We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Arthawka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arthawka Hotel
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really nice. Staff very friendly, rooms spacious and clean and a nice feel to it.

Free wifi is available in the lobby and they do have bikes for rent. In hindsight I wished I had rented elsewhere though. The only reason being they have no gears and with the hotel being at the other end of new Bagan it was quite tiring in the heat and humidity.

On that note the location is really the only sloght downside to this place. To be honest though the same could probably be said for most places in new Bagan. And with accommodation limited and expensive in old Bagan then I was more than happy with this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phiphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
There are newer reviews for Arthawka Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed here as part of a small group tour and were a little disappointed because we were due to stay at the Thazin Garden. However the Arthawka was pretty good – large welcoming reception area and rooms arranged on two floors round a reasonably sized pool. The room had good mosquito screening, aircon, fridge and kettle (but no tea/coffee!). Good sized bathroom with shower. Everything worked and was clean. Breakfast was adequate with noodles/rice, soup and eggs, toast etc.

Room Tip: Higher numbers are farther from reception (and nearer the temple!)
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Staff was friendly and helpful!

Fortunately our room was on the 2nd floor. The view was better than it might be on the first floor (from there you just see the fence or the wall surrounding the hotel). The window board was full with pigeon excrement, but there was also a mosquito net in the window. Room was spacious with a TV, fridge, a comfortable bed, shower (shower gel, shampoo were provided). The bedroom and bathroom were clean, but it could have been better.

At night it was quiet, except when people were sitting at the swimming-pool area and chatting the whole night, slamming the doors or getting up at 4 o'clock and going to a hot-air balloon night and making noise like it was 10 am!!!! But this is not the hotel's fault, it is just a bad behavior of people.

The breakfast was mostly good. They serve you a few slices taosted bread (you can always ask for more), jam and something that should be butter (it tastes more like cream cheese and a little sweet, I cannot describe it), then there is also a buffet with fruits, fried rice, and some standard food. What I really did not like is, that they don't have fresh milk, so you have to add milk powder CREAMER to your coffee! This is an absolute inadequate for a hotel! Dinner was also very average (or below). Most of the dishes listed in the menu, they don't have, so you have to chose another one. With fried rice you're on the safe side, because that's also part of the breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Second floor. The view from the first floor might be not so good.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _Betty_Sue_1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff are the most helpful that I found through Myanmar by far.
They made a lot of arragements and made our stay really pleasant.
Our arrival was really late at night and they allow us to check in 5 hours before time with no extra charge.
Defenetly I would recomended this one

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcos-miguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The staff at Arthawka are excellent, nothing was a bother and attended to you immediately. If you walk down to the markets at 07:30 am when they are setting up, you will experience the local people, who are just a blessing. Do watch out for the children - they are cheeky but you got to love their cheekyness, at the end of the day what else can you experience - the people.

Room Tip: Get to know the staff, they want to chat and they can direct you to the right places. All rooms ar...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RipleyAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The staff were enthusiastic and professional and no problem was too difficult. We found everyone to be polite and helpful whenever we had questions such as recommendations for restaurants and activities in Bagan. The hotel staff were able to easily organise transport and were very conscientious in their jobs.
The rooms were simple and the pool was great even if a bit cold. Breakfast was very simple but included in the price.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms around the pool were great.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We were on a whistle stop tour so we can only comment on some aspects of this hotel.
The staff were friendly and helpful. However ask for a gin and tonic and you will get gin and......something else! Stick to the Myanmar beer it is good!. The reception area is smart and clean. There is a TV showing world news. The bedroom we had was clean, pleasant and perfectly fine for a short stay. The twin beds were okay. The shower was hot (not something you can always guarantee in Myanmar). Useful to bring a plug in mosquito repellent.for your room.
There was a pretty pool however the water was too cold to swim in. We overheard several people feeding this back to reception staff. Cannot comment on the usual breakfast as we we left too early but the hotel provided us with a packed breakfast for our onward journey of boiled eggs and cold toast! Well at least they tried. I think this is a good basic hotel for your stay in Bagan after all you will be out most of the time and there are some okay restaurants in Bagan (some dodgy ones too). Remember to pack your torch as there is hardly any street lighting in Bagan and the growing number of motorbikers drive without their lights on at night. They must have good eyesight.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eileendover32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
4.4 mi away
Zfreeti Hotel
Zfreeti Hotel
#2 of 6 in Nyaung U
687 reviews
2.6 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#10 of 47 in Bagan
1,212 reviews
3.9 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#6 of 47 in Bagan
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Bird Hotel
Blue Bird Hotel
#2 of 47 in Bagan
888 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
3.7 mi away
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
#14 of 47 in Bagan
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthawka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthawka Hotel

Address: 160 Cherry Road | New Bagan, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range: £24 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arthawka Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Bagan, Arthawka Hotel is a great base from which to explore this vibrant city. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. For those of you who want to venture out, Eight Faces Paya, Archaeological Museum, Gawdawpalin Pahto are just some of the attractions available to visitors.Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Arthawka Hotel is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. A selection of top-class facilities such as bicycle rental, Wi-Fi in public areas, airport transfer, restaurant, tours can be enjoyed at the hotel.Hotel accommodations have been carefully appointed to the highest degree of comfort and convenience, with complimentary bottled water, desk, television LCD/plasma screen, shower, non smoking rooms in each room. The hotel offers many unique recreational opportunities such as outdoor pool. Whatever your reason for visiting Bagan, the Arthawka Hotel is the perfect venue for an exhilarating and exciting break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arthawka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing