We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a great hotel for it's value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kumudara Hotel Bagan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kumudara Hotel Bagan
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Bagan
shanghai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It's a great hotel for it's value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

All the other reviews are true. This is a great hotel for it's value. Reall good service. Check out the pool and the view of the temples. It's great place to stay in Bagan

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billydog5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media Executive at Kumudara Hotel Bagan, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear billydog5.

Thank you for your positive review and recommending to other travelers. We are really sorry for our late late response.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us like the other travelers. We are glad that you witnessed the panorama view of Bagan ruins from hotel and the pool.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.

Thanks.
Best Regards.
Naing Htet Aung.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    177
    95
    40
    11
See reviews for
36
194
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

Fantastic hotel just on the edge of the temples, and I mean that literally they begin just a few meters outside of the hotel grounds and you can clearly see the temple "field" from the comforts of your room or the in the pool. Junior suite was well appointed with nice balcony looking over the temples, lounge area, clean bathroom, good aircon. I have lived and travelled extensively in SE Asia for the past 4 years and it is difficult to find an airconditioner that keep the room cool through the night, but I found one here! Resort is good for those that want to bask in the atmosphere and are looking for a quiet place to relax and see the stars at night.

I came during low season and place was virtually empty and the best part it was a steal for $21/nt. Not many other hotels in this price range have the views, a pool, or internet.

Good onsite restaurant serving fresh cooked burmese, chinese, and western food. Great 5 course set menu with choice of soup, appetizer, entree, side, desert for $4 and you will walk away stuffed with the portions. Resort is a 5 minute bicycle ride from the main road in new bagan with some simple restaurants, but with plenty of variety and great food onsite never saw the need to venture out. If you need variety you can have your meal in the garden, by the pool, inside, or on the patio.

Take advantage of the pool and sit out the heat of the day after climbing all over temples in the morning for sunrise. The hotel is on the northern part of new bagan and about a 20 minute bicycle ride from shwsandaw and mingala zedi with great sunrises and sunsets.

Rooms were spacious and nicely appointed. The bathroom was clean the only minor nit was the floor did get wet from the shower spray, but was not slippery.

The staff are very helpful and well educated. The hotel does invest lots of time training the staff and it does show. I happen to be here during low season and saw the training courses for the staff which lasts for over 1 month for everyone from the gardeners to the reception staff teaching enough english to be helpful and courteous.

Cant wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texas_n_Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media Executive at Kumudara Hotel Bagan, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Texas_n_Asia.

Thank you for your beautiful review and recommending to other travelers. We are very sorry for our late late response.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the views from our hotel, the foods from our restaurant, and also our staff hospitality.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.

Thanks.
Best Regards.
Naing Htet Aung.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

We stayed in a variety of hotels from budget to top-end during our 2 weeks in Myanmar last Feb, and this is by far the best. The junior suite is a steal for USD34/night (lucky you if you get it cheaper!). We extended our stay to 4 nights and went on looking for the same deal throughout our trip but found nothing comparable for that price.

The room was spotlessly clean with amazing, unobstructed view day and night. Service was top notch, laundry was even cheaper than laundry at the budget guesthouse we stayed by Inle Lake and meals were good and relatively cheap too. Horse carts, taxis were arranged for us but we get to negotiate with the drivers on our own (which we liked). The pool water could be cleaner, the condition of the rental bikes could have been better (we had to patch 3 old holes on the tire at our own cost), and the internet could have worked at least a day (but even when it was working at a top end hotel in Yangoon and at the internet cafe in Nyaungshwe, gmail was inaccessible/super slow). Hotel is a little bit far out from the main street but it was possible for us to rent a bike from outside and leave the keys at the hotel for the bike shop to send someone to pick up, and there’s the great restaurant (Green Elephant) not too far away.

We had a great stay here and would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiaolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media Executive at Kumudara Hotel Bagan, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear chiaolin.

Thank you for your beautiful review and recommending to other travelers. We are very sorry for our late late response.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the views from our hotel, the foods from our restaurant, and also our staff hospitality.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.

Thanks.
Best Regards.
Naing Htet Aung.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

perfect hotel, extremely friendly and helpful staff, delicious food, nice rooms, very affordable regarding the price.
BEST IN BAGAN, no doubts

Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank caplee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media Executive at Kumudara Hotel Bagan, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear caplee79.

Thank you for your beautiful review and recommending to other travelers. We are very sorry for our late late response.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the views from our hotel, the foods from our restaurant, and also our staff hospitality.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.

Thanks.
Best Regards.
Naing Htet Aung.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

It was just amazing time in Kumundara. Really great value for money - fantastic spacious clean rooms with great views, pool, great food in the restaurant for a very good money. The manager helped us with the airplane tickets and other hotel reservations without asking for any money. And it's in a really peacefull area. Totally recommended

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pawelek777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media Executive at Kumudara Hotel Bagan, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear pawelek777.

Thank you for your beautiful review and recommending to other travelers. We are very sorry for our late late response.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the views from our hotel, the foods from our restaurant, and also our staff hospitality.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.

Thanks.
Best Regards.
Naing Htet Aung.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

Excellent hotel in Bagan for value and a wonderful stay.

My husband and I along with two friends stayed in a junior suite for 5 nights for $30/night. The room was beautiful, clean, spacious, newly renovated, modern, and had temple views from our balcony. We were shocked at how inexpensive the suites were.

Here are more pro's:
-Friendly, helpful staff
-Location is right on top of the temples - temple views from our balcony
-Restaurant has very good food at very reasonable prices (Average lunch for 2 people is $7 USD)
-Bicycle rentals at hotel - you can ride right into the temples from hotel
-Staff very helpful with booking boat tours, horse carts, flights, etc
-Nice quiet location away from busy streets and noise.
-Breakfast included

We had a fabulous time at Kumudara Hotel and would go back again for sure. The only negative I can say is they advertise that they have internet, but we never found it to work. But it is Myanmar after all and internet is very spotty all over the country.

You will have a wonderful holiday here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Discrn_Trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media Executive at Kumudara Hotel Bagan, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear llazzara.

Thank you for taking the time to write about us and recommending to other travelers. We are very sorry for our late late response.

We are happy to hear that you very much satisfied your stay, views from our hotel, our staff hospitality, and our room rates. We have been planning to upgrade internet speed.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.

Thanks.
Best Regards.
Naing Htet Aung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
281 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

Upon arrival at the hotel in the dark it seemed to be situated in the
middle of nowhere, though in the light we realised it's on the edge of
new bagan (10 minute walk to main street) and faces onto the bagan
plain with many stupas visible from the large picture windows. We paid
40 dollars for a suite with two huge,clean stylishly decorated rooms, both
with air con, flat screen tv, fridges etc. One negative point was that
we never managed to get hot water from the shower though in the heat
of November this wasn't a big problem. We ate in the restaurant one
night and found it to be good food at a low price. The staff were very
helpful and arranged horse cart and bicycles for us. New bagan is
walkable on a night and has a handful of decent restaurants. It's
quiet compared with nyaung u but offers more opportunity to get out of
the hotel than old bagan. One word of caution- we arrived at night and
the lights outside the room weren't on. The room has wooden decking outside
and I assumed beyond this was a car park. In the dark I set off to
check this out and found, to my cost, that rather than a car park the
decking looks onto a lily pond. Needless to say this was a shock as I
ended up in the water to my waist! In summary, nice rooms, well run
hotel with pleasant staff in a good location. Just watch out for the
water hazards!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media Executive at Kumudara Hotel Bagan, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear LS13.

Thank you for taking the time to write about us and choosing our hotel to stay. We are very sorry for our late late response.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also think our staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

Thanks.
Best Regards.
Naing Htet Aung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon Bagan
Hotel Yadanarbon Bagan
#20 of 44 in Bagan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
120.9 mi away
Ruby True Hotel
Ruby True Hotel
#9 of 44 in Bagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
#13 of 44 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#6 of 44 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Razagyo Hotel
Razagyo Hotel
#25 of 44 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arthawka  Hotel
Arthawka Hotel
#8 of 44 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumudara Hotel Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumudara Hotel Bagan

Property: Kumudara Hotel Bagan
Address: Corner of 5th Street & Daw Na St. | Pyu-Saw-Htee Qtr, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kumudara Hotel Bagan 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every time you open the curtains from your room, you can see the panorama view of ancient Bagan temples. Located at the edge of archeological monument zone, surrounded by farms and ruins of temples, Kumudara Hotel is the only hotel in Bagan with the unbeatable location where you can enjoy the priceless view of hundreds of pagodas and at least 10 famous ones. Famous pagodas include Su La Ma Ni Pahto, Dhamma Yan Gyi Pahto, Ananada Temple, Shwe San Daw Paya, and That Byin Nyu Temple. Situated in the middle of 4 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and 12.9 acres of farmland, the atmosphere is very quiet, peaceful and serene. If you are looking for a place to escape from your daily stress at the best location in Bagan, Kumudara Hotel is the right choice for you. This is where your Bagan dream comes true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kumudara Hotel Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing