We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good service,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights and it was a pleasant stay with beautiful grounds nice swimming pool and nice accommodations. The room was nice but didn't have a dresser and with two singles the room was a bit small with lack of luggage space but with good service, good restaurant and excellent location 10 minutes walking from the sunset stupa. The wifi is more on the poor side but with everything else it compensated. Good value.

Room Tip: The sun sets across the river a river view would be recommended.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zato1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
There are newer reviews for Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed in a deluxe river view room and it certainly had wonderful views over the gardens and towards the river. However the room itself was very simple (to be kind!). The hotel setting is very beautiful, with well tended gardens and a huge swimming pool overlooking the river. We ate in the hotel each evening (sitting outside) and found the food to be very good. If you just need a base to explore Bagan for a couple of days then I think the hotel is absolutely fine - I do tend to agree with another reviewer that this could be a stunning 5* resort if the chalets were completely replaced to a higher standard - however that would also undoubtedly make it more expensive and Burmese prices are already high!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Diana014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We had a delightful stay in a beautiful quiet setting.
The hotel was lovely and the service great.
The food eas excellent.
The swimming pool is glorious
The bed was comfortable and the room large.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort is well run, the food is quite good, the pool is excellent. WiFi is poor and the resort uses way too much bug spray. Considering where we were in the world the resort was a very good value.

Room Tip: Don't use the AC at night. The insecticide is sucked into the rooms...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BroadmeadTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had 2 nights here, and the location really makes the place. Our river view room was perhaps a bit further from the river than we might have liked, but we could see it! The room however was quite disappointing, small and hardly anywhere to unpack clothes. A small hanging area reminiscent of Travelodge, but no drawers or shelving to speak of. The bed was actually more comfortable than it looked, but we were disappointed with the size of the room. The location of the hotel is good though so this does make up for it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Bagan is wonderful but the Thiripyitsaya was a major disappointment. The riverside location has such potential that - if I were the owner - I would bite the bullet, raze all the rooms and start again.

The grand-looking entrance gives a very misleading impression of the chalet-type accommodation beyond. Having read the Tripadvisor reviews before booking, our expectations weren't high but even so they were way off the mark. Essentially, we paid a lot for a "de luxe river view room" that made a Butlins chalet look luxurious and had only a partial view of the Irrawaddy. The bedroom was dark, damp, shabby and not very clean with low, uncomfortable beds, poor quality sheets etc and nowhere to sit. It was also the only room in Burma where we were bitten by mosquitos while the bathroom was the worst we encountered during our month long trip.

The food was truly awful - on our first morning we took one look at the breakfast buffet and decided we'd rather go without. Dinner wasn't much better - we should have eaten elsewhere but the hotel is quite a distance from the centre of Bagan.

The only redeeming features were the large garden and pool. The garden is beautifully maintained (if only they took as much care over the rooms/food) and a perfect place at sunset. The pool is big and very clean but let down by tatty loungers, threadbare towels and the staff's inability to clear away glasses and plates.

Our "Balloons Over Bagan" pilot said the Aureum has better food/rooms - we thought it would look more inviting when the landscaping has matured and it's also some way from the centre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoofWoof133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This Resort is located in the Bagan Archaeological Zone and is beautifully sited. The grounds, room, and public areas are well done. The service and food at this hotel needs to be improved.

Something personal was missing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.2 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 47 in Bagan
1,212 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
1.1 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#6 of 47 in Bagan
769 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
2.4 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 47 in Bagan
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort

Address: Bagan Archaeological Zone, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bagan
#6 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
Price Range: £57 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagan Thiripyistaya Sanctuary Resort is situated on the banks of the Irrawaddy, Myanmar's river of history and legend. The Resort sprawls over 24 acres of landscaped gardens, which is home to mature tropical trees and flowering plants, as well as native birds and a number of small tame animals. Every morning our gorgeous peacocks, Myanmar's national bird, go for a walk in our garden. Oriented towards the west, the Resort revels in panoramic river views, glorious sunsets and silver moonglow, and a pervading atmosphere of profound peace, warmth and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Hotel Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing