We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent relaxation”
Review of Thande Hotel Bagan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thande Hotel Bagan
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Decent relaxation”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

It's our first time in Bagan and we arrived on a (sleepless) night train from Mandalay. We went direct to see the sunrise then went over to the hotel to see if we could have an early check-in around 8 am despite the fact that we knew that there was little chance of room availability. As expected, our room would not be available until noon so we asked for a shower instead, the stadd were nice enough to let us take a shower at hotel's spa however when we asked for a breakfast that we were willing to pay extra, it didn't seem possible so we went to Bagan River View for a nice breakky for 10$ per person with the River view.

We came back for a drink and at 11am our room was ready. The superior room we stayed were comfortable enough, well equipped.

The restaurant, on the other hand, offers less choices than the hotel next door but with better bar and pool area.

The staff is attentive and smiley and very helpful as well.

In concusion, the stay was pleasant enough for the hot humind summer of Bagan.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beebisbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    589
    162
    30
    9
See reviews for
162
560
125
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The hotel was excellent, we had a river front room which I'd highly recommend as the view from the room across the river was spectacular, although when we were there the river was quite low (April), so its probably even better when the river's higher. The hotel is well laid out across spacious and very well kept and pretty garden grounds. It has a good sized pool with in a quiet part of the grounds with plenty of lounge seats and space. The breakfast was good, large range of buffet options and rotated between the main restaurant which is outside with a river view, lovely, and another area (beneath the royal suite, named after their visit by the Prince of Wales in 1920/30s).

We also loved the location, its a bit quiet and a bit away from the three towns in Bagan (Old Bagan, New Bagan, NyaungU), but you can walk to Old Bagan in around 20mins, or better to hire cycles or e-bikes and you can get to Old Bagan in 5mins, New Bagan in 15-20mins and NyaungU in 20-25mins). We'd highly recommend hiring cycles or even better e-bikes rather than a horse and cart or taxi. The roads are easy, quite quiet and everyone's mindful of each other. We hired 2 e-bikes from the hotel, didn't seem much more expensive than from outside and more convenient, for 2 of our 3 days here. My wife and I drove them and we had or daughters (aged 10 and 12) on the backseats, and just riding slowly around the whole area and visiting the three towns on our e-bikes was the absolute highlight of our whole Myanmar trip. The variety of pagodas/temples is unreal and the whole area is incredibly beautiful, peaceful, spiritual and serene. There's also a good range of charming cafes/restaurants in the area.

Overal we'd highly recommend the hotel, service and atmosphere was superb, and Bagan is a great place to visit.

Room Tip: The river facing rooms are worth the extra cost, and the best ones are probably those on the same le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stonegables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
806 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Sipping a beer at dusk in the garden overlooking the Ayeyarwady, or listening to the boats plying the river in the early morning over breakfast was spectacular. A truly gracious and relaxing sanctuary.

Room Tip: The units overlooking the river are really pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vandieman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed two nights in one of the cheaper rooms at Thande. It was the most expensive hotel we stayed at in Myanmar but still ok value for money. Good restaurant with decent prices and a nice pool. However, as I understand, it's affiliated with the government so you may want to think twice before you book it.
And lastly, the e-bikes that Thande (and many other hotels) rent out are ridiculous, Bagan is almost flat and it's easy to ride around the temples with a normal bike. And it earns you a desert for dinner (given it's much cheaper and provides some exercise).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linz
Level Contributor
218 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Unbeatable location in the archeological zone beside the river. Had a deluxe garden room which was big with a big bathroom and nice terrace - very quiet and relaxing.
Beautiful pool area - you can also get some shade under big trees.
Nice open restaurant and bar area beside the river with the most beautiful sunsets very evening.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eva1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon, Yangon, Myanmar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had chosen Bagan Thande Hotel for our three days trip to Bagan and Nyaung U.We stayed there for two nights.This hotel is very well located along the bank of The Irrawaddy River,We stayed at one of the beautiful bungalows which are nice and clean and also the beds are comfortable.The swimming pool is looked very inviting,surrounded by well kept gardens with multicolour roses and jasmine.The reception is large and airy.We can use wifi there and also on the poolside,but the wifi connection is very poor.Staff are very friendly and very helpful.Buffet breakfast is fantastic under a big Acacia shaded tree,with many choice of both Western and Asian food.The quality of food is not so bad.We can have fresh air and very good riverview while having breakfast.
Overall I would like to recommend that Bagan Thande Hotel is very good.

Room Tip: River side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daw Tint T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quarry Bonk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This is a hotel with history, with some rooms (like ours) looking onto the Irrawaddy river, a wonderful view as you sit outside your room or at the outside bar and restaurant, set under soaring acacia trees. The room is large, as is the bathroom, and quite comfortable. The grounds are lovely and there is nothing to disturb the calm all day and night. The breakfast was reasonable and other meals were OK -- the menus are a little limited but fine for Myanmar at this point. The hotel is ideally suited for walking to a temple or two or as a base to explore further afield. Not cheap but we didn't regret forking out.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffAstle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.2 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
2.6 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 46 in Bagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
3.4 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#7 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
3.1 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
0.9 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thande Hotel Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thande Hotel Bagan

Property: Thande Hotel Bagan
Address: Old Bagan, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thande Hotel Bagan 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have airport transportation service upon request and have internet access as well and free wifi at lobby area though we charge if the guest uses our hotel computer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thande Hotel Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagan Thande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing