We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wake up in no doubt as to where you are!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thazin Garden Hotel
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Wake up in no doubt as to where you are!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This was a charming hotel set among the pagodas for which Bagan is so famous. Right outside my bedroom window was one well maintained pagoda and overlooking the pool were another 3, although they were not actually in the hotel complex. It certainly provided a constant reminder of which special part of the world you were in.

The rooms were large with the furnishing reflecting local materials and crafts. The beds were comfortable. If I recall correctly, this was one of the few hotels I stayed in while I was in Myanmar where the water temperature was spot on for showering within moments of turning on the tap.
A nice touch was the picture made out of petals and its accompanying message left on my bed by the service team.

One downside was I could not find an English speaking channel on the television - no big deal, I just wanted to catch up briefly on the news.
I never succeeded in connecting to wifi in my room. I was able to connect in the hotel reception area but this required an enormous amount of patience and perseverence. Again, not a big issue - those travelling off the beaten track to pioneering destinations have to remain open minded and understanding that infrastructure will not be quite as advanced as it is in other more developed places.

It was located quite a way down a rough track so I was glad we had bicycles and a private bus available to us.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the pagoda
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skatexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    208
    86
    17
    10
See reviews for
63
187
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were booked into this hotel by our Myanmar agent One Stop Travel. We had 2 interconnecting rooms which were lovely, clean, well-decorated and spacious. The location was fine - just off the main road in New Bagan. There are a couple of local restaurants just outside the hotel, and the main road is not far away. We hired 'e-bikes' from the main road just at the top of the access road, which were great for travelling around Bagan and the temples.
The hotel itself is lovely - the staff are really friendly and helpful, the setting quite gorgeous amidst temples and with a nice pool for a welcome dip after trekking around each day. Breakfast OK - you just have to be creative but they had all the basics there (including the buffet eggs any way you like plus nice bread so you can't go wrong). The 'bedroom boys' were highly imaginative in their beautiful creations in our rooms which was a lovely touch (see photos). It definitely reminded me to leave a little something behind for them, which I didn't mind at all! I would have given this place 5 stars but the first night's evening meal unfortunately was a let down. We had the 'set meal' which was pre-booked an hour or so ahead so you would think this was easy for the hotel to cater for. The food just took AGES to arrive (judging by the reactions of the people around us, they had the same problem too) and when it did, it was pretty paltry. We couldn't believe that one dish was actually meant for the 4 of us - it looked enough for one. Shame, as the staff as I say are trying hard to please, they really are. Plus the setting for the evening meal was stunning - right by a stupa! I am sure they just had a hiccup and it will get better. However, rescue is nearby - the next night we ate at one of the more 'local' (but still quite touristy with english menus, and beer of course) restaurants just outside the hotel, called Misan Restaurant. Gorgeous food! Definitely go there! We had the Myanmar food which was excellent. We took a while to discover the amazing salads they make there in Myanmar - make sure you have a tomato salad at every place you go to - sublime!
By the way, wasn't bothered by noise at all at the hotel. Very calm and peaceful. Oh on second thoughts, actually I think there was some temple music going on while we were there on the second day as there was a local festival - maybe full moon celebrations? Didn't bother us though - makes it more atmospheric.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSCandCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summer hill
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel is a little oasis in the temple area of Bagan and a real treat to return to after getting foot sore and weary from a day's temple viewing! The pool and bar area are inviting at the end of such a day. Dinner and drinks on the lawn within metres of your very own flood-lit stupa help you soak up the Bagan atmosphere. The pool could be maintained more frequently to ensure maximum water quality but John the manager will no doubt pick up on this issue and brief his staff! The staff are very attentive and helpful and arrange transport and drivers for your every excursion. Our day excursion driver fussed over us like family and waited while we dined in nearby Nyaung Oo by night. Beautiful rooms are a treat after Yangon's decrepit hotels - very comfortable and spacious set within lush gardens. Breakfasts were good. Massage in the day spa was also very relaxing and cheap. In summary, a great experience and very close to receiving 5 stars from me!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SummerHillKimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This is a beautiful facility, with lush gardens, an Olympic size pool, spacious, well-appointed (and mercifully air-conditioned) rooms, a spa, and very good restaurants. Service is excellent, by all hotel staff. It is a great place to stay while seeing the many sights of Bagan, if a bit off the beaten track from the business district (vehicle or bicycle definitely required).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowdyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel is of 'Lodge' style, very nicely designed with cabins around the gardens. Rooms are big and well appointed and bathrooms fine, if a bit 'tired' in decor. Staff, as in other Myanmar hotels, were helpful and courteous. There is continuous music in the complex, though we did not find it loud or intrusive and that may have been from a local festival. The pillows were very, very hard and uncomfortable. Internet free but intermittent (in fairness it seems quite a remote location).

We ate in the restaurant once (breakfast is in a separate room, and is a fairly predictble but perfectly nice buffet style with freshly cooked eggs) and the food was very good indeed, and the surroundings in the garden with little stupas around also very good; if paying cash, it may be sensible to check the change carefully - we found a little tendency to 'round down' all of the change.

One of our favourite stops on a tour of Burma/Myanmar and close to five TA stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snapdecisions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Rooms were spacious and had nice balcony outside but on our second night (there were 9 of us) we were kept awake by the nighbours playing their radio full blast.
No safety deposit box in rooms either.
Breakfast dining reached by climbing 2 flights of stairs.
However, redeeming features - dinner at night set out on the grass lawn with a small stupa spotlighted in background and a reasonably good 'spa'. Pool nice as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The Thazin Garden Hotel in New Bagan is a short walk from the main road? down an unpaved street. The grounds of the hotel are nicely set out with plenty of greenery and a very welcome large swimming pool. The rooms are large and well maintained and airconditioned. The staff were wonderful complete with smiles and cold towels on return from exploring the thousands of stupas in the area. The breakfast was quite adequate and the hotel is within easy walking distance of many local restaurants. The staff set up a dining table for us on the lawn and the meal was most enjoyable.
This is a very relaxing place in which to spend a few days and since it is off the main road, traffic noise is not a factor.

Room Tip: Rooms are either ground floor or one flight up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Downunder62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
2.8 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#8 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 46 in Bagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arthawka  Hotel
Arthawka Hotel
#9 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
4.4 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#7 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thazin Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thazin Garden Hotel

Property: Thazin Garden Hotel
Address: No.22, Thazin Road, Anawrahta Ward, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thazin Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thazin Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing