We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with big pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Myanmar Treasure Resort Bagan
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with big pool”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Last week I stayed 2 nights at this 3-star hotel which is located in the outskirts of New Bagan.
Next to the hotel you see a couple of the almost 2.800 temples which grace the area.
The rooms are not that big and don't have a balcony. They are clean and comfortable and the bathrooms have a bath with shower. Very big swimming pool which is nice after a day visiting temples. Small bar next to the pool and an air conditioned restaurant which is nicely decorated. The staff is very friendly although their English is limited. It is about 10 minutes by car to the Old Bagan area but temples can be seen everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmotionsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    136
    61
    15
    4
See reviews for
36
111
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yangon, Myanmar
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

When I first arrived I was greeted by a smiling doorman, a chilled glass of freshly squeezed pineapple juice, and a cold towel. All signs of a good hotel.

The grounds are well kept and the men constantly walking around with ladders and pruning shears attest to that. The rooms are well maintained and comfortable. All of the staff who I interacted with were very sweet and helpful. They seemed to know the drill and nothing phased them. While there breakfast switched between a set menu (eggs, toast, fruit, juice, coffee) and a buffet, no complaints there. After a day of walking around in the sun the hotel's pool is a wonderful place to cool off and relax. If you walk out of the hotel and turn left there is a small grocery store and fruit vendor nearby where you can get fantastic mangoes (about 5 for 0.50 USD) and snacks to take with you as you travel around the ruins which make this area famous.

The walls are paper thin. While staff move around silently it seemed that if the only other person staying around me was located all the way down the hall I could hear their conversations and knew when they flushed their toilet. When I asked about the cost to hire a horse cart to take me to and from a pagoda to see the sunset I was given the estimate that it would cost around 40 USD, a price that is absolutely ludicrous.

This is a good hotel. There is thought put into the details. The reason why I will not return here is due to the fact that the owner has serious ties with the old military. Still waiting to see if reforms will hold and if true change is occurring. For the old timers (like the owner) I do not believe such changes of heart are in the cards. There are other options in Bagan which will allow you to travel without helping the military and that are very nice hotels to. For the conscious traveling, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungExplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I did not have any bad experince at this hotel, but I felt that the hotel and the staff was very average. The staff don't smile much. The food was ok. It felt weird that we were the only ones eating dinner at the hotel resturant and the waiters were standing so close to us the whole time. The interior decor in the room was ok. Did not have any "wows". I would probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Nice localation, average room standard and staff service. Nice pool. No knowledge about cocktail. The order become someting else. Spa treatment was a disaster. Overbooking,unorganised and chattering and uneducated girls. When complaining no apolygy or reduction of fee.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ingah22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The loud music began before 6am every day. It came from an adjacent site, but woke us every day of our short stay. Breakfast was not good: unless you were there when the restaurant opened in the morning, you ran the risk of having very little to eat: nothing was replenished for later arrivals. There were many staff milling around in the restaurant, but none of them appeared to be actively engaged in service. Other guests warned us that the restaurant was also poor in the evening so we chose to dine elsewhere: the hotel organised a taxi to Old Bagan for us, which was a particularly expensive option - and the driver spent the entire meal walking round and round the outdoor restaurant waiting for us to finish the meal. All in all, pretty dire.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fosciandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckand
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel in March this year. It was a lovely little oasis of colour with absolutely beautiful gardens. The reception staff left a bit to be desired - very offhand if it wasn;t for that I would have given this hotel 5 stars. We ate at the hotel for the two nights we were here and found the staff extremely helpful and friendly. the food was good and just what tired travellers needed. There is a pool outside the dining room but when we were there it was too hot to use. The rooms were fine, not special but everything we needed. Clean and comfortable beds and bathrooms good.
Were travelling with a firm call Exotissimo and their guide Naing Ten was excellent as were all the guides with this company.

Room Tip: check room before accepting it. As with all hotels some are better than others. Ours was fine, qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyAuckand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Very nicely done with lacquer ware walls in hall and rooms. The logo is poorly done and does not show the expensive decor. The pool is small and nice. The bar behind the reception wall is not used and wasted. The upper floor is used as a shop where no one goes. It should be a bar and coffee place instead. The big dining hall is not so welcoming. It is far from the heritage site but we are lucky to have a driver and car to go anywhere. The staff is friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKyawt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
2.7 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 46 in Bagan
1,185 reviews
4.1 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#7 of 46 in Bagan
752 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 46 in Bagan
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Aureum Palace Hotel & Resort Bagan
2.5 mi away
Bagan Thiripyitsaya Sanctuary Resort
3.0 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myanmar Treasure Resort Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myanmar Treasure Resort Bagan

Property: Myanmar Treasure Resort Bagan
Address: Khayay Rd | Anawrahta Quarter, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Myanmar Treasure Resort Bagan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, JovagoAsia, Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Myanmar Treasure Resort Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myanmar Treasure Resort Bagan Hotel Bagan
Myanmar Treasure Hotel Bagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing