We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kumudara Hotel Bagan
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Convinient location (15min ride by bike to old bagan / 15min to airport by car) . Affordable price for a spacious and clean room, deco is a bit oldy. Once more the hotel only have twin beds... Big plus of the hotel is the swiming pool, perfect after a hot and dusty day in the temples...
Restaurant is serve decent food, and staff are helping.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    181
    99
    41
    12
See reviews for
36
200
67
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
677 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 608 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The hotel is a few steps away from some of the pagodas- you would think that goes for anything in Bagan as the whole area is just a massive plain sprinkled with pagodas. However I dont think theres another hotel that is literally so close to them. You can rent bikes for about $3 a day per person from the hotel and its well worth it. If you have a couple of days in Bagan its nice to bike around and loose your way among the lesser known and hence less visited pagodas.
Back to the hotel, the staff are friendly and helpful. They helped us get air tickets for our onward journey to Mandalay. The rooms are clean and neat and the beds fairly comfortable. Theres a business center with 3 computers that are free, but they seem to be in use whenever you go there. You have to pay for wifi (which is free in some other hotels in the area). The breakfast is included and is not bad. I had fried eggs made to order and toast with some fresh fruits. they also have a variety of local dishes which I thought was nice and I tried them. (This is something I missed in a lot of the other Myanmar hotels- offering just western fare, and that too not very good). I always like to try local dishes when i travel- it adds to the experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KANewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
635 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,004 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I preface all hotels in Burma by saying they are poor value when compared to the countries around them. The hotel beds are kept at a ridiculously low level where demand far outstrips supply. They charge for one night what one of their staff members earns in a month...compare this to your country. Here, in Ireland, that is €1,600 per night!

Little bit about Bagan. Old Bagan is mainly temples and a couple of expensive hotels...there is really nothing there, with new Bagan (where the residents of Old Bagan were forcibly moved to) being the hotel/restaurant area. The other main area with more hotels/restaurants is Nyaung U, down by the ferry pier. When getting off the ferry do NOT take the silly fares offered. Ask around and get a little away from the taxi pests by the ferry for a fair taxi fare. Also...try to share a taxi.

OK...the hotel. Lovely renovated junior suite rooms which we really liked the second we opened the door. The standard (superior?) rooms are much more basic and I would recommend the extra few dollars. But having said that the funny thing is some of the standard rooms (by the pool) have great views, as do some of the upper floor deluxe suites, superb views of some pagodas. But not all deluxe suites have a view so be careful.

Breakfast is very, very poor and not good enough for charging $60 a night. Fruit/eggs/awful toast and that is it ! Asians have fried rice, other mornings noodles. That is why 1 star went. Management! You must change this without delay as it is just not an acceptable breakfast for a Western. Add fruit salad, yoghurt, honey, cereals, a much better selection of breads, etc.

It is a good 10-15 minute safe walk to the main road and yes...do bring a torch.

I would come back but I would insist on a proper breakfast.

ps....eat tasty food at the Kaday Kywe restaurant. (To the right as you arrive at the temple in the middle of the main road). Lovely friendly owner, big portions and cheap.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Excellent for exploring temples. We walked (15min) into the town for a meal each evening and found some wonderful little restaurants (need a torch).
Hotel rooms modern, clean and everything you would expect. Nice view from balcony. Breakfast good. Liked the bourganvilla petals on the bed at night. Nice touch. Don't forget to spend time in the rural villages. You are made very welcome. Nyaung U local market brilliant . Must do a horse and cart ride.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

We were a group of 6 who travelled to Bagan in January. The room rates in Old Bagan were too high for our budget, so we decided on New Bagan.

Kumudara is the closest hotel to old Bagan and approx. a 10 minute bike ride from the town gate. We found its central location an excellent base for exploring the temples around both Old and New Bagan.

The hotel rooms are dark, but the beds comfortable, rooms clean and modern bathrooms. Rooms include a kettle, tea/coffee, complimentary bottled water, hair dryer, safe, etc.

Balconies a have a view of the temples.

Full breakfast buffet included. Nice choice of hot foods, toast, fruit and eggs made to order.

Free 1 hour Internet. Pay for WIFI. We never used the free internet as the 2 computers were always being used.

Bike rental $3.00/day. Decent bikes but check the tires. Many were flat.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant a few times. Good food, variety of menu selections, and very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We had a great view of stupas from our room and a short walk to view the stupas at sunset. Had a good rest and hotel really well priced. Negatives would be a bit noisy on the bottom floor hearing footsteps from above apartments, flakey ceilings in the bathroom and rooms in general need of general maintenance but that is not unusual in Myanmar. Good restaurant really well priced. Hotel Internet didn't work but good wi fi connection at Green Elephant Restaurant in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

The title says it all. We got the suite which overlooks the temples and pagodas. Magical in the early morning and nighttime when you can see it from your terrace. The staff is really helpful and friendly. Some speak English a little better than others. The hotel manager is great guy. The restaurant is good quality for a reasonable price. Salads for about 1200 and main dishes ranging from 2400 to 4200. Rum sour from 1200 is a hooray!

The rooms and beds are great but lighting can be improved. A little more of it so i see more when it is dark. The hotel is located about 5 minutes from the new bagan city center. It is close to the start of the temple trail. Taxis and horse cart drivers usually wait in front of the hotel in the morning. Horse cart is great fun. Ask for number 86! He speaks great English and is a very friendly guy.

They also has a small pool which we didnt use but looked clean and fine. Comfortable poolside beds and towels are ready for the taking.

Only annoiance were the pigeons on our 2nd floor suite roof. They would come in the morning and do a little dancing waking you up.

Tip for the hotel: install a water cleaning system for the Koi fish. The water looks terrible! And feed them normal fish food. Not bread leftovers!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xglenx31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.3 mi away
Kaday Aung Hotel
Kaday Aung Hotel
#24 of 47 in Bagan
326 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
#13 of 47 in Bagan
493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arthawka  Hotel
Arthawka Hotel
#9 of 47 in Bagan
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thurizza Hotel Bagan
Thurizza Hotel Bagan
#16 of 47 in Bagan
428 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ruby True Hotel
Ruby True Hotel
#12 of 47 in Bagan
241 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bagan Emerald Hotel (MyaYaDaNar Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumudara Hotel Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumudara Hotel Bagan

Property: Kumudara Hotel Bagan
Address: Corner of 5th Street & Daw Na St. | Pyu-Saw-Htee Qtr, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kumudara Hotel Bagan 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every time you open the curtains from your room, you can see the panorama view of ancient Bagan temples. Located at the edge of archeological monument zone, surrounded by farms and ruins of temples, Kumudara Hotel is the only hotel in Bagan with the unbeatable location where you can enjoy the priceless view of hundreds of pagodas and at least 10 famous ones. Famous pagodas include Su La Ma Ni Pahto, Dhamma Yan Gyi Pahto, Ananada Temple, Shwe San Daw Paya, and That Byin Nyu Temple. Situated in the middle of 4 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and 12.9 acres of farmland, the atmosphere is very quiet, peaceful and serene. If you are looking for a place to escape from your daily stress at the best location in Bagan, Kumudara Hotel is the right choice for you. This is where your Bagan dream comes true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Kumudara Hotel Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing