We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“swimming pool with temple view... best value in Bagan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kumudara Hotel Bagan
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Reviewed 23 May 2010

perfect hotel, extremely friendly and helpful staff, delicious food, nice rooms, very affordable regarding the price.
BEST IN BAGAN, no doubts

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
Thank caplee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 March 2017

Dear caplee79.

Thank you for your beautiful review and recommending to other travelers. We are very sorry for our late late response.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the views from our hotel, the foods from our restaurant, and also our staff hospitality.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.

Thanks.
Best Regards.
Naing Htet Aung.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2010

It was just amazing time in Kumundara. Really great value for money - fantastic spacious clean rooms with great views, pool, great food in the restaurant for a very good money. The manager helped us with the airplane tickets and other hotel reservations without asking for any money. And it's in a really peacefull area. Totally recommended

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pawelek777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 March 2017

Dear pawelek777.

Thank you for your beautiful review and recommending to other travelers. We are very sorry for our late late response.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the views from our hotel, the foods from our restaurant, and also our staff hospitality.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.

Thanks.
Best Regards.
Naing Htet Aung.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Excellent hotel in Bagan for value and a wonderful stay.

My husband and I along with two friends stayed in a junior suite for 5 nights for $30/night. The room was beautiful, clean, spacious, newly renovated, modern, and had temple views from our balcony. We were shocked at how inexpensive the suites were.

Here are more pro's:
-Friendly, helpful staff
-Location is right on top of the temples - temple views from our balcony
-Restaurant has very good food at very reasonable prices (Average lunch for 2 people is $7 USD)
-Bicycle rentals at hotel - you can ride right into the temples from hotel
-Staff very helpful with booking boat tours, horse carts, flights, etc
-Nice quiet location away from busy streets and noise.
-Breakfast included

We had a fabulous time at Kumudara Hotel and would go back again for sure. The only negative I can say is they advertise that they have internet, but we never found it to work. But it is Myanmar after all and internet is very spotty all over the country.

You will have a wonderful holiday here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discrn_Trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 March 2017

Dear llazzara.

Thank you for taking the time to write about us and recommending to other travelers. We are very sorry for our late late response.

We are happy to hear that you very much satisfied your stay, views from our hotel, our staff hospitality, and our room rates. We have been planning to upgrade internet speed.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.

Thanks.
Best Regards.
Naing Htet Aung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Upon arrival at the hotel in the dark it seemed to be situated in the
middle of nowhere, though in the light we realised it's on the edge of
new bagan (10 minute walk to main street) and faces onto the bagan
plain with many stupas visible from the large picture windows. We paid
40 dollars for a suite with two huge,clean stylishly decorated rooms, both
with air con, flat screen tv, fridges etc. One negative point was that
we never managed to get hot water from the shower though in the heat
of November this wasn't a big problem. We ate in the restaurant one
night and found it to be good food at a low price. The staff were very
helpful and arranged horse cart and bicycles for us. New bagan is
walkable on a night and has a handful of decent restaurants. It's
quiet compared with nyaung u but offers more opportunity to get out of
the hotel than old bagan. One word of caution- we arrived at night and
the lights outside the room weren't on. The room has wooden decking outside
and I assumed beyond this was a car park. In the dark I set off to
check this out and found, to my cost, that rather than a car park the
decking looks onto a lily pond. Needless to say this was a shock as I
ended up in the water to my waist! In summary, nice rooms, well run
hotel with pleasant staff in a good location. Just watch out for the
water hazards!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 March 2017

Dear LS13.

Thank you for taking the time to write about us and choosing our hotel to stay. We are very sorry for our late late response.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also think our staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

Thanks.
Best Regards.
Naing Htet Aung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

We came to Bagan to visit the pagodas. The Hotel was recommended by another hotel in Yangon. It was a very warm welcome, nice staff, clean rooms and best service. It couldn't have been better!
www.kumudara-bagan.com
[--]

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LottaMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 March 2017

Dear LottaMunich.

Thank you for taking the time to write about us and recommending to other travelers. We are very sorry for our late late response.

We are so happy to hear that you totally enjoyed your stay with us. Your words encourage us to enjoy our works.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.

Thanks.
Best Regards.
Naing Htet Aung.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Booked Kumudara Hotel for Jan 22-23 2009 using Hoteltravel.com and chose a junior suite for USD34. We enjoyed immensely the unobstructed panoramic vistas of countless pagodas from our private balcony and even from our bed as the suite on the second level , had floor to celing glass windows. The room was tastefully appointed and had all modern amenities. Most of the temple and tourist activities take place in Old Bagan and admittedly Kumudara was some 15 minutes away by a pleasant horsecart ride. However since the hotel is at the very edge of New Bagan rather than in the center of town it had unrivalled views of all the pagodas that lay north., west & east. This also meant that it was quiet with Buddhist prayers just softly wafting in the air rather than blaring from a temple next door. Unfortunately, Bagan does not have electric power from 5am-5pm and because of a very low turn-out of guests to Bagan this year, turning on the hotel generator was not economically feasible. Helpful and friendly staff who could arrange for travel needs.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank emac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 March 2017

Dear emac3.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to stay. We are very sorry for our late late response. As far as we know that you are the very first person to review us on Tripadvisor. Thank you for that too.

We are very pleased to hear your title "Bagan views to die for". We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay.

Please visit us again. With better services and amenities, we are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.

Thanks.
Best regards.
Naing Htet Aung.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Javier V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.8 mi away
Ruby True Hotel
Ruby True Hotel
#12 of 47 in Bagan
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arthawka  Hotel
Arthawka Hotel
#8 of 47 in Bagan
465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Razagyo Hotel
Razagyo Hotel
#29 of 47 in Bagan
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon Bagan
Hotel Yadanarbon Bagan
#27 of 47 in Bagan
331 reviews
6.2 mi away
WEStay @ Bagan Lotus Hotel
5.0 mi away
Bagan Emerald Hotel (MyaYaDaNar Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumudara Hotel Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumudara Hotel Bagan

Address: Corner of 5th Street & Daw Na St. | Pyu-Saw-Htee Qtr, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range: £41 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kumudara Hotel Bagan 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every time you open the curtains from your room, you can see the panorama view of ancient Bagan temples. Located at the edge of archeological monument zone, surrounded by farms and ruins of temples, Kumudara Hotel is the only hotel in Bagan with the unbeatable location where you can enjoy the priceless view of hundreds of pagodas and at least 10 famous ones. Famous pagodas include Su La Ma Ni Pahto, Dhamma Yan Gyi Pahto, Ananada Temple, Shwe San Daw Paya, and That Byin Nyu Temple. Situated in the middle of 4 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and 12.9 acres of farmland, the atmosphere is very quiet, peaceful and serene. If you are looking for a place to escape from your daily stress at the best location in Bagan, Kumudara Hotel is the right choice for you. This is where your Bagan dream comes true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kumudara Hotel Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing