We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel”
Review of Blue Bird Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Bird Hotel
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

First off, hotel prices in Bagan are astronomical this year. While we initially wanted to stay in Old Bagan, lack of availability and high rates lead us to select this charming hotel in New Bagan. This hotel turned out to be the least expensive of our four hotels in Myanmar and we were delighted with it. The staff were kind and a bit shy, but could not do enough for you, though a few did not speak English that well (yet). The room was spacious and clean, and the bed was the most comfortable we had on our 12-day trip. The garden, pool, the quiet location and the mojitos were welcoming after a hot day exploring Bagan. At first we were concerned about the location of the hotel, but it turned out to be just fine. Two days we rented electric bikes (fun and cheap) which took us everywhere we wanted to go. The hotel also shuttled us into New Began to various restaurants in the evening (it was only a 10-minute walk but it was dark, we were lazy and they were so willing to drive us). We also ate dinner at the hotel one night and the food was good. Overall, this hotel was a great choice for us.

Room Tip: Some people may prefer the rooms looking onto the pool, but we preferred the rooms that looked onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank on_the_road1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear on_the_road1998,

Thank you for your positive comments following your stay at Blue Bird.
We are happy to read that you liked the daily Free service of our Shuttle to New Bagan and that you made use of it.
We have pass ypur feed back to the restaurant and kitchen team regarding your good dining experience at our Spices Garden restaurant as well to our Mixologist for the Great Mojitos!
Please do not hesitate to contact us when you next plan to visit Myanmar and Bagan as we will be delighted to assist.

Best regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 898 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

I loved my stay at the Blue Bird. The hotel is well located, near old Bagan.The room are large, with very nice furnitures. The bathroom is also nice and modern. The staff of the hotel is welcoming, you can relax in a peaceful patio, and have very good meal at the hotel restaurant.
All the hotel is very clean, with good internet wireless connection.
The Blue Bird is an hotel for people who want to have a high quality of service at a not expensive price.
Last, for visiting Bagan, you can ask to find a guide at the time you register.
For sure I will go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebirdbagan, Owner at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Charles L,

Thank you for your comments.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed ypur stay at Our Boutique hotel.We have noted your comments regarding the large room and beautiful modern bathroom.
we will convey your positive feed back to our Tour desk concerning the preparation of your sightseeing tours and guide.
Last but not least we will share your comments regarding the good meals and service at our restaurant .
We hope to welcome you here again soon.

Best regards,
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We loved our stay at the Blue Bird. The hotel grounds are lovely and offer a nice relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are large and have a very modern bathroom. The shower concept was very cool! The hotel offers an evening shuttle at 6:30 and 7:30 to take you into New Bagan. They will drop you off at your restaurant of choice and then pick you up 1.5 hours later. The hotel was also great in organizing a tour guide and transportation for the day (both car and buggy options). The breakfast was delicious - especially the morning they made fresh crepes. The hotel manager was very accomdating when it came to our request for a late check out and organizing transportation to and from the airport. The hotel is somewhat far from Old Bagan, but you can hire a car, buggy, or rent a bicycle (for free) from the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gelena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Gelena L,

Thank you so much for your feed back . We are happy to learn that you had a Great stay with us.
Happy to read that you appreciated our free Shuttle to dine out.
As well we are very pleased that you truly enjoyed the selection of quality items served at our Breakfast .
Thank you for your kind appreciation regarding the service of our Tour Desk helping ypu to arrange your sightseeings of Bagan.

All the Team at Blue Bird is looking forward to welcome you back here again.

Kindly,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Myanmar is a mixed bag when it comes to accommodation and you have to look hard to find a good deal. This is just that. I would call this Bali level accommodation for the prices I would hope to get in Myanmar. The staff greeted us with cool towels and welcome drinks and escorted us to our beautiful room. The bathroom was lovely with a waterfall shower, huge mirrors and attention to detail such as nice robes, a decent hair dryer and stylish traditional lacquerware. There were definitely thoughtful Myanmar touches in the decoration right down to pretty door handles.
The bed was comfortable, furniture chic and everything was pristine. The pool is very pretty and the hotel was not too crowded. We didn't think the food was fantastic but it was fine for a quick meal. We ordered some room service that was not cooked through properly but the management made sure it was removed from our bill and we were given a complimentary order of something else which is just the way issues should be handled. The location is in new Bagan so if you are wanting to head out at night you would need to drive back but after a long day sightseeing we were happy just to relax and watch a movie. You can hire bikes if you want to get a meal locally but the area is not much to explore. Our driver picked us up every day and dropped us back for a siesta and getting in and out of town was no issue.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ECP444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear ECP444,
Thank you for your comments .
We appreciate your constructive feed back concerning the service and management of the room service.
We are glad that you liked the design and large modern bathroom .
Please note that we have a Free Shuttle service for our residents every evening from 6h30 Pm to 9 PM to New Bagan.
kindly do not hesitate to contact us directly if you wish to visit Bagan again.

Best regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A lovely hotel with good taste of design, spacious and light rooms which we did really enjoy. The pool is very small but clean, comfortable and surrounded by green plants. Spending time by the pool and enjoying the green surroundings was very relaxing. I love the traditional furniture and décors in our room. Our bathroom was comfortable.
There were some small problems. Staffs were friendly but not very professional and didn’t speak good English. Also the TV is put in front of the bed, which is a little bit weird.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim-adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I really would have liked to have rated this hotel higher as the hotel itself is furnished to a high standard and with very good taste but the service really lets it down. the staff are all very friendly and very willing to help but they need someone to guide them as they seem to be a bit lost and unsure wjhat to do if you ask them something. I was also disappointed with the breakfast, there are a few local dishes but the quality of the western dishes was pretty poor with the French baguette stone hard and only toast bread as another option, the fruit salad which was in little pots was covered but when you lifted the lid a hundred little flies flew out from it, the coffee and tea every morning was lukewarm and every morning I asked for hot milk I was brought cold. We had dinner in the restaurant and although the food was good it wasn't good enough for the prices that they're charging so we ate out at a wonderful little restaurant called Hin Sai about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. One evening the turn down staff came a bit earlier and we told them we would be leaving in about 40 minutes and were surprised to see all 3 of them still outside the door waiting when we left an hour later, instead of going to do other work they had just remained there waiting for us to leave.
This hotel could be really good but they have to get someone in to train the staff because clearly the owners although very nice and friendly don't have previous hotel experience themselves, you can see it by the way the hotel is run which is a great shame.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Blue Bird was a wonderful haven after exploring the ancient city and is a nice retreat after a long day. The pool is relatively small but still good enough for a dip and easy swim.The hotel is beautifully designed, clean and comfortable. The a/c works well and the bathrooms are large.

We had our lunch/dinners outside of the hotel and there are restaurants and local shops (sarongs, hats, groceries, etc.) in walking distance. Breakfast at the hotel was decent with an option of made-to-order eggs with bacon and sausages in addition to other available options such as fresh fruit, juice, yogurt, fried spring rolls, bread, and also a local breakfast dish (their chicken glass noodle soup was delicious).

The TV position is a little odd in the middle of the room in front of the bed. If you would like a strong wifi signal, we stayed in the 100+ building and the internet signal was strong, although speed was decent. Our friends who stayed in other rooms had no signal.

Hotel staff were very polite and helpful. There is usually only one staff at the front desk so service can be a little slow if there are many guests. The manager seems to be very new but is friendly and is frank about his newness.

A wonderful hotel and recommended - we'll be back if we visit again!

Room Tip: Building with rooms 100+ have good wifi signals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwiminBelugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.4 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 47 in Bagan
635 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
2.8 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 47 in Bagan
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#6 of 47 in Bagan
784 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
4.5 mi away
Zfreeti Hotel
Zfreeti Hotel
#2 of 6 in Nyaung U
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bird Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bird Hotel

Address: Myatlay St., Bagan Myothit (East), | Naratheinkha 10, Bagan, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range: £74 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Bird Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 rooms boutique hotel.Hotel - Blue Bird Bagan is located in the peaceful village of New Bagan, where traditional lifestyles are still the norm. Specialized services and full facilities designed to meet the individual needs.Comtemporary, well-appointed 40 sqm. room showcasing fine Myanmar handcrafted pieces, custom-made furniture and lighting. The combination of a mattress and featherbed offers your sleep to a unique experience. Luxurious 12 sqm bathroom features waterfall shower, handcrafted mosaic mirror & spacious wardrobe. The Hotel Facilities are privatised exclusively for our Hotel Guests. We do not accept Walk-In Inspection for the privacy of our Hotel Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Bird Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing