We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a few days”
Review of Arthawka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arthawka Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
542 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Perfect for a few days”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Situated in New Bagan it's set around a nice courtyard pool (which is salt water and freezing). The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff are friendly and help arrange trips. Food is basic and breakfast is a choice of eggs and fruit but there are plenty of good local restaurants close by.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martynsnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    190
    78
    7
    0
See reviews for
71
167
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights in December. The hotel is located in New Bagan which seems to be where most are. It is only a short (3 to 5 minutes) walk to shops, restaurants (try the Sun Beam restaurant !) and bike hire places. One hint might be to bring a small torch for night time!

Rooms are a good size, modern and comfortable with modern bathrooms. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Service is good. My laundry was returned on the same day even though it was not due until the following day - not a big thing but a pleasant surprise. Also I was allowed to use a shower in another room the day I checked out as my flight was not until the evening. I had spent the day doing some final site seeing so was a little sweaty. The manager asked if I wanted a shower before my taxi arrived and then had a staff member show me to a room. Another pleasant surprise - good service!

The included breakfast was also quite good. While I did not use the pool, the area looks good and inviting.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and If I get back to Bagan would stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The rooms are big, clean and overall, gives off a resort-like feel. Very comfortable. And while many hotels in Myanmar boast free-wi-fi in their hotel rooms but don't always deliver on the signal strength, I had good wi-fi signal right in my hotel room. But the best part of Arthawka is the service. The staff, especially in the reception area, were very friendly and helpful. That was the one thing that stuck out during my stay here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elijah234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Good mid-range hotel at a reasonable price in a town where accommodation is expensive at the height of the dry season. The desk was helpful, gave good advice and sorted out our ferry tickets from Bagan to Mandalay. The rooms are comfortable but suffer from being slightly jerry-built - as if an inebriated uncle had offered to do some last-minute DIY to get the place finished. We were on the 1st floor and found that our footsteps disturbed a French woman in the room below. The breakfast is the standard Myanmar-take on the Eurasian buffet but with only white bread available.
The seawater swimming pool, uncovered at night, is shaded much of the day and provides a bracing, almost icy dip after a long hot day cycling around Bagan.
The hotel is located on the fringes of New Bagan closer to the airport than it is to Old Bagan but within reasonable cycling reach of most everything worth seeing with the most distant sites 40 minutes away and the nearest within 10 minutes ride, though younger legs may do it faster.
The hotel's location should be quiet but during our stay a vacant lot to the rear of the hotel was used for pop-up parties - two-day all-day long celebrations to mark several young men's initiation as novice monks- think over the top bar mitzvah with elephants and Gangam-style pop music.
Fortunately being tired we managed to sleep through it but checked with the hotel manager so offered us a quieter room for the following night. Wifi only available in the lobby and pool area and like most of Myanmar is hit-and-miss with the bandwidth available to whole communities often only a few megabytes making anything more than email requiuring the sort of patience required in the West in pre-broadband days.
Overall Arthawka is a reasonably priced, clean but nothing-to-write home about hotel, popular with tour groups in a town where good value, special accommodation at any price is scarce.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garciasripple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed for three nights at the hotel during my Myanmar Trip. The hotel is away from the main road, but there in lies its USP. It is quiet place to come back and relax at the end of the day.
The room was very spacious and had a wooden floor. It had all the modern conveniences like AC, hot water, LCD tv, ceiling fan, etc.

The breakfast in the morning was good. I also ate at the restaurant couple of times and the chef was able to take and did well on a customized order for food.

I saw lot of tour groups coming and going during my stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TVReddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

stayed here for two nights, staff were really welcoming and accomodating. Great food at the restaurant too. The myanmar fish curry was amazing.

Very flexible in check in/check out times.

location: new bagan is a little away from the main strip of temples, but it does offer the better choice for accomodation. your best bet is to get a bike /ebike to get around. the temples are very accessible from the back route (rather than the route thru Old Bagan).

would defintely recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank FiveMonthTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Clean and newly renovated, at least it looked like it.
Fantastically honest staff. They drove back and forth from the airport to deliver one of our mobile phones that we hadn't even noticed that we'd forgotten in our room on the day of departure. now that is CLASS.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC_Swede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagan hotels
2.6 mi away
Thande Hotel Bagan
Thande Hotel Bagan
#8 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
3.9 mi away
Amazing Bagan Resort
Amazing Bagan Resort
#7 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagan Lodge
Bagan Lodge
#3 of 46 in Bagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ruby True Hotel
Ruby True Hotel
#11 of 46 in Bagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
The Hotel Bagan Umbra
#13 of 46 in Bagan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Hotel at Tharabar Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthawka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthawka Hotel

Property: Arthawka Hotel
Address: 160 Cherry Road | New Bagan, Bagan, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arthawka Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Bagan, Arthawka Hotel is a great base from which to explore this vibrant city. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. For those of you who want to venture out, Eight Faces Paya, Archaeological Museum, Gawdawpalin Pahto are just some of the attractions available to visitors.Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Arthawka Hotel is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. A selection of top-class facilities such as bicycle rental, Wi-Fi in public areas, airport transfer, restaurant, tours can be enjoyed at the hotel.Hotel accommodations have been carefully appointed to the highest degree of comfort and convenience, with complimentary bottled water, desk, television LCD/plasma screen, shower, non smoking rooms in each room. The hotel offers many unique recreational opportunities such as outdoor pool. Whatever your reason for visiting Bagan, the Arthawka Hotel is the perfect venue for an exhilarating and exciting break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Arthawka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing