We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel on the edge of the temples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kumudara Hotel Bagan
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
593 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Jewel on the edge of the temples”
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We had two junior suites (306 and 307) for three nights at the end of November. The start was not promising as our pre-arranged airport pick-up was not there. However, Min from the hotel’s reception was there and he quickly organised a taxi for us. This ended up being quite fortunate as the driver (Nyi Nyi) had a reasonable car and spoke competent English, so we used him for all four days of our stay. From then on everything was wonderful. Our rooms were spacious and the terraces fronted a small pond, beyond which were the fields with their temples. Most things about the hotel are excellent: size of the rooms, amenities, staff, and in-room massages (at an incredible $4!!, so we indulged daily). If staying in touch is of prime importance, then there could be an issue as there is no wifi in the rooms, but there are two computers for guest use, however, the “free” period is 30 minutes per day and the computers could be in use – we relaxed and immersed ourselves in the region rather getting onto the internet. The restaurant is very reasonably priced with a large variety on offer, however, the food is average quality at best. The small pool was nice for a mid afternoon break from climbing pagodas and monuments. Min and the reception staff were very helpful in ensuring we were well informed about what to see and what the prices should be. Highly recommend this wonderful small hotel for the price/quality and the friendly, helpful staff.

We took advantage of our travels in the area to have lunch at two much more upmarket hotels: the Thiripyitsaya Sakura Hotel and the Aureum Palace. Both meals and restaurants were excellent (even though much more expensive) and both hotel shops had some lovely items at reasonable prices, although much more expensive and better quality than available at the markets etc.

Highly recommend staying at the clean, warm and friendly Kumudara Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    181
    99
    41
    12
See reviews for
36
200
67
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2010

I fell asleep looking out the glass doors of my room at the view of the Bagan temples lit up at night--absolutely breathtaking! The rooms were beautiful. The service better than any in recent memory; standouts include Mr. Min at the reception desk and Mr. Zaw zaw in the restaurant. All transport modes were available to see the 3000-4000 temples: horse cart, bikes, taxis, hot air balloons. Fascinating place, friendly people, good food, great atmosphere. My husband and I highly recommend Bagan, Myanmar and the Kumudara Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gracevg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

Very pleasant stay. The hotel has nice views, but is also remote from 'town' which fortunately didn't matter as the restaurant is quite good; this is a pleasant place to stay. The 'junior suites' are really just regular sized rooms, but for this part of the world, the Kumudara is an excellent choice - I doubt you could do better at twice the price.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank califreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

This was one of our favorite little hotels in Myanmar. It's cheap -- so cheap that we wondered beforehand whether the pictures were too good to be true. But they were right on the money; the Junior Suites are darling rooms that are stylish and comfortable. The setting of this hotel is what makes it spectacular. It sits on the edge of the archeological zone. We woke up one morning to see the balloons rising over the temples. We swam in their nice pool staring at the temples and watching goats pass by. Surreal. What makes this hotel, however, is the staff. Just wonderful. It's also a great place to get your laundry done cheap -- we paid $4 US for an entire suitcase full. The on-site restaurant is nothing special but will do in a pinch. Ask for a crepe pancake for breakfast if you are sick of eggs.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vesparado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Stay at the lovely, beautiful, resonably priced resort when you visit the beautiful temples and sites at Bagan. We used the pony cart #45 Cosan was our driver. It was wonderful.
The resort had excellent food and the service was outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham5665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennox Head, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
772 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I stayed in a junior suite, which was a good idea for someone traveling alone or with a companion. Junior suites are newly upgraded / new, and have excellent views over the temples - better than the downstairs suite with a king bed and a separate but basic room. The junior suite has two comfortabe single beds, a small two seater lounge, and a desk area. The ensuite is comfortable and attractive, even if it had a consistent slight leak from the shower/bath and the toilet blocked o the fifth day.

There is a pool and a restaurant.

Mien (not sure of the spelling) is an excellent reception manager who is good at solving problems and assisting. He has a delightful quiet 'can do' manner. The rest of the staff are friendly and helpful too.

The location is a little out of the way. New Bagan would possibly be better. However, give that I travelled for five days with my fabulous horse cart driver, Mr Coco (horse cart driver number 88 who I could not recommend more highly for friendliness, attentiveness, helpfulness and good humour), the location didn't matter that much.

The 30 minutes of free internet is a frustration. Internet rarely works in Myanmar, when it is open, and is very slow. (I was there a few weeks before the election on 7 Nov 2010 so I'm not sure if it's always like that but I gather that it's always slow.)

A disappointment for me was that I had money in my pocket to tip Mien for great service when, at the last second, with a taxi waiting and a plane to catch early in the morning, he informed m that I had to pay for two broken glasses in my room. While this policy is explained in literature in the room, I explained that the glassware was faulty as both glasss cracked merely by pouring ordinary refigerated water in to them. I could see that if I didn't pay, the owner would take the money out of his salary so, of course, I paid. I regret that I didn't have time to talk with the owner and / or dig back in my wallet to tip Mien. He deserved the tip and the owner didn't deserve the money for faulty glasses.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We were treated very well and enjoyed our stay very much. We could not have asked for anything more. The accommendations were perfect, the food great, and the staff so helpful. When you go to Bagan, use the horse cart "KoSan--45" to tour the ruins. We had a wonderful time. Joe and Sharon Graham

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media Executive at Kumudara Hotel Bagan, responded to this review, 20 March 2017
Dear mfl_10.

Thank you for your positive review and recommending to other travelers. We are really sorry for our late late response.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were treated very well.

We would love to having you as a guest again in our hotel.

Thanks.
Best Regards.
Naing Htet Aung.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
3.4 mi away
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
#13 of 46 in Bagan
487 reviews
2.1 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 46 in Bagan
1,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaday Aung Hotel
Kaday Aung Hotel
#23 of 46 in Bagan
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arthawka  Hotel
Arthawka Hotel
#8 of 46 in Bagan
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thurizza Hotel Bagan
Thurizza Hotel Bagan
#15 of 46 in Bagan
425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ruby True Hotel
Ruby True Hotel
#12 of 46 in Bagan
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumudara Hotel Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumudara Hotel Bagan

Property: Kumudara Hotel Bagan
Address: Corner of 5th Street & Daw Na St. | Pyu-Saw-Htee Qtr, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kumudara Hotel Bagan 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every time you open the curtains from your room, you can see the panorama view of ancient Bagan temples. Located at the edge of archeological monument zone, surrounded by farms and ruins of temples, Kumudara Hotel is the only hotel in Bagan with the unbeatable location where you can enjoy the priceless view of hundreds of pagodas and at least 10 famous ones. Famous pagodas include Su La Ma Ni Pahto, Dhamma Yan Gyi Pahto, Ananada Temple, Shwe San Daw Paya, and That Byin Nyu Temple. Situated in the middle of 4 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and 12.9 acres of farmland, the atmosphere is very quiet, peaceful and serene. If you are looking for a place to escape from your daily stress at the best location in Bagan, Kumudara Hotel is the right choice for you. This is where your Bagan dream comes true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kumudara Hotel Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing