We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel, great cocktails”
Review of Blue Bird Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Bird Hotel
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Bophut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic boutique hotel, great cocktails”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed in July 2014 for 3 nights, as soon as we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. Really friendly welcome and cold towels, even a promise to my six year old daughter that they would find a DVD of frozen for her, which was subsequently granted as a leaving present! Lovely big rooms and bathrooms, pool great for relaxing around after hot dusty sight seeing, friendly staff, great cocktails, and tasty food. The only downside was slow internet, but this was a countrywide problem so not sure what they could have done!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucketts55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Lucketts55,

Greetings from Blue Bird Boutique hotel in BAGAN!

Its so nice to learn that you very much enjoyed your stay with us together with your Family.
We are delighted to read that you loved the large well designed room and bathroom.
The team appreciated your comments regarding the tasty food served at our restaurant " Spices Garden"... thank you...
We are happy to inform you that we now invested into a new Wi- Fi connection which works perfectly now.
It was so touching for all of us to read that your 6 years daughter enjoyed so much her DVD Frozen .....

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you here in Bagan again .Please feel free to contact us if you need any assistance .

Best regards,
Manager and Team @ Blue Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    154
    36
    12
    5
See reviews for
113
470
84
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a new boutique entrant in Bagan, and every indication suggests it will be wildly popular for years to come (with price-points likely to spiral upward, as current rates represent a bargain relative to similar spots in top global destinations). The rooms are spacious, thoughtfully appointed and immaculate. The centerpiece of the hotel is a lovely pool with terrific leather lounge chairs and stylish umbrellas -- the perfect spot to wile away the hours between temple visits. Staff are impeccably trained and eager to make guests feel at home, impart information and address a full range of needs. Hundreds of DVDs are available for free rental. And yes, the breakfast spread is guaranteed to brighten your morning; the lunch and dinner offerings are fair in quality but somewhat overpriced compared to nearby restaurants. Don't hesitate to book -- and do so well in advance to avail of competitive pricing during the low season and simply to land a space during high season. Enjoy the best of what this fabled cradle of ancient civilization has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDAKOTADAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Sdakotadan,

Greetings from Blue Bird Boutique hotel in BAGAN!

First of all the entire Team @ Blue Bird would like to thank you for your GREAT comments following your stay with us.
Its nice to read that you felt that our Team is impeccably trained as the owners are investing a lot in Training.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your spacious room thoughtfully appointed and Immaculate as well as our lovely pool with terrific loungers....

Thank you for highlighting the quality and selection of our Breakfast.
Our restaurant offers for lunch and dinner a range of Burmese delicacies and some international dishes , all cooked with fresh and quality items and served following international standards of Hygiene and Service.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in Bagan and at the Blue Bird! Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance.

Best regards,
Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My partner and I stayed at Blue Bird and enjoyed every minute! It was an oasis from the heat of Bagan, with a cool and clean pool and beautiful tropical garden. The rooms were well-fitted out with a comfortable bed including mosquito net. The tv had a dvd player and usb outlet as well. The staff were incredibly accommodating including letting us check-in early after our early morning flight into Bagan and very happy to give suggestions to pagodas that wouldn't be too crowded with other tourists and arrange transport. I recommend hiring a driver through the hotel for the day as the heat of the afternoon can get to you if you're on an e-bike. The early morning horse and cart ride to watch the sunrise from a pagoda is a must! The location is a little further away from the pagodas but worth it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Sophyf,

Greetings from Blue Bird Boutique hotel in BAGAN!

Thank you for your excellent feed back following your stay @ BLUE BIRD.
We particularly liked that you appreciated all the assistance you you received from our Front Office Team who made the right recommendation for you to enjoy the beauty of Bagan as much as possible and in a comfortable way during your stay.
Thank you for remembering our CLEAN and COOL POOL as well as your well fitted spacious romantic room ....with TV and DVD and USB outlet...

We hope to welcome you back one day @ Blue Bird! Please do not hesitate to contact us as it will be a pleasure to assist you..

With best regards,
Manager & Team @ Blue Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My friend and I stayed at Blue Bird and were blown away by the staff's accommodating nature. Whether it was arranging us taxis to dinner or bike rentals, the staff was extremely hospitable and detail oriented. For instance, even though the breakfast was a "serve-yourself" set-up, half the time they insisted on getting things for us. The owners were there as well and gave us excellent advice for the next leg of our trip in Mandalay, wanting to make sure that we got there safely.

Two out of the three nights in Bagan we spent at Blue Bird. We stayed at Aureum Palace for the last night which was a big mistake--they could not match Blue Bird's level of hospitality (or wifi connection). If choosing a hotel in Bagan, Blue Bird is hands down your best option.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amreynolds08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear amreynolds08,

Greetings from Blue Boutique hotel in BAGAN!

We are so glad to read that you truly appreciated your stay with us and especially the great service extended by our team .....and the fantastic atmosphere and comfort of our Boutique hotel.
Its nice to know that you enjoyed the service and the quality of our Breakfast.
Last but not least we are happy to read that the FREE WI-FI worked PERFECTLY in your ROOM as well as in the PUBLIC AREA or at THE POOL and in a Speedy Manner...............

We are looking forward to welcome you back in Bagan and at the BLUE BIRD ! Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance.

With kind regards,
Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

There is a simple reason why the Blue Bird Hotel comes out so well in all reviews - it really is that good! Having stayed in some very high end hotels around Asia, what the Blue Bird lacks in size, and in some ways facilities, it more than makes up for with the warmth of welcome and the friendly attentiveness of the staff. For the staff performance alone, this hotel is probably the best I have ever stayed in, and particular mention should be made of the reception staff who greet you with a friendly smile and then quickly become your friend and fixer, sorting out trips, booking taxis and ensuring that your every need is catered for. Whilst there, we also met the owners, a Swiss gentleman and his Burmese wife, and they too go out of their way to make the stay memorable. We especially liked our room with mosquito covered beds that we sank into most comfortably after days out visiting the temples and other sites. Though a small hotel, we found the food in the restaurant, though not extensive in choice, to be of a high quality with obvious effort made to source fresh produce and immaculate presentation. Like the town of Bagan, the hotel is quiet, but this relaxing atmosphere suited our requirements perfectly. I know the owner has plans to add facilities to the hotel and I hope that we can return to sample the additions. I would not think to try another hotel in Bagan - even the highest end ones there would struggle to compete with the Blue Bird! Going to Bagan? Stay at the Blue Bird and enjoy Burmese hospitality at its finest!

Room Tip: The rooms are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Tim S,

Greetings from Blue Bird The Boutique hotel in BAGAN!

The entire Team @ Blue Bird is so happy & proud to read your comments following your stay with us.
Firstly truly happy as you have enjoyed a fantastic stay with us .
Secondly we are all so proud to read that you truly appreciated the warmth of welcome and the friendly attentiveness of the staff. Its Great to hear that for the Staff performance alone , you stated that our Blue Bird is probably the best you have ever stayed.....Blue Bird Owners are investing into skills and language training for the team.
We were glad that you enjoyed the high quality food served at our restaurant "Spices Garden " using fresh and good selected products.

It was nice to read that you appreciated the quality & comfort of your room with its charming atmosphere.
We are looking forward to welcome you here at Blue Bird the Boutique hotel in BAGAN . Kindly do not hesitate to contact us if you need any assistance.

Best regards,
Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days at this incredibly perfect hotel...
Nothing to say but: spacious, clean and charming rooms, lovely swimming pool, delicious breakfast, pleasant and helpful staff (all speaking perfect English and managers even speaking French)...
Everything is done so that you could enjoy your stay in Bagan, free bikes for the guests, electric bikes on rental in front of the door, a shuttle leading to New Bagan...
Unfortunately, we had to leave the place at some point...

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amandine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Amandine A,

Greetings from Blue Bird the Boutique hotel in BAGAN!

The entire Team @ Blue Bird is very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all the services offered were "PERFECT".
We are glad to hear that you liked your spacious and charming room ...the great pool and the attentive & good service delivered by our team. It is nice indeed to be able to communicate easily with staff speaking good English and even with some able to speak French.Our goal at the Blue Bird is to invest into language & Skills training to help the local people therefore its nice to read your appreciation.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in Myanmar and at the Blue Bird in Bagan . Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any assistance.

Manage & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights, and probably would have stated even longer! The entire staff at BlueBird does everything to make you feel welcome, and at home. The lush garden is a perfect spot to sit and enjoy a drink after a day of temple visits. Pool is great, and food is delicious. The rooms are gorgeous, quiet, great decor, and the wifi is excellent. Don't look any further, this is the place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebirdbagan, Manager at Blue Bird Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Alicia A,

Greetings from Blue Bird The Boutique hotel in BAGAN!

We are so glad to read that you enjoyed so much your stay and your Gorgeous Room.
It is with great satisfaction that we read that you felt like at Home.

Most importantly thank you for mentioning our EXCELLENT WI-FI / INTERNET connection and coverage within our hotel and in your room .......and FREE for all our guests!!!

Looking forward to have the chance to welcome you here again soon.

Best regards,
Manager & Team @ Blue Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.4 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 47 in Bagan
620 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
2.8 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 47 in Bagan
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#5 of 47 in Bagan
764 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
3.3 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bird Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bird Hotel

Property: Blue Bird Hotel
Address: Myatlay St., Bagan Myothit (East), | Naratheinkha 10, Bagan, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Bird Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 rooms boutique hotel.Hotel - Blue Bird Bagan is located in the peaceful village of New Bagan, where traditional lifestyles are still the norm. Specialized services and full facilities designed to meet the individual needs.Comtemporary, well-appointed 40 sqm. room showcasing fine Myanmar handcrafted pieces, custom-made furniture and lighting. The combination of a mattress and featherbed offers your sleep to a unique experience. Luxurious 12 sqm bathroom features waterfall shower, handcrafted mosaic mirror & spacious wardrobe. The Hotel Facilities are privatised exclusively for our Hotel Guests. We do not accept Walk-In Inspection for the privacy of our Hotel Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Bird Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing