We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Bagan is not to be missed and the Tharabar is a great choice. It's nicely designed and well landscaped, and within biking and walking distance of many temples (they rent bikes). You can also take a horse drawn carriage from the hotel, or hire a driver. The onsite restaurant only adds to the convenience. The Tharabar is not "over the top" but it is completely adequate, a good value, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

Over 66% of the hotel was being rennovated when we were there in July 2012 so any future guests should get an even better experience than we had.

As prior reviewers have said this is perfectly located for easy walking or horse carts to the Bagan temples. Some of the farthest temples could require a car but there is enough to see within horse cart distance to satisfy two full days. Horse carts cost about $25 for a full day. Bycycles are available for rent from the hotel but the sandy cart tracks could make cycling tough.

About a mile away the Arawaddy views (which this hotel does not have) are also spectacular so if you plan to spend a lot of time within the hotel walls this hotel may not be your best choice - rather choose a river view hotel - but for temple convenience this is great.

There are several restaurants within 100 yards of the main entrance to the Hotel so no need to stay within the hotel for food - the dining room looked bland and we never ate there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Thiis is one of those hotels, common at stunning sights the world over, that obviously thinks it has little to do except switch on the lights because the surrounding attractions will keep the tourist sheep streaming in. There is NOTHING special about this hotel. Those who praise it are obviously used to hostel budget type accomodation. Here's what this hotel would have to do if tomorrow it were to be suddenly transported to suburban Yangon:- Renovate the rundown tired looking rooms, Clean the pool, offer a decent breakfast buffet, replace the unfriendly front desk staff, lower its prices. The only great thing about this place is its location. It's stunningly convenient to all the major temples. it's the only reason to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascali2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We were in Bagan in April. We loved this location, loved the people from the neighboring village and loved the restaurants nearby. The service was good and fair. The pool was closed when we arrived ( apparently this is not uncommon if it has rained recently) and I was upset by it. I booked the hotel in part because it had a pool for my kids to unwind after a hot day sightseeing. They offered various amenities to make up for it. Eventually it opened and all was right.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Stay here for 3 nights during June period.

Room is spacious and good. Good greenery around hotel.

Food wise in term of choice for b/f is ok only. Never eat-in for lunch or dinner due to travelling out most of the time.

Great starting point to tour around all the Pagodas.

Try to help around children outside the hotel selling hand-drawn postcard if you can. They have very pleasant character and manage to visit one of the children home so that my kid can appreciate life better.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pctan202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This hotel had mixed reviews on some elements so we were a little unsure prior to arriving. As it turned out I was very happy with the place, even the much maligned breakfast that has had so many poor reviews was better than expected. I admit, the breakfast selection is not as good as it should be but the individual elements were good and they had fresh eggs as you like them with some pretty good coffee so I was set.

The first impression of this place was very good, great gardens and wonderful staff as well as a huge and very comfortable room.

The wifi is slow but works in the places it is meant to, so that was ok, the location is spot on in my opinion, some good restaurants nearby as discussed in most reviews and walking distance to the very best of Bagans jewels. There are some great horse and cart guides right out the front as well which we used daily- chep nd very knowledgable about everything

The restaurant is expensive but all the good hotels we stayed in in Myanmar were the same and around the world for that matter. We did grab a toasted sandwich and some juice one night when we were worn out and it was nice -28 dollars though

The pool was very nice to refresh in - yes it's murky for some reason but they are continually cleaning it and tending to it so I can only think it's the water nearby

The roads around this place are lined with big trees shading the way to walk around which I love in the morning and was a treat.

The massage is a like everywhere in Myanmar, expensive, 36 dollars for an our oil massage, I didn't try it but if you think that's not too bad, it's meant to be good.

All in all, I was very happy with this place nd would recommend it.

Room Tip: The gardens are very nice so even in the worst case, you will just need to stroll a little further
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank p_alewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here in June and we found it a lovely oasis during a hectic schedule in Myanmar. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful at all times, and we even saw the Manager several times - seeing a Manager seemed to be a bit of a rare event in Myanmar - especially if you want to make a complaint about anything. Of all the hotels we stayed at in this country, this came out tops by far. The swimming pool attendant rushed to put out mattresses and towels when he saw us approaching the pool - lovely touch. The rooms were large with high ceilings and the bedding was excellent and the bed comfortable. Would recommend this hotel any time to everyone.

Room Tip: I think all rooms in this hotel are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
2.7 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 50 in Bagan
671 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort
0.9 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#9 of 50 in Bagan
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
2.6 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#6 of 50 in Bagan
802 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aye Yar River View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Tharabar Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Tharabar Gate

Address: Near Tharabar Gate | Old Bagan Nyaung Oo Township, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
Price Range: £124 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel at Tharabar Gate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel at Tharabar Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tharabar Gate
Tharabar Gate Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing