We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep among the temples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kumudara Hotel Bagan
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sleep among the temples”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This hotel is charmingly located among the stupas of Bagan. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with a charming view. The pool is small and underwhelming, but a nice addition to the property and a great option for a siesta. There's a lovely patio restaurant, which for dinner was a great option. The free breakfast was adequate. The staff was eager and helpful. It's a comfortable and charming stay for Bagan.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    181
    99
    41
    12
See reviews for
36
200
67
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Our room (a junior suite, 60$ / night) was perfect for the price : clean, big, A/C, TV and mini-bar.
The hotel has a very nice view on some beautiful temples and it is quiet. Breakfast is OK.
It is pretty nice to have a swimming pool with that price, especially when you have visited all day long with bike and the heat ! But it could be a little bit more clean around the pool, more chlore in the water wouldn't be a luxe, and they could add mattresses on the chairs because it hurts our back really bad. But in any case, it is cool to have a pool with 60$/ night and the restaurant has a nice terrass and is ok for the food (a little bit expansive and takes a long time to cook).
We would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel for a medium budget, and 2 or 3 nice restaurants (like the "San Carlo" outside the hotel are perfect for an alternative !

Room Tip: Junior suite has no view directly on the temples, but are very nice. Otherwise, some of the basic ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The Kumudara Hotel which is situated in the Pyu-Saw-Htee Quarter of Bagan lives up to its brochure description which in part reads " ...lies at the edge of the archaeological monument zone surrounded by farmland and temple ruins.." and " ...every time you open the curtains, you can reach the panorama view of Bagan's temples .." It certainly is true.

The hotel is a short walk to the local shopping centre which has several restaurants and bars in the Myanmar sense. The locals are friendly and in no time we made lots of friends in the retaurants and bars. The hotel is 12 kms from the airport and 14 kms from the railway station and a similar distance from the jetty on the Aye Yarwaddy River.

The hotel was opened in 1995 and externally is showing some need of TLC but the room or services offered could not be faulted. The room was spotlessly clean, large and had a small verandah from which you could almost touch the temples. The bathroom had a bathtub and comes complete with the usual amenities. There is a fridge in the room which contains two complimentary bottles of water and two cans of soft drink which must be paid for if used.

Laundry services are available and the clothes returned in good condition at the time agreed they should be returned.

A large swimming pool is available for guests and there is an on site spa which offers same sex massages in a region which is primarily a religious site. This means that If you are a male do not expect to receive a massage from a lady but no problem receiving one from a a male masseur. Likewise a lady would be attended to by a female masseur.

The hotel restaurant offers Burmese, Chinese and European cuisine which are quite tasty and reasonably priced. Breakfast understandably has a distinctly Asian flavour with noodles, fried eggs, cereal and fresh fruit and juices available. Except for the most fastidious the choice available was quite adequate and the food filling.

Taxis, bicycles and horse and buggy are available for hire at the hotel at reasonable rates. We elected to hire a taxi with a/c and the driver turned out to be a font of knowledge on Bagan and was able to assist us in putting together an itinerary to view what we wanted to as efficiently as possible. With approximately 2400 temples in Bagan you need to be selective in what you see!

No praise is higher enough for the quality of the staff. We were always met by staff members at all levels with happy smiling faces and the traditional greeting of "Mingalabar". They were happy to answer our queries or if they couldn't found someone who could. A delightful experience!

We had several long conversations during the evening with some of the staff members and through their knowledge of Bagan and the history of the temples we left the hotel having gleaned more knowledge of the history of the region in happy circumstances than we could ever have obtained from any guide book.

Our stay at the hotel was most enjoyable and extremely satisfying. We would stay at this hotel again should the situation arise.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crocnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Stunning location overlooking the temples and with good amenities. We ebjoyed a good sizes balcony overlooking temple, and on our last morning the hot air baloons landing. Room very comfy and well appointed. Like most Myanmar hotels there don't seem to be double beds which is a disappointment. An easy walk into 'town' for a selection of restaurants and shops if you don't want to eat in (we thought the menu unexciting and toppish prices.
Nice gardens with pool (what do they put in it?) and a shortage of loungers but the grass is soft and plenty of shade.
Staff are excellent.

Room Tip: pay the modest extra and take a room with a view of the temples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Nom-la-Breteche, France
Level 6 Contributor
676 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

If you need reasonably priced accommodation then this might fit the bill but if you can afford better then I would pay the extra. We had a Junior suite which overlooked a very scummy pond full of litter, but in the far distance there were excellent temple views. The outside design of the rooms was drab to say the least - unimaginative rectangular pale green buildings looking like a cheap motel in the States. Inside the room was uninteresting too - plumbing very iffy ludicrous shower head over the bath which soaked everything nearby. If one is not keen on an Asian breakfast then the only choice was a little fruit and underdone toast and jam . Only orange squash instead of fresh juice. The swimming pool was not very big and there were very few loungers the only alternative was to sit on filthy dining chairs or a very unkempt area of grass/scrubland. The plus sides- cheap laundry service, pleasant staff and the room was clean

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JANDDBritinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KENT
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

Back for the third time & the usual welcome from the charming staff. Food very good but the rooms are looking increasingly jaded one of which housing a small rodent probably a cheroot loving squirrel /rat.
This lovely place must keep up to speed or all maybe lost

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stugletKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We just spent 3 nights there and loved every minute of it. The $60/night for our temple view room, which was very big, with a very big bathroom, with a big balcony looking out at the temples were very good value. The location is fantastic. A bit removed from the action (instead you got temples, egrets, and grazing goats) but close enough to walk to a number of restaurants. The food in the restaurant was fantastic. The breakfast buffet included three or four Burmese options, which varied every day, in addition to the Western breakfast. Dinner (again we opted for Burmese) was also excellent. The meals we had there were far superior to what we had elsewhere in Bagan. Staff was efficient, helpful, friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariposa1893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
3.4 mi away
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
#13 of 47 in Bagan
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaday Aung Hotel
Kaday Aung Hotel
#25 of 47 in Bagan
325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arthawka  Hotel
Arthawka Hotel
#9 of 47 in Bagan
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thurizza Hotel Bagan
Thurizza Hotel Bagan
#16 of 47 in Bagan
427 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bagan Emerald Hotel (MyaYaDaNar Hotel)
0.8 mi away
Ruby True Hotel
Ruby True Hotel
#12 of 47 in Bagan
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumudara Hotel Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumudara Hotel Bagan

Property: Kumudara Hotel Bagan
Address: Corner of 5th Street & Daw Na St. | Pyu-Saw-Htee Qtr, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kumudara Hotel Bagan 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every time you open the curtains from your room, you can see the panorama view of ancient Bagan temples. Located at the edge of archeological monument zone, surrounded by farms and ruins of temples, Kumudara Hotel is the only hotel in Bagan with the unbeatable location where you can enjoy the priceless view of hundreds of pagodas and at least 10 famous ones. Famous pagodas include Su La Ma Ni Pahto, Dhamma Yan Gyi Pahto, Ananada Temple, Shwe San Daw Paya, and That Byin Nyu Temple. Situated in the middle of 4 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and 12.9 acres of farmland, the atmosphere is very quiet, peaceful and serene. If you are looking for a place to escape from your daily stress at the best location in Bagan, Kumudara Hotel is the right choice for you. This is where your Bagan dream comes true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Kumudara Hotel Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing