We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kumudara Hotel Bagan
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed in the spacious J-Suite with a great view of the temples, lit up at night. I was comfortable and relatively happy. However, the bathroom had no shower curtain which meant the floor was sopping wet every time I took a shower. It was also hard to read and write in my room because the lights were really dim. I ate frequently in the hotel restaurant and found the service to be atrocious. Placing an order could result in a 45-min. wait. If there is a big group having dinner, you may have to wait even longer. Check how much time it will take before you order an item. Clearly, the hotel can hire more staff/cooks but is not willing to invest, despite charging a good bit of money for the rooms.

On the positive side, Kumudara offers free internet service, apparently one of the few in Bagan to do so. And they don't make their guests pay for a compulsory New Year's Eve dinner like so many hotels do.

The location is New Bagan which means you will need some form of transportation to see the temples. However, a few famous ones are within easy walking distance such as Abeyadana, Socmingyi, Nagayon, and Nan Paya. I hired a horse cart for two days ($25 per day) and covered all the big names. My favorites: Ananda Pahto, Thatbyinnu, Shwegugyi, Gawdawpalin, and Sulamani.
I did experience temple fatigue on the second day--most of the temples are very similar and, unlike Indian temples, are largely bereft of sculpture, carvings, and decoration. Some have frescoes and murals but, the lack of internal lighting, makes it nearly impossible to view them. Flashlights are a must but can do only so much.

Because of the terrible, swirling dust, I strongly recommend wearing a face mask while visiting the temples. You won't look strange or stupid--plenty of people will be wearing them. I got a sore throat because I didn't.

My first Bagan sunset was on the Irrawady. You can go for a boat ride, if you wish. My second was up on Shwesandaw temple, and the view was just stunning.

My flights and hotel were booked by Dimple Swe [dimple.7diamond@gmail.com] of 7 Diamond Express. She was extremely helpful and totally reliable. And she always answered my e-mails promptly. She met me at my hotel in Yangon on my very first day, and I paid her in crisp US dollars. (BTW, it would be a good idea to change your money in Yangon because you will get an inferior rate in Bagan). I flew Air Bagan, which doesn't have the best safety record, but there were no problems.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank tunai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

Very large rooms with huge windows and nice balconies. A bit old fashioned and in need of a revamp, but good value. We used the large swimming pool every day and it was great! Staff try very hard and are eager to please. We rented bikes, then electric bikes from the place at the end of the road and found the location very good for everything. Several good restaurants in the road with the good local morning market. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Standard rooms facing the pool were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pensioner090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel - and unfortunately I think it will be the last - which is a shame because it has so much potential but the staff are just not interested.
This time we stayed in the new rooms which are beautifully appointed, modern and spacious. Really very nice.
The views are stunning and the semi-remote nature of the hotel adds to the mysterious, beautiful, quietness that somehow seems appropriate in Bagan.
Unfortunately - the stunning location is as much a curse as a blessing when it comes to food - the restaurant was horrendous, not only bad service, not only cold food (including the currys) but our son ordered sweet & sour and was served chicken in tomato ketchup - which he thought was fine, but the four adults amongst us found distinctly foul. When we stayed last year, the restaurant was really, really good - great in fact - this time it was terrible. The staff had no interest in taking food and drink orders, serving food from the kitchen or anything bar watching the football on the tv.
If you do stay here - order a taxi via reception and head into Nyang U, the downtown backpacker area - it'll cost about 7-10,000 kcats and is worth every penny

Room Tip: Get the new rooms as they are more moden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali-Ludwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Apparently we got a room that wasn't recently renovated, it was so dirty and dark and dingy. The bathroom was invested with ants-- no there was NO bathtub. We were too exhausted to ask for a room change b/c we arrived at 5:30 am from a night bus. I do think it was very nice of them to let us in our rooms that early to sleep.. however the rooms gave me the heebegeebes! It was one of the closest rooms to the main road that leads to old Bagan, so very convenient at night when it's pitch black outside and you can't see anything as you're biking back. Food prices were reasonable, about $3/dish. The breakfast was sustainable, and the view was gorgeous.. The pool was very clean and beautiful, although no one was using it. We rented bikes for $3/day. It's about a 20 minute bike ride to the main temples, and the service was very nice. However, ask for NEW/CLEAN room! Ughh..ours were so nasty.

Room Tip: Get a new room, i dunno where they are b/c they show up in the photos..but our room had no bathtub a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iluvcamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Room was large, and nice, but very dimly lit. Bathroom definitely in need of updating - hot water took ages and water temperature was difficult to adjust after that. Sink was falling off the wall and frequently slow to drain. Good breakfast available. Location was a little out of the way, more like 10-15 mins walk to restaurants than the 5 mins we were told by the reception staff. The manager spoke to us at breakfast one day and apparently we should have stayed in one of the junior suites rather than the standard room we had booked!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I was traveling solo and stayed in a " junior suite" for 1 night. When I first arrived they put me in a different ground floor room with no view even though I had requested and paid for the other. After much hassle, they finally moved me to a 2nd floor room with balcony. It was definitely worth changing rooms. From my room balcony, I could see temples/stupas in the distance and early morning between 7-8am you can see the hot air balloons as well! Two of the balloons landed in the field just off the balcony and I enjoyed watching them.

Wifi was slow but worked fine in my room. I had room 711. There was a small fridge, 2 bottles of water are provided daily. There was a room safe, basic toiletries, slippers, thin robes.

Cleanliness was just ok. I noticed one of the coffee cups had not been washed from previous guests. Towels were worn but ok. The room had twin beds. I didn't notice if there was air con or not, as the temperature was fine. There was a tv as well but I didn't use it. There was a phone in the room to be able to call the front desk. I did not like the fact they called me at 8:00 am before i had gone to breakfast to ask me what time I would be checking out of my room that day!!

They do charge for any stains you make or if you break anything in the room-- there was a price list in the room.

I had problems with no hot water in my room, even after they claimed to fix it. The weather was hot while I was in Bagan so a cold shower in the afternoon was ok for one day. Also, I had problems with the shower water running out onto the bathroom floor and soaking everything that was on the floor! The tub seemed to drain all water onto the floor, so be sure to put your clothes or towels, etc onto the counter!!


Breakfast was 6-9am. Nothing special but basics. Coffee, tea, juice, toast, cut up fruits (watermelon, papaya), you can get eggs made to order, and they had some Chinese looking foods, fried noodles, rice porridge, sliced sausages, etc.

There seemed to be a mix of both foreign and Myanmar guests at the hotel.

I found the location to be a bit out of the way for walking-- and at night I did not want to go out walking alone as it is very dark and you need a flashlight or torch. It was a good 45 min walk down dirt roads from the hotel just down to the river where there are a couple of restaurants. I did take a taxi a couple of times. I paid about 10,000 kyat to go to an ATM machine and back to the hotel. Another time I paid 15,000 for a taxi to drive me to a restaurant and wait while I had dinner and bring me back to the hotel.

As for sightseeing, in the morning there were both horse cart drivers and taxi drivers around the lobby area. It was easy to arrange. I paid 35,000 kyat for a private air con taxi for the entire day-- as many temples as I wanted and brought me back to hotel after watching the sunset. The hotel can also help to book taxis or anything.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel. It was quiet and comfortable and my highlight was the morning view of the balloons from my balcony.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzykhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel. The room is really juge and it has nice views. The food (dinner) is good and tasty and not expensive. Nice breakfast. Well located hotel, very close to ttemples. Sometimes hot water shortage.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbejaMaya2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.8 mi away
Ruby True Hotel
Ruby True Hotel
#12 of 47 in Bagan
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arthawka  Hotel
Arthawka Hotel
#9 of 47 in Bagan
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thurizza Hotel Bagan
Thurizza Hotel Bagan
#16 of 47 in Bagan
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kaday Aung Hotel
Kaday Aung Hotel
#24 of 47 in Bagan
329 reviews
2.1 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 47 in Bagan
1,220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Bird Hotel
Blue Bird Hotel
#2 of 47 in Bagan
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumudara Hotel Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumudara Hotel Bagan

Address: Corner of 5th Street & Daw Na St. | Pyu-Saw-Htee Qtr, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range: £41 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kumudara Hotel Bagan 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every time you open the curtains from your room, you can see the panorama view of ancient Bagan temples. Located at the edge of archeological monument zone, surrounded by farms and ruins of temples, Kumudara Hotel is the only hotel in Bagan with the unbeatable location where you can enjoy the priceless view of hundreds of pagodas and at least 10 famous ones. Famous pagodas include Su La Ma Ni Pahto, Dhamma Yan Gyi Pahto, Ananada Temple, Shwe San Daw Paya, and That Byin Nyu Temple. Situated in the middle of 4 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and 12.9 acres of farmland, the atmosphere is very quiet, peaceful and serene. If you are looking for a place to escape from your daily stress at the best location in Bagan, Kumudara Hotel is the right choice for you. This is where your Bagan dream comes true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kumudara Hotel Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing