We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded our expectations”
Review of Bagan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bagan Lodge
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This lovely new hotel is set on the road away from New Bagan. It really is an oasis of calm amongst the dirt and dust of Bagan - a lovely place to come back to having had a day of visiting the amazing temples of Bagan. The rooms are stylish, spacious and contemporary and the bathroom was the best we had in Burma by far! The food in the restaurant was excellent (prepared by a talented German chef) and we sampled both a lunch and a dinner. The only niggles were intermittent wi-fi (which is a countrywide problem) and that the walls to the next door room are quite thin. Highly recommended and we will return on our next visit to Bagan.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityTraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    185
    37
    4
    3
See reviews for
87
309
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights at this wonderful hotel. Taxi from airport was approx $7 U.S. Hotel is brand new and everything is spotless. Rooms are located in 2 unit single storey dwellings. Rooms are very large with a sitting area, desk, 2 wardrobes, safe and mini bar as well as covered verandah with 2 wicker lounge chairs. Spacious bathroom with double sinks, tub and shower. Toiletries were replenished daily. Pool was spectacular with towels and lounge chairs provided. Poolside bar as well as lobby bar. Open air dining room overlooked the pool. Breakfast was not included in our room rate and was $15.00 person however it was buffet style with many western items. Dinner prices were more reasonable. Food was good.
Spa was very good and reasonably priced, clean and had skilled therapists. Ms. Peerada, the spa manager was very helpful with local knowledge, friendly and her English was excellent. Front desk staff were accommodating and spoke reasonable English.
Wifi was available in rooms however as with most of Myanmar (except Yangon) connectivity was spotty. if you are lucky and are up early, you will have an opportunity to see the Balloons over Bagan pass by the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the pool are more central
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankCovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is an impressive new property . But it's location away from the centre makes it difficult to walk around which meant we stayed back to eat at their restaurant which could definitely do with more things on the menu . The rooms were very well appointed but the water from the shower leaked all over the bathroom and made it a mess .

Room Tip: Definitely check if the shower water leaks !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaganLodgeGM, General Manager at Bagan Lodge, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear AnitaA,

Thanks for your review about Bagan Lodge. We are happy to inform you that since your stay with us last year, our team has been working hard to correct the issues that you mention! The water issue with the shower has been fixed for a while and we have also seen our menu grow. For the F&B operation, we wanted to start modestly to ensure we were able to maintain quality and we planned to expand our menu and train the teams both in the kitchen and the front of house at a conservative pace. We apologize if the range of dishes at the time of your stay wasn’t complete and we failed to live up to your expectation. We hope we have another chance to welcome you back again so you can see how we have grown!

We really appreciate the positive feedback within your review and thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

The Bagan Lodge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The hotel is new (some units still being built). It is lodge style, with two rooms joined together. Perfect for families who need adjoining rooms. The rooms are spacious with a seating area, front porch complete w/ recliners and a large bath. Black out curtains ensure a good night's sleep and help keep out the heat. The staff is friendly and the front desk speaks very good English.
Loved the spa - Great value for the money. Three 60 minute massages and a 60 minute foot massage - total bill (including s.c.) US$170.
Happy hour - 5-7. 2 for 1 selected drinks. Not watered down like some places.
Nice pool and seating area around the pool.

On the other hand....the internet was slow and sometimes nonexistent. (Hotel or internet provider? Not sure)
The food was so so. While we enjoyed breakfast but dinner was average. One of my complaints was the fruit - the melon and pineapple was hard, tasteless, not quite ripe.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaganLodgeGM, General Manager at Bagan Lodge, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear MMHongKong,

We appreciate your feedback about the services and facilities from your recent stay at Bagan Lodge. It’s always nice to receive both positive and constructive feedback.

The internet service in Bagan is at an all time slow at the moment due to the traffic congestion with an antiquated system in the township that is also regrettably under repair. Significant investment is underway at the moment from our side for an improved service and we are only waiting for the cable to be laid. We will soon likely have the best and fastest internet service in Bagan and be very grateful for this! Hope you have the chance to come back and test this and enjoy our massage experience and service again soon.

Sincerely,

The Bagan Lodge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is a very nice hotel with great staff. Although not close to town (not much is), the location is good. It is relatively close to the airport and in a quiet area. The hotel itself is very pretty with a good bar and restaurant. The only negative was the low water pressure in the shower, although others in our group did not have this problem.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This hotel completely exceeded my expectations and was one of my top two favorite hotels in my latest trip to Asia. Two things stroke me the most: the rooms and staff. The rooms are huge, very tastefully decorated and with a lot of amenities. The bathroom was memorable and also gigantic. My favorite thing of all the room features was the 'rain' shower. The front desk staff was very attentive and welcoming. They helped to book a night bus ride to Yangon and also were friendly. The other thing that I loved about the hotel was the pool. It is very pretty and clean and very pleasing after a long day of temples and walking/cycling. Another good thing was that my booking didn't included breakfast and they didn't charge for it at checkout when I mention it.

The only down sides are: (1) the property is a bit retired from the main sites, on the outer skirts of New Bagan. You can get to New Bagan by walking around 10-15 minutes or trying to get a ride in one of horse carts. If this place was more centrally located it would've been perfect. But even with its retired location there are some pretty secondary temples in front of the hotel.

(2) The price is a bit high but I don't regret paying it and unfortunately most hotels in Bagan are overpriced so its price is not truly an outlier.

I must also comment that when I stayed in the hotel has opened just two months before. I hope that the good conditions and attention to guests continue as is and this is not lost after the hotel gets more mature.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfkaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaganLodgeGM, General Manager at Bagan Lodge, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear pfkaa,

From all of us at Bagan Lodge, our sincere thanks for taking the time to write this review of your recent experience at our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with all of the teams. It’s very positive to read that you enjoyed the design of the rooms. We receive many positive comments about the rain shower and the pool as being greatly appreciated after a day exploring the dusty temples and surrounds. Thank you for the additional comments about the front desk team and the staff in general.

Regarding our location, it’s actually surprising how small the surrounds of Bagan are (the map that is circulated isn’t to an accurate scale). To go by bicycle or cart as you mention (or on foot) through the pathways, instead of following the roads, takes you fairly quickly into old Bagan. Additionally, from some of the feedback we have received from guests staying directly amongst the temples, at certain times during the month, the traditional chanting and different festivals can find you up all night. We are near enough and far enough away, to ensure you a good nights sleep with us!

Thank you again for your comments and we do hope that you have the opportunity to return in the future to see that the good conditions and attention to guests will not only continue but also improve (as is our aim).

Sincerely,

The Bagan Lodge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Bagan Lodge for 2 nights and we loved it. The rooms are incredibly spacious , the breakfast buffet was sumptuous ( a lovely setting beside the pool) and the spa was simply superb. Had an aromatic massage and was really refreshing . Though the lodge is new ( just about 6 months old ) the staff were extremely courteous and helpful ! Of course wifi is patchy at the hotel though of course we learnt later that wifi is extremely poor all over Bagan!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pratkrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
3.1 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
2.6 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#8 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
3.6 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#7 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagan Lodge

Property: Bagan Lodge
Address: Myat Lay Road | New Bagan, Bagan 22290, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bagan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of an archaeological wonderland, Bagan Lodge is gateway to some of the world's most magnificent temples and pagodas. Our rooms and suites evoke the romance of a storied expedition, albeit in extravagant, air-conditioned comfort. Our restaurant and bars are fuel to the fire of local adventure, and our swimming pool and spa are an oasis any time of day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bagan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing