We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
kmr1809
Derby, UK

Favourite hotel in 3 weeks in Burma

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Feb 2013
The reason we liked the hotel was a combination of a number of things - we had a riverside bungalow with a view straight across the Ayerawady River, the grounds were well kept, breakfast was good (it was nice to eat outside under the acacia tree) and the hotel had a pleasant, relaxed atmosphere - we stayed here after staying in the centre of Mandalay and the contrast was stark. The room was OK; big bathroom with separate bath and shower, and comfortable bed.
We didn't eat in the hotel, we rarely do, but I took one look at the menu and decided I could eat out in Old Bagan for about a 1/3 of their prices and also not have to endure the puppet show!
Date of stay: February 2013
Room Tip: I'm glad we stayed in the riverside bungalows. I guess they cost more but the views are great.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£116
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    £44
  • eDreams
    £69
  • Expedia.com
0.9 miles from Bagan Thande Hotel
Free parking
Pool
£76
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £57
  • Trip.com
    £44
  • Vio.com
    £54
0.2 miles from Bagan Thande Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£15
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
2.5 miles from Bagan Thande Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£61
Fully refundable
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Vio.com
    £61
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.2 miles from Bagan Thande Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£37
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £37
  • Expedia.com
    £39
  • Lol.travel
2.3 miles from Bagan Thande Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£96
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £64
  • Agoda.com
    £54
  • Expedia.com
    £87
4.5 miles from Bagan Thande Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£15
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £15
  • Agoda.com
    £15
2.5 miles from Bagan Thande Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
£54
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £54
  • Agoda.com
    £36
3.8 miles from Bagan Thande Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bungalow!!
£30
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £30
  • Agoda.com
    £30
  • Vio.com
    £30
4.5 miles from Bagan Thande Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £21
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
3.9 miles from Bagan Thande Hotel
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Bagan
Reviews (1,535)
Filter reviews
1,535 results
Traveller rating
500
746
224
43
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
500
746
224
43
22
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
911 - 916 of 1,535 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This was a nice place. Kinda reminded me of summer camp. Each room had a front porch with chairs, and blinds that you could pull down if too sunny.
The rooms were clean, simple, and nothing fancy, but nice enough.
They had music playing until 10:00 pm, so if you want sleep, ask for a room away from the dining area, preferably, with a river view.

Room tip: Book a room with a river view.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BFK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We were 2 days and 2 nights at the Bagan Thande and were given a quad cottage, cluster of 4 units with a neat little verandah! The room we were in was huge and with beautifully white and clean sheets. The bathroom could do with an update thought. Its grounds were well kept, with manicured green grass and gardens. The location is superb, so close to the temple site, and just next to the river.
The swimming pool was a welcome change, where one can unwind after a morning of temple visits...rest and reading under the cool shades.
The wifi almost does not work at certain times of the day.I wish they can improve on this.
We had 2 early mornings of travel, and I am impressed as they were all already ready to feed us by 6.00 a.m. and most mornings were coolish! Decent buffet breakfast, al fresco, which makes the morning wake ups more bearable.
Staff v helpful indeed. Often they are ready with your room keys as you stepped out of your car!! That is real service.
Would love to return to Bagan and this lovely small garden hotel, all except for the Prince of Wales's special house, are single storey.

Room tip: If you can afford some extras, choose the room at the river level, overlooking the river!!
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritakoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Yes, the location on the banks of the Irrawaddy River is stunning. Not much else is. The river view chalets are good enough with large bathrooms and plenty of space. Like everywhere in Burma, lighting is weak in the rooms.

The restaurant has such a great situation under the huge Acacias that it is a pity the food is so average and overpriced with menus better suited to BurgerKing. Best to eat out in the evenings and avoid the daily puppet show.

I also stayed here a year earlier and decided to return because of the location. Since then, they have made a bit of an effort to spruce the place up, the results of which are almost noticeable.

Room tip: Get a river view room even though they are more expensive. The sunsets over the river are lovely.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWNorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed one night end of Dec, standard room no1024 overlooking garden. 110usd, I would say 50 or 60 should be reasonable.
Deluxe riverside rooms can be noisy as boat traffic starts early morning. But otherwise view was nice.
It was spacious room, poorly lit, one bulb in the ceiling. Old fashioned bathroom, where you can find: shampoo, soap, bath gel, comb, toothbrush+paste.
poolside relaxing (till children came :)), sunbeds with mattress, towels provided (sometimes with flower, nice touch).
Laundry+ 1 usd a piece. given before 10 am return same day.

taxi to new Bagan 6000 Ks, short ride (although they might tell its very far 45min- this is not true).
Best to go around bagan is the bike- easiest, fastest, most convenient and cheapest. can stop where and how long you like, distances are short. We are both sporty and fit and I think from NB to old B was ca 15 min if to go direct, but we stopped various pagodas on the way..
We hired the bike outside of the hotel, paid 2500 Ks for a 24h. Price range 2000-4000 Ks.
Horse cart was jumpy and very slow

most of roads a dirt/sand- be prepare that everything is dusty. White clothes can leave home :)

Recommend place to eat: the Moon (be kind to animals), vegetarian, tasty and good service, nice atmosphere, cheap. Can walk from hotel, ca 20 min, note: evening pitch dark,need a torch if walking.

I have added pic of the room and pool area to the review, so you can see how does it look like.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kadi-rei
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I didn't stay as the hotel was full, but did go for lunch one day. The view over the river was very nice, we enjoyed the food and the tranquility sitting in the shade of huge trees. Very nice experience. Rooms look nice from outside, nice garden. Good place to relax.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews