German General Manager, who speaks English with a Canadian tongue, was very accomodating and helpful.
Best to take a dip in big refreshing pool located in the nicely landscaped garden, which is kind of an exception in Myanmar. In general the food in the restaurant could be more tasty. Only a few members of staff spoke English. To improve this we're told they will receive English lessons in the near future. Excellent idea for further education of people in Myanmar.

Room Tip: Be aware of the cold water in the pool yet totally refreshing when in!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We've stayed at this hotel for over a week in January and the Bawga Theiddi is a place where you really can relax. Very friendly staff, although the English skills could be improved. However the nice, young German Manager was very helpful and made up for it. Rooms are spacious and clean and the sourrounding garden and pool area is excellent. To get around you can rent e-bikes at the hotel. Reception was very helpful with domestic flight bookings. Very good price/value ratio. Would stay there again any time and would also recommend this hotel to others

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor in the main building are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g_k_hannemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon Bagan
Hotel Yadanarbon Bagan
#21 of 44 in Bagan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Razagyo Hotel
Razagyo Hotel
#25 of 44 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
120.3 mi away
Ruby True Hotel
Ruby True Hotel
#9 of 44 in Bagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kumudara Hotel Bagan
Kumudara Hotel Bagan
#26 of 44 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arthawka  Hotel
Arthawka Hotel
#8 of 44 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Floral Breeze Hotel Bagan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bawga Theiddhi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bawga Theiddhi Hotel

Property: Bawga Theiddhi Hotel
Address: Myat lay Street, Anaw Ra Htar Block , Na Ra Theinga Quarter, New Bagan, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bawga Theiddhi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, JovagoAsia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bawga Theiddhi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing