We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price but in need of renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Arriving at the hotel I was quite worried what I would find after a recent spate of negative reviews on TripAdvisor and some cautioning words from a local. However, while not exactly pleasantly surprised on arrival, I thought the hotel was fine. It's definitely not 3 stars like they say behind their reception desk, but you get what you would expect for the cheap (for Bagan) $50 price tag.

The only real negative that stops this hotel from being great is the old, run down rooms. On the plus side the air conditioning works well, the bed is fine, there is a mini bar and TV and we had no problems with noise (we were in Room 301). On the negative side the door doesn't close flush so there is always a gap mosquitoes get through, we had real trouble getting any power outlets to work because they're so old plugs don't stay in place (only one worked in the room and it needed an European converter, even the converter supplied by the hotel didn't work), the WiFi is truly awful (I wouldn't rely on it for anything while you're here) and in general the room looks beaten up with mould in the bathroom, peeling paint on the walls etc.

Outside the room we had no issues. The staff were helpful, the pool area is lovely and the breakfast is really excellent. It looks like they're building new rooms, when they finish I expect this hotel really will be 3 stars (or probably more).

I think if you come to this hotel expecting to get what you paid for, not thinking you got an amazing bargain on a spectacular hotel, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keineideen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Bagan Umbra
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

I spent 5 nights at Umbra hotel and I felt like home! Friendly staff Always reday to help guests.
Good restaurant with lots of choice same for breakfast served in a nice garden.
Nice swimming pool.
My room was big clean and 24h hot water.
Good location between Nyaung U and old bagan.
Lots of restaurant at walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vialactea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I booked a room here through Agoda for 2 nights, I was SHOCKED with the room.
Very old,dirty bed covers and towels, very loud room and old.
I asked to change my room few times and even said i will pay more, the hotels around were all booked and didn't want to waste time in that amazing place Bagan on room searching.
the staff didn't care much and just repeated they have no rooms.
I was traveling in India, Laos, Nepal and Vietnam, that was my worst room!

Even by Burma hotel standards, terrible value for money, even for a guest house!
I must be fair and mention the pleasant pool and the breakfast but unfortunately i was waiting to leave this place AND COULDN'T ENJOY THAT AT ALL.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agamtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Nice reception area and helpful staff and pleasant pool (though insufficient sun loungers etc). My room (305) was fine. Personally I was not so keen on the breakfasts. Wifi very slow everywhere, even by Burma hotel standards. Not really good value for money. Staff helpful when I got sick.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank wimbledonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were staying here in December for 3 nights. The hotel has a very nice and a queit garden where the day starts with a nice breakfast. Egg station, pancakes, toast and Asian breakfast. Almost the best Buffet Breakfast we had in Myanmar. The room is big, bathroom some kind of old but hot shower. The stuff is really friendly. They were organizing the Balloon Ride over Bagan for us. Including a babysitter that came at 5am to the room to watch after our son when we were enjoying the sunrise over Bagan :)
It is possible to hire e-bikes at the reception. If they don't have any left, they arrange some very quickly.
The pool is nice, but didn't look that inviting, the water didn't seem to be very clean. I didn't risk it to take a swim. But the weather was not that hot anyway. On the first day we were arriving very early in the morning, they proposed us to take a breakfast that day instead of the last day where we had to leave early. Very flexibel stuff. I totally can recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GokGok82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I booked a room here through Agoda and although they had a room for me, I was SHOCKED at how horribly the manager treated guests. Basically, if you have a pre-paid reservation, they have no incentive to accommodate you. A couple who had reserved a superior room with 2 beds was told that they couldn't be accommodated and although they did not protest the 1st day, they were told they could switch the next day. The next day, the manager told them that they couldn't be accommodated and was very nasty to them and suggested that they could stay somewhere else. Good food but disgusting bathrooms. Hotel also set up a horse cart ride for me and told me one price and then another....shady.

Room Tip: Away from construction and all the pigeons living in roof.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anandag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Spacious but basic room. Pool is Nice. Extensive and good breakfast. Wifi ok. Good location and hotel offers bikes for $2 per day. Test The bike before you Go or take an electric one. They are currently building a new part that looks more like a resort and looks very promising.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Frederique1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
2.3 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 47 in Bagan
1,211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zfreeti Hotel
Zfreeti Hotel
#2 of 6 in Nyaung U
682 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#6 of 47 in Bagan
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
1.6 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
2.4 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Bagan Umbra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Bagan Umbra

Address: Nyaung U Main Road | Wet-Kyi-Inn Village, Nyaung U Township, Mandalay Province, Myanmar, Bagan 05231, Myanmar (Formerly Golden Express Hotel (Bagan-Nyaung U))
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range: £34 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Bagan Umbra 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Umbra Bagan is located at Wet Kyi Inn village, mid-way between Old Bagan and the City Nyaung U. Old Bagan is one of the most significant archeological sites in the world which rose to glory as capital of the First Kingdom of Myanmar in the 11th century. The Hotel Umbra Bagan is closer to major tourist attractions like the famous Shwezi Gon Pagoda and Anandar Temple. The beauty of ancient Bagan can be seen early in the morning and be explored simply from the hotel's doorstep. After guests spend the day biking around pagoda in heat and dust they can enjoy our two swimming pools. Also the Hotel Umbra Bagan offers a pleasant quiet surrounding at night with its 5 acres of beautifully landscaped garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Hotel Bagan Umbra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing