We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
KENT
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“superb position”
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Superb postion right opposite Ananda pagoda. We were there at the annual festival so Karaoke noise until 4 am every night AND hotel fumigated nightly. BUT festival added a special something so worth the noise!
Food very nice especially the breakfasts

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stugletKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    507
    125
    21
    11
See reviews for
156
575
85
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Tharabar Gate is the perfect place to visit Bagan. You just have to rent a bike and access all the main temples in 5 min. The hotel by itself is nice as well as the rooms (large and very comfy). Breakfast is fantastic!!! But the restaurant is depressing and always empty...better go to very close local restaurants. Swimming pool is beautiful too but very cold!
Overall, this is the place to go to enjoy Bagan.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Excellent location, clean rooms & bathrooms and unimaginative decor. The quality of the food left much to be desired.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phineas_fogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Quaint, sophisticated and delightful. Strategically located near to Ananda in Old Bagan but then everything in Bagan is a 10 mins drive or a 20 mins horse cart ride. Rooms are large, tastefully done. Bathrooms well appointed though at times they run out of warm water and then it takes at least an hour for the water to heat up. The staff requires to be more fluent in English but they are mostly polite and perceptive.

If there is anything that requires serious attention it is the food. The breakfast is well haphazard. The arrangement in open air garden in hot sun is neither enjoyable nor convenient. They should seriously invest in contemporary food warmers where the lids do not fall off. The Dinner menu is exorbitant by Myanmar standards. In fact even the hotel staff will guide you to restaurants nearby if you ask for suggestions. Two restaurants Sarabha 1 and 2 is filled with Hotel guests at dinner time

The swimming pool is just a paddle pool, in my 4 days stay I did not see anyone swimming, you will reach the other end in just three strokes.

In a nutshell it was a pleasant stay, but with a property as delightful as Thabar Gate one can do much more. The staff definitely needs to be more informative. We asked for suggestions about hotels serving local food, places to buy handicraft and got no tangible response.

Will I come back? If I ever go back to Bagan- Maybe

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddhakkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

A wonderful hotel, beautiful grounds, staff who are there to make your stay memorable and food of a high quality. We really enjoyed staying here and found it an ideal base from which we could return from various expeditions including; visits to temples, cruising down the Irrewaddy at sunset to an early morning balloon ride over the stunningly interesting temples.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazzerDorsetUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

This is exactly the sort of place you want to discover in just such a location as glorious Pagan, where during my trip there 33 years ago, there was only one sadly ugly hotel, now called the Sakura something. The Tharabar Gate is secluded , lush and private, and tastefully designed and landscaped, with rooms as fully equipped as one could expect from rural Burma.. The staff are sweet, unpretentious, funny and as obliging as they possibly can. Their recommended horsecart guide, Mr. Min-Too, is brilliant, and delightfully philosophical and detailed in his descriptions of the various sites. Breakfast buffets at the hotel are tasty but confused, and afternoon and evening food at their very pleasant restaurant (open air) is quite agreeable. However, the most pleasant discovery in town is the extraordinary Indian restaurant oddly named Aroma 2, on Restaurant Row. Operated by a genial older Indian and his refreshingly at ease family, their food is a superb display of creative cooking based on traditional Indian, and very much apart from the blah Indian fare one finds throughout Burma. The Tharabar Gate desk will hire a horse cart to get you there and back. You can also book hot air balloon rides at the Tharabar, although they are extremely costly and a visual nuisance above such a stupendous panorama of elegant ruins.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marintraveler076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2011

I would unequivocally and enthusiastically recommend this resort to anyone visiting Bagan. The property itself is beautiful and well maintained. Rooms are spacious and well-appointed and the property is very serene. While elsewhere in Bagan it seemed a bit more arid and dusty, the grounds at the Hotel were lush and serene. The staff was incredibly kind and helpful and the hotel's management was very gregarious and affable.

I spent new year's eve at The Hotel and although I was skeptical of the mandatory NYE dinner/celebration (i.e., had to pay for it), I was very impressed by the sand dune dinner and countdown back at the hotel. I'd highly recommend the dinner if available at any other time of the year-- it was beautiful.

The only semi-criticisms I had of The Hotel are the following:

1. the crowd there seemed to consist mostly of older couples. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but more of an FYI. Could be a good thing if you're looking to avoid the backpacker crowd. Backpackers creep me out, so I was fine with this.

2. While the food was good (esp. the breakfast spread), I found that The Hotel (like most places in Bagan) offered food that seemed to focus a little too much on accommodating Western and East Asian palates rather than offering something that might be considered more traditionally Burmese. Again, this is not a major criticism, but more of an FYI. As noted, this seemed to be the case at most places I ate in Bagan.

In all, I would say this was an excellent place to stay and would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JButtermilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTharabar, General Manager at The Hotel at Tharabar Gate, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Dear JButtermilk,

thanks for your review of your stay at our Hotel, which has captured my full attention. Rest assured that I will share your satisfaction and candid remarks with the staff. I am glad to see that you enjoyed our New Years Celebration and appreciated our efforts to make your Start into 2011 a memorable one.

As a matter of fact we are not looking to attract the Backpack traveler,as many other hotels in Bagan are better equipped for that and cater to this tourism sector. We see ourselves more in the luxury Boutique resort segment and are striving to cater to the clientele that appreciates this style of Hotel.
However having said that, the limited customer coming to Bagan in general is a bit more well traveled and mostly in advanced age. I certainly hope this will change in the near future and Bagan will see more tourism in general.

I fully understand your comments on the choice of menu , and will discuss the menu selection with the Chef while even we try to balance the menu including Burmese dishes a lot of customers require a stronger selection on the Western Side after traveling for quite some time in Myanmar. It seems that most of the guest have tried a lot of Burmese dishes during their stay in Myanmar and are looking forward for a familiar Western or Asian dish when they arrive in Bagan.

Again I do appreciate your comments which are for us highly important to ensure we do cater to every guest needs, and helps us to develop our staff and Management team to render the perfect service.
We would be thrilled to welcome you back again as our guest in the future.

Kindest Regards from the ancient city of Bagan,

Christian Markert-Bourdon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
0.9 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#8 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 46 in Bagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
3.0 mi away
Blue Bird Hotel
Blue Bird Hotel
#2 of 46 in Bagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#7 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Tharabar Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Tharabar Gate

Property: The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
Address: Near Tharabar Gate | Old Bagan Nyaung Oo Township, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#3 Family Hotel in Bagan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel at Tharabar Gate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel at Tharabar Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tharabar Gate
Tharabar Gate Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing