We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great suite, pretty property, so-so service and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
217 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great suite, pretty property, so-so service and food”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The property is lovely, looking out over the river, with very nice gardens and a very pretty (slightly chilly) pool. Well located, walking/biking distance to some very interesting pagodas and near an entrance to old Bagan. Although not generally one to walk to dinner, its not that convenient to the town. The reception area is lovely and pretty efficient getting everyone moving in and out. Lunch and dinner in the dry season is outside on a lovely patio overlooking the river, with local music. The atmosphere is better than the food, which was a little boring, with little choice unless one wanted a 3 or 4 course dinner. There was also an odd reservation system, if you did not make a reservation you were treated a little as a second class guest. And some of the reserved tables never seemed to get used at all--which was even more irritating.There is a bar that is pleasant at night but dark for breakfast. Breakfast was a little skimpy and boring. Service throughout was a little slow and it seemed to often be necessary to look for the waiter, or order taker. It was not unfriendly but I think the word aloof used by another reviewer is about right.
On the other hand, our suite was terrific. It was one of the River View Suites and indeed had a very large patio that looked over the gardens and the river to the sunset. With comfortable chairs, and a table for eating it was a great place to watch the sunset and read at days end. Inside the suite were 3 separate rooms, but with shuttered openings between them to bring in the light. A nice sitting room with tv, desk, couch and mini fridge and bar, a separate bedroom area and a very large bathroom with separate tub, shower and double sinks. Dark wood and a very comfortable colonial feel. It was lovely with all the amenities you could want and set off a little so as to be private. I really enjoyed that splurge..
We did use the spa and both my husband and I got very good massages in a pleasant setting.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago60604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    376
    136
    37
    17
See reviews for
133
384
34
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Spent two weeks in Myanmar and this was our best hotel. We stayed with two young children. Pool was fantastic. Food was very good, service was great room was large. Rooms could use a little modernizing but that is every room in Myanamar except maybe some of the recently refurbished hotels like Traders in Yangon. Setting on the river is beautiful, grounds are beautiful. We were in a garden view bungalow. BEWARE there are standard hotel rooms in a different section of the hotel these are horrible. We spoke with people staying in them long term for the tourist season and they claimed they had rats and all kinds of other problems. Stay away from that part of the resort and you will be fine. Other people say it is far away from stuff; unless you want to walk to restaurants it is fine. Short cheap horse cart or car ride anywhere in Bagan. We loved it. Would recommend it to anyone. We used the babysitting service so we could take a balloon ride. It was great, we were able to introduce the kids the day before to the two ladies. Hotel policy is one babysitter per child and the ladies spoke fantastic english. Both me and my wife used the spa, great service. We requested baby cots at all the hotels we stayed at in Myanmar this was the only place where the cot was actually safe. It was sturdy all wood construction. a 200lb man could have slept in the thing. In most other hotels they were death traps. The grounds were great for the kids to run around on and the pool had a small baby pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tareyton98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina Beach & Florida Gulf
Level Contributor
196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

What a dump. I have no idea what we paid for the room because our travel agent booked it (Santa Marie) and told us we were staying in a Deluxe Pagoda View Room. I checked out the reviews here at Tripadvisor last August and thought things looked good. I was not aware there are several types of rooms. Upon arrival at the reception area and looking at the lovely pool and cabanas to the left we were quite excited to see our room. Well, we were led down a path to the right that took us to a two story apartment building that look like a leftover from 1960's. As soon as the porter opened the door I knew we had been taken. Even now, looking at their web site and seeing the photos of the type of room I am in, I assure you the pictures are better than the reality. The room is large with a too big sitting room. The furniture is newer than 1960,perhaps 1980 and it hasn't been cleaned. It is stained and torn. We may have gotten sick just by sitting on it. The drapes are barely hanging. The wood furniture is heavily dinged. It appears we were in the "suckers" compound. The people next to us were renters, as in long term. Each night I could smell their cooking and hear their baby. It honestly looked like the owners of the lodge were waiting for it to be demolished or blown down and thus not going to put any money into it. A heavy sprucing up could have redeemed it a bit. I never saw another hotel guest head our way after dinner each night. Speaking of dinner, you are stuck there each night as it is too far from anything else. The food was OK but service was awful. I seem to think while reading TA reviews posted while we were there that perhaps the staff had just been replaced and thus all were new. Breakfast was OK. Back to the room, sorry, it really put a damper on our visit to Bagon, the shower was constructed such that the tub sill flooded and poured onto the floor. The shower curtain should have been replaced in 1990 at least once by now...very dirty and moldy. I highly recommend all future travelers to find some where else to stay. If you are tempted to stay here read all the reviews in the prior six months. I see that similar things are being said by others. The room we had would be perfect for young backpackers who want to put about 6 people in the room and spread out. Watch out for the linoleum floor which is dirty, chipped and scuffed. On a good word, we did have a view of a pagoda and the grounds were nice out our window.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

A modern riverside hotel, with most rooms in chalets. A few have views over the river. Rooms are fine. All hotel facilities are by the entrance, there seemed to be little information in the rooms. The staff at the reception seemed unwilling to help much.
Breakfast was OK, though a bit limited.

We thought the restaurant food was good, even though other views differed. The restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful.
Wi-fi never seemed to be working.

Swimming pool was good, but a bit cool. Lovely views of the sunsets from there though.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leedsdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
708 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here for four nights. Our room was rather spartan but clean and comfortable. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with lots of blooming flower beds. Our room came with a small deck and loungers facing the river. The great for watching sunsets but hot for reading in the afternoon sun.

The staff was always courteous and friendly. The wifi is useless. We were warned that credit cards were dicey so we paid before bedtime on our last night. The charge went through on the first attempt.

We found the breakfast buffet more than adequate with the exception of the lack of orange juice. The evening meals on the terrace were all very good. The wine is more reasonably priced than we found in other parts of SE Asia.

The location requires some kind of transport to go anywhere so you feel bound to their services but that didn't bother us. We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room,they seem to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneAddictedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

A private and quiet place perfect for couples. At night, you can see thousands of stars in the beautiful garden beside river. The breakfast is also good, especially the coffee tasted nice.

The name for the hotel is very hard to remember, you can just call it sakura and every local knows that.

Location is not very convenient, around the hotel is nothing, and it is about 25-minute horse carriage drive to the popular restaurant area in old Bagan.

And the wifi inside the room is not very reliable, sometimes it didn't work. Also there is leak of water in bathroom. They seems dissatisfying in terms of a luxury hotel like this.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VenaMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The Thiripyitsaya’s location is breath-taking: a huge riverfront property right on the Ayeyarwaddy. Dining by candlelight on the hotel’s huge dining terrace, overlooking the river and the lit pagodas on the other side, is magical. We splurged on a riverview suite, and for two nights enjoyed magnificent sunsets from our own private balcony, glasses of wine in hand.

But the Thiripyitsaya also comes with some negatives. Despite the hotel’s claims, there is no WiFi, either in the rooms or in the lobby. As a practical matter, you have to pay in cash.

Also, the staff seemed to us somewhat standoffish – certainly not as helpful or personable as the staffs at our other two hotels in Myanmar, the Governor’s Residence and the Rupar Mandalar.

Our riverview suite was spacious and first-class in every respect. The cuisine at dinner is excellent, but breakfasts, served in a drab, gloomy space, are skimpy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.2 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#8 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 46 in Bagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
3.5 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#7 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort

Property: Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
Address: Bagan Archaeological Zone, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bagan
#6 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagan Thiripyistaya Sanctuary Resort is situated on the banks of the Irrawaddy, Myanmar's river of history and legend. The Resort sprawls over 24 acres of landscaped gardens, which is home to mature tropical trees and flowering plants, as well as native birds and a number of small tame animals. Every morning our gorgeous peacocks, Myanmar's national bird, go for a walk in our garden. Oriented towards the west, the Resort revels in panoramic river views, glorious sunsets and silver moonglow, and a pervading atmosphere of profound peace, warmth and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Hotel Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing