We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Namobuddha Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$696
US$485
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$34
US$32
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
108
28
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
28
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvegetarian foodnamo buddhathe ownerhimalayan rangecommunal diningset menuother guestslocal communitysoupssmaller housesnearby monasterytraditional stylebeautiful placerelaxing staylemongrass teasurrounding countrysidetoilet and shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Over the past 3 and a half years we have visited most of the places within reach of Kathmandu for a 'hill-top' getaway and we have no hesitation to say that Namobuddha resort tops them all by a clear margin. We have been back four times and intend to visit again soon.

From the quality of the cottages you stay in to the outstanding food (I am a committed carnivore but the organic vegetarian cooking is amazing) to the views (also the best we have seen - on a clear day you can see from Manaslu to Everest). And they have a sauna! Plenty to do nearby ... the Namobuddha stupa of course, and lots of walks in the surrounding countryside. And they have just got mountain bikes for guests to borrow ...

The owners and staff have created something really special, and there is nowhere else like this (that we have found) in Nepal. And they are going out of their way to make the resort as eco-friendly as possible, and to ensuring that the local community benefit, supporting local schools and other similar projects.

The only downside is the last 30 minutes on a bumpy road to get here, but it's a minor inconvenience to arrive in a place as special as this.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Namo Buddha resort is a great and calm place to stay with very friendly and helpful staff, pretty and cute houses. The food is great.
You should go there its great

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marul345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

This place is pure heaven. It’s worth getting yourself there just for the incredible, freshly made organic vegetarian food alone. Everything is grown right there at the resort, and the price per meal is very reasonable. The resort is right next to a small village which is enjoyable to walk to, and gives a real sense of how rural Nepalese live. Just a short hike away is Namo Buddha stupa and the Namo Buddha monastery which are both impressive to see. There are all kinds of interesting little villages with their own historical sites within walking distance, far away from crowds and tourist traps. And, on a clear morning you can catch an amazing view of the Himalayas right from your doorstep. Then there is the service: Oh man, do these folks know how to treat a guest. There can’t possibly be warmer, friendlier or more helpful people than those at Namo Buddha Resort. It feels like being part of a small village than being in a resort. The accommodations themselves are beautifully restored Nepalese style bungalows: Neat, clean, comfortable, private and perfect! It would take the pickiest of travelers to find any fault in this place. It also feels good to support a place that hires locals and grows all of its own food. This has to be the best place in Nepal to stay, just because I can’t think of how anywhere could be any better. And, did I mention the food? Oh, the food is amazing! The whole experience is amazing! I would return in a heartbeat. This is the best way to experience Nepal as far as I’m concerned. Go! Go and make reservations right now!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chearn73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

We have travelled around in several countries, but this place is one of the best we have visited ever. Namobuddha resort is perfectly situated in the rural Nepalese landscape. On the site are beautiful cottages in Newary style, very nice decorated. The people at the resort are very open and friendly, it is not just that they have to be, but that they truly are friendly. We enjoyed very much the relaxed athmosphere and nice walks around the area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mar099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

This is a special place in the sense that I have never found anything like it in Nepal. I have been visiting the country a few times before and I was delighted to find this ecovillage, with its private cottages, local staff and one of the top three espresso-machines in Nepal. In a country where workers often receive ill-treatment it feels very good to stay at a 100% responsible resort. Its the kind of place you could write your memoirs. I stayed for a month and will be returning soon. For photos and info, check out their website www.namobuddharesort.com (the website is so honest it borders to comedy).
Peace.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowerpowerOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews