We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lives up to its name” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amazing Bagan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amazing Bagan Resort
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Newark upon Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lives up to its name”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

The Amazing Bagan Resort truly lives up to its name and we just loved the gentle, quiet atmosphere after Yangon. Our room was just gorgeous and the facilities everywhere were excellent, including breakfast and dining. It was too hot for bikes (40 degrees) so we took a horse and cart which the hotel organised for us and explored the wonderful surrounds. The hotel is a bit outside Bagan, so you need transport to go into town, but we did not find that an issue and we appreciated the peacefulness. Pool was fabulous and we also enjoyed a very good massage. All in all very relaxing and quite amazing!

Room Tip: We had a double room in the main hotel and it was large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    307
    88
    21
    9
See reviews for
106
348
63
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed for two nights in this hotel in February 2013. It was always very pleasant to come back to Amazing Bagan Hotel after the day spent among Bagan temples. The hotel swimming pool was a very relaxing place. We enjoyed evening walks to Nyuangshwe restaurants and bars (about 15 minutes walk, well lighted and safe). One remark for golfers - there is an interesting picturesque golf course located several hundred meters from the hotel (pretty dry but what else would you expect during the dry season in Burma?)

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank blackfielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent 3 nights there, as a basis to visit the Bagan area, including temples and pagodas.

The hotel is clean and nice, with all basic facilities that you may expect from a resort. The breakfast is good, but we found the food served at diner quite expensive (for Burma's standards) and average. It's better to use a bike and ride down for about 10 minutes to a small street near by to get some good simple local cuisine.

Please note that this hotel is outside the new Bagan town, but well located for visiting all temples and pagodas located on the plateau of the old Bagan. Using the bikes, offered by the resort, is a good way to discover the temples (if you don't mind the heat).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kakac94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

A beautiful oasis in hot, dusty Bagan!
We stayed for 3 nights and had plenty of time to explore the stunning temples using the hotel's complimentary bikes (although check the condition of the bikes before you take it out for the day as some were better than others).
The lovely pool made for the perfect retreat during the hot midday sun and all other facilities were excellent, including the breakfast buffet.
We chose to take the hotel's car from Mandalay Airport which was an enlightening experience through many villages. It took about 4 hours but we preferred to do this than wait around in Mandalay Airport. The roads can be a little treacherous with dusty tracks and interesting driving techniques but we found it very rewarding overall as we got to see a little bit more of the country rather than simply flying everywhere.
Nawe in the Amazing Hotels' Head Office arranged all transfers plus our hotel in Inle Lake (Paramount Inle Resort, part of the same group) she also put us in touch with airline offices to book our flights. She was so helpful in planning our trip and always followed up to reconfirm everything.
We would recommend this hotel plus Paramount Inle Resort as fantastic places to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingGe0rdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We felt a bit misled by the reviews. The hotel is perfectly decent, good service, clean enough with a lovely pool. The food and restaurant need a lot of improvement because the breakfast is average and the cleanliness is poor. The hotel is quite a distance from anything significant in bagan, and we felt a little stranded, especially when we wanted a good meal.

Room Tip: bungalows by the pool are much nicer than rooms in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights while we explored the wonderful temples of Bagan. So we thoroughly appreciated the cool hotel with wide balconies. The hotel is set some distance away from the town and from the road, so is quiet and in a rural area.
The entrance is most attractive and the staff welcoming. The restaurant was pleasant and the food reasonable, though we only ate one breakfast and one dinner at the hotel.

The rooms were large, attractive and comfortable, but had extremely poor lighting. That seems to be the case in many hotels in Myanmar, but it does make reading almost impossible.
Also, although Wifi was supposed to be available, not only in the rooms, but in the reception area, nowhere in the hotel was it available for the two days we were there, including in the special "Wi Fi computer room"
These two factors made staying there less relaxing than it should have been after a day spent on the dusty plains of Bagan in March.

Room Tip: Due to the location, do not stay here without available transport to go elsewhere or be prepared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAGGEDNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a tour booked with a local tour agency. Hotel room was absolutely stunning, had a great resort feel to it, staff were friendly and helpful. I'm amazed that people are complaining about it, given that this is Myanmar, a country that is just opening up to the world, you can't expect a Ritz Carlton standard of hotel just yet. I thought the hotel was brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gryphon1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
3.4 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#6 of 44 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
4.0 mi away
Blue Bird Hotel
Blue Bird Hotel
#1 of 44 in Bagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#2 of 44 in Bagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
3.9 mi away
Arthawka  Hotel
Arthawka Hotel
#7 of 44 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazing Bagan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazing Bagan Resort

Property: Amazing Bagan Resort
Address: Nyaung Oo Township | Bo Myat Tun Tower, Bagan 009561, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bagan
#5 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#6 Family Hotel in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amazing Bagan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing Bagan Resort is located adjacent to the Bagan Nyaung Oo Golf Club. 10 minutes away from Old Bagan and most of the sightseeing points. Only 5 minutes from the Bagan Nyaung Oo Airport.The Amazing Bagan Resort promises each guest with unsurpassed ambiance and personalized service altered to the individual's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Amazing Bagan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazing Bagan Hotel Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing