We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique Hotel in New Bagan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Bird Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Bird Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel in New Bagan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We had a short, visit to the Amazing archeological site in Bagan, and stayed two nights at the Blue Bird hotel. They helped us maximize our visit, by helping us arrange a ticket on Balloons Over Bagan, providing free bikes to ride to explore New Bagan and providing great information on great places to watch the spectacular sunsets the location has to offer. They do not take credit cards, like many businesses in Myanmar, so bring cash. The staff was kind and helpful, the food in their dining area was good and well prepared, and breakfast is included in the room fee. The room decor is nice and features local architectural details. There is a small infinity pool to cool your heels and refresh after a day of exploring. Check out the local horse carts, with drivers who are excellent guides.

Room Tip: Select a room with a pool view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danjiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Danjiro,

Thank you for your interesting positive feed back.
We will share your comments with our Tour desk team as you enjoyed all arrangements organized during your stay at the hotel.
At the same time we really appreciate you to share with us your positive dining experience at our restaurant Spices Garden.It was nice to read that you liked the quality ,design and set up of the room as well the cool ambiance of our swimmingpool.

We are looking forward to welcome you at Blue Bird again.

Best regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    149
    36
    12
    5
See reviews for
109
453
80
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great hotel. Superb service from all the staff. We arrived at 830am from an early morning flight from Yangon and they kindly gave us the 2/3 rooms we had booked so we could freshen up. We also had breakfast- hot pancakes made whilst u watched or omelette, fruit, yoghurt etc. The atmosphere was relaxed and we were very sorry we did not have time to stay longer. 1 night was not enough. We ate breakfast lunch and dinner at the hotel simply because an early flight and a day sight seeing took its toll. the margaritas were lovely, the goats cheese with 3 different salts so moreish we ordered a second plate.

This hotel was great value for money. The pool area is a little small if everyone is there but after a long day sight seeing it was very refreshing. the rooms were beautiful though one of us had a room that backed onto the water tank so some noise was heard.

the staff booked our sight seeing trips, checked everything was ok with them and even ensured our flight back was confirmed. NOTE to everyone.....don't assume because you have a ticket that you do not need to re confirm internal flight....

There are lots of books and DVDs to borrow as well...if you have the time.

We will be visiting again, next time for longer.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babsl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear BabsI66.

The entire team of the Blue Bird would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you all enjoyed your room and the services of our hotel with a special note for the food and beverage services. Glad to read that you enjoy the Margaritas part of our special cocktails list.
We tried our best for you to make the most of your too short stay and we hope to have the chance to welcome you at Blue Bird in Bagan again soon.

Best regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

What was my miracle at the Blue Bird ? Simply this. After a frustrating and unsuccessful five weeks attempting to get an online reservation on a balloon flight over Bagan the obliging and helpful staff secured one for me within an hour of my arrival. I enjoyed it hugely but it was very expensive. The hotel staff were beyond praise and when I began to feel unwell they couldn't do enough for me. I had a garden room, beautifully furnished, although I doubt the wisdom of having white gravel stones used as a decorative motif around the waterfall shower. One of them kicked out of place could cause a slip. I was happy with the restaurant and my room was spotless. I thought the hotel was excellent value and I cannot praise the staff enough. I would happily return.

Room Tip: There were some fairly noisy children in residence and the rooms next to the swimming pool reflect t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank admonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Admonty,

Thank you for your great feed back following your stay at our Boutique resort in Bagan.
I will share your comment regarding the very good service and the tasty food at the restaurant with the Team.
We are looking to welcome you back to Myanmar, Bagan and at Blue Bird.
Best regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

First off, hotel prices in Bagan are astronomical this year. While we initially wanted to stay in Old Bagan, lack of availability and high rates lead us to select this charming hotel in New Bagan. This hotel turned out to be the least expensive of our four hotels in Myanmar and we were delighted with it. The staff were kind and a bit shy, but could not do enough for you, though a few did not speak English that well (yet). The room was spacious and clean, and the bed was the most comfortable we had on our 12-day trip. The garden, pool, the quiet location and the mojitos were welcoming after a hot day exploring Bagan. At first we were concerned about the location of the hotel, but it turned out to be just fine. Two days we rented electric bikes (fun and cheap) which took us everywhere we wanted to go. The hotel also shuttled us into New Began to various restaurants in the evening (it was only a 10-minute walk but it was dark, we were lazy and they were so willing to drive us). We also ate dinner at the hotel one night and the food was good. Overall, this hotel was a great choice for us.

Room Tip: Some people may prefer the rooms looking onto the pool, but we preferred the rooms that looked onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank on_the_road1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear on_the_road1998,

Thank you for your positive comments following your stay at Blue Bird.
We are happy to read that you liked the daily Free service of our Shuttle to New Bagan and that you made use of it.
We have pass ypur feed back to the restaurant and kitchen team regarding your good dining experience at our Spices Garden restaurant as well to our Mixologist for the Great Mojitos!
Please do not hesitate to contact us when you next plan to visit Myanmar and Bagan as we will be delighted to assist.

Best regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I loved my stay at the Blue Bird. The hotel is well located, near old Bagan.The room are large, with very nice furnitures. The bathroom is also nice and modern. The staff of the hotel is welcoming, you can relax in a peaceful patio, and have very good meal at the hotel restaurant.
All the hotel is very clean, with good internet wireless connection.
The Blue Bird is an hotel for people who want to have a high quality of service at a not expensive price.
Last, for visiting Bagan, you can ask to find a guide at the time you register.
For sure I will go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebirdbagan, Owner at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Charles L,

Thank you for your comments.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed ypur stay at Our Boutique hotel.We have noted your comments regarding the large room and beautiful modern bathroom.
we will convey your positive feed back to our Tour desk concerning the preparation of your sightseeing tours and guide.
Last but not least we will share your comments regarding the good meals and service at our restaurant .
We hope to welcome you here again soon.

Best regards,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We loved our stay at the Blue Bird. The hotel grounds are lovely and offer a nice relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are large and have a very modern bathroom. The shower concept was very cool! The hotel offers an evening shuttle at 6:30 and 7:30 to take you into New Bagan. They will drop you off at your restaurant of choice and then pick you up 1.5 hours later. The hotel was also great in organizing a tour guide and transportation for the day (both car and buggy options). The breakfast was delicious - especially the morning they made fresh crepes. The hotel manager was very accomdating when it came to our request for a late check out and organizing transportation to and from the airport. The hotel is somewhat far from Old Bagan, but you can hire a car, buggy, or rent a bicycle (for free) from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Gelena L,

Thank you so much for your feed back . We are happy to learn that you had a Great stay with us.
Happy to read that you appreciated our free Shuttle to dine out.
As well we are very pleased that you truly enjoyed the selection of quality items served at our Breakfast .
Thank you for your kind appreciation regarding the service of our Tour Desk helping ypu to arrange your sightseeings of Bagan.

All the Team at Blue Bird is looking forward to welcome you back here again.

Kindly,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Myanmar is a mixed bag when it comes to accommodation and you have to look hard to find a good deal. This is just that. I would call this Bali level accommodation for the prices I would hope to get in Myanmar. The staff greeted us with cool towels and welcome drinks and escorted us to our beautiful room. The bathroom was lovely with a waterfall shower, huge mirrors and attention to detail such as nice robes, a decent hair dryer and stylish traditional lacquerware. There were definitely thoughtful Myanmar touches in the decoration right down to pretty door handles.
The bed was comfortable, furniture chic and everything was pristine. The pool is very pretty and the hotel was not too crowded. We didn't think the food was fantastic but it was fine for a quick meal. We ordered some room service that was not cooked through properly but the management made sure it was removed from our bill and we were given a complimentary order of something else which is just the way issues should be handled. The location is in new Bagan so if you are wanting to head out at night you would need to drive back but after a long day sightseeing we were happy just to relax and watch a movie. You can hire bikes if you want to get a meal locally but the area is not much to explore. Our driver picked us up every day and dropped us back for a siesta and getting in and out of town was no issue.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECP444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear ECP444,
Thank you for your comments .
We appreciate your constructive feed back concerning the service and management of the room service.
We are glad that you liked the design and large modern bathroom .
Please note that we have a Free Shuttle service for our residents every evening from 6h30 Pm to 9 PM to New Bagan.
kindly do not hesitate to contact us directly if you wish to visit Bagan again.

Best regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.4 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#2 of 44 in Bagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
2.7 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#6 of 44 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#7 of 44 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
2.5 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bird Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bird Hotel

Property: Blue Bird Hotel
Address: Myatlay St., Bagan Myothit (East), | Naratheinkha 10, Bagan, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Bird Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 rooms boutique hotel.Hotel - Blue Bird Bagan is located in the peaceful village of New Bagan, where traditional lifestyles are still the norm. Specialized services and full facilities designed to meet the individual needs.Comtemporary, well-appointed 40 sqm. room showcasing fine Myanmar handcrafted pieces, custom-made furniture and lighting. The combination of a mattress and featherbed offers your sleep to a unique experience. Luxurious 12 sqm bathroom features waterfall shower, handcrafted mosaic mirror & spacious wardrobe. The Hotel Facilities are privatised exclusively for our Hotel Guests. We do not accept Walk-In Inspection for the privacy of our Hotel Guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing