We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too helpful staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Floral Breeze Hotel Bagan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Floral Breeze Hotel Bagan
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Bagan
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not too helpful staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a new hotel so the rooms are clean. A generous buffet breakfast is served 'al freso' in a spacious courtyard which is quite a pleasant way to start the day. However, the staff can be more helpful with details and be more friendly or acommodating. We had asked for help with bus arrangements as our preferred bus company was already fully booked. Instead of providing us with maybe at least a couple of options, we were curtly told that there was just one other bus line available. Without further explanation, we were issued bus tckets. Upon reaching the bus terminal, we were surprised to discover that the buses for Yangon were not as fully booked as we were made to believe and that we actually had other choices. Our only consolation was that because we were travelling on a cramped 'local' bus (not tourist), we were able to experience how the locals 'do it'.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrezO52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    106
    47
    16
    10
See reviews for
21
65
28
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

After checking in, the staff escorted us to our room. After opening the door and taking a single step across the threshold, I was over-whelmed with a musty, moldy smell. Honestly, it smelt as if no one had stayed in that room for several seasons. We insisted on being moved to another room (no way we could sleep in that environment!). To our surprise the other room was equally as bad. The staff told us that sometimes the rooms on the first floor can become a bit musty. So he took us up to a third room on the second floor. The smell of this room was also dank and old. Now I was getting irritated as this kind of problem is unacceptable for such a pricey hotel. They finally took us to a room on the second floor of another building. Finally, a room that had no smell.

Apart from this, the stay at the hotel was average. The breakfast brunch is simply average.Only instant coffee is available--so coffee lovers beware!
The staff are not very helpful at all and can not seem to offer any useful advice. They either don't have any experience helping guests with normal issues/needs or the simply don't want to. They actually seem scared!

Room Tip: Don't let them take you to a first-floor room in the first building (after entering the complex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shanghaiknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

*Traveling 2 old friends passing through Bagan.

Overall:
The Floral Breeze Staff was friendly & accommodating but couldn't make any decisions on their own. They were like robots "you will need to speak to our manager." From renting the eBike to internet issues. Overall we had a pleasant experience. The property is nice and away from the main tourist zone, which we sought out. So big plus there!

The breakfast has a nice variety sure to please anyone. Quite relaxing eating in their courtyard as the sun is rising.

We stayed in the building that is riddled with internal plumbing issues. We are not ones to ever complain or cause an issue, but we kindly asked to move rooms because of the musty smell. We were escorted promptly to two other choices & took the best of the 3. The very kind young lady told us they had plumbing issues in the walls and in low season of 2014 are repairing the entire building. No problem-fair enough!

The internet (wifi) quit working after the first hour we were there & the manager shrugged her shoulders & didn't think that the western guests (especially backpackers) find that useful, even in small moderations while hopping around.

Advice: skip the tours, Rent the Ebikes (@ hotel), hit the local market (New Bagan), skip the big pagodas, and explore. We had a blast doing our own thing vs. being w/harassed by every tout & camera snapping tourist.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank chefexpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

There was no smell when the exhaust fan in the bathroom was left on.
I was looking forward to the sound of monks chanting in the background all night as reported by others but sadly nothing was audible during the nights we stayed. The room was clean, the bed comfortable,the bathroom adequate. We stayed on the ground floor. Dining was outside in the courtyard, the food was tasty and the menu quite extensive.
Altogether good value for the money spent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathaniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Floral Breeze may be the name, but floral scent it ain't!!!

This time we were traveling with 8 pax. We got rooms 101, 102, 103, 104. Rooms 101 & 102 were ok BUT rooms 103 & 104 stank of sewage! There was much drama (hotel full so no other rooms option, kids refused to sleep in stinky room, room swapping etc) but in the end after 30 mins delay and much hooha-hooha (hotel staff sprayed deodorizer, kept toilet fan on, switched on air cond) the rooms became slightly liveable. Not a good start to our holiday. Floral Breeze advertised wifi internet available in rooms & lobby but it was dead slow. Grrr....

On the plus side, breakfast in the garden was a wonderful experience. Lots of variety both local & continental. The food tasted good especially the local noodle+fish broth concoction. Delicious. In the rooms, the aircond worked. Mattresses firm & comfy so sleep was good. The showers had hotwater & flowed nicely.

*Note: The owners should know that in high traffic low cost hotels like theirs, carpets are a NO-NO; hard to maintain clean, & stinks if not cleaned well.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank zzmelayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I had stayed in Room 217 with no problem with odor, but when the room door of the opposite row of rooms open up, the toilet odor was quite alarming, so try to request for the row of rooms along room 217. The hotel has a really nice Al fresco garden breakfast area which is what I liked most about the hotel. It is a pity with the odour, otherwise, rooms are neat and clean and service staff are very polite and prompt with requests.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peacetinklyelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
135 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

The hotel is very new but I could tell it was done in a hurry and some things were already starting to come apart. In the bathroom, the usual open shower, no stall, just the shower head in the wall, there was a part of the piping that they obviously didn't know what to do with so they just left it open... so first time I turned on the shower... water came shooting out of it all over the room! Was really quite funny.

Room was furnished okay, nothing special, quite boring actually. Our room faced west and the sun would really beat into it in the afternoon so for the most part we had the heavy drapes shut. The a/c, and everything else in the room worked fine. Shortly after we arrived the power went out but they had a generator that kicked in almost immediately.

Breakfast buffet was good but came out slow and you had to be there when the good stuff was set out because it disappeared in a hurry.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MspTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon Bagan
Hotel Yadanarbon Bagan
#20 of 44 in Bagan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
121.2 mi away
Ruby True Hotel
Ruby True Hotel
#9 of 44 in Bagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arthawka  Hotel
Arthawka Hotel
#8 of 44 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yun Myo Thu Hotel
Yun Myo Thu Hotel
#24 of 44 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kumudara Hotel Bagan
Kumudara Hotel Bagan
#26 of 44 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
5.8 mi away
Thante Hotel Nyaung Oo
Thante Hotel Nyaung Oo
#21 of 44 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Floral Breeze Hotel Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Floral Breeze Hotel Bagan

Property: The Floral Breeze Hotel Bagan
Address: Near Lawka Nandar Pagoda, Chauk-Nyaung U Road | Anawrahta Ward, New Bagan, Bagan 952, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Floral Breeze Hotel Bagan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a new hotel targeted to get 3 star rating by end of this year. So yes, our service and customer care will be exceptional. The rooms will be new with ancient Bagan architecture twist and all modern amenities will be provided too. Even we are in New Bagan area, it's only 20 mins bike ride from the hotel to main attraction site. But you will not be bother about that 20 mins travel as you can see along all the amazing views of ancient civilization sights. We would like to welcome you all to our hotel and we grantee you a memorial stay in Bagan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JovagoAsia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Floral Breeze Hotel Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing