We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Dhulikhel”
Review of High View Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dhulikhel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High View Resort
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Dhulikhel
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best value in Dhulikhel”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

My room was large with a huge, comfortable bed – basic bathroom but oodles of hot water and good water pressure too.
Easy to get to, but far enough away from the main road so avoiding traffick noise and polution.
Amazing views, well tendered gardens, friendly, efficient service, really good food and a bargain compared to what some of the other near-to-the-top-end resorts in Dhulikhel charge.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
8
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Even though the view was not the greatest, it was pretty hazy, we enjoyed very much our stay. Wonderful location and view.
Don't miss a hike to Namobuddha.
The Restaurant has an exceptional view.
Don't miss the local hikes and the air quality for Nepal was great

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jurgencm2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

On the plus side, you'll never beat the views over the Himalayas you can enjoy straight off the balcony of your room. The Nepali food on the menu was quite good, too. Minuses are the mouldy smell in the room and the absence of the advertised hot water plus the general condition of the place which cries for renovation.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WoburnExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Pros - great Himalaya views right from the hotel room (weather permitting), attractive grounds, good restaurant featuring a tasty Tibetan 'Gyakok' dinner for 2 or more served in a heated pot, located just far enough away from the highway and city to be quiet, beds are comfortable and lots of blankets supplied (no heating or AC in the room).

Cons - lots of stairs to climb right from the road so not at all suitable for anyone with mobility issues, rooms overdue for renovation.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SixContinents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maarsbergen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The High View Resort in Dhulikhel is just what it says: a hotel on top of a mountain with a great, no, GREAT view!!!! Especially the sunrise over the Himalaya range (the staff will wake you up to enjoy the view - it gets cold, so wear something warm). The place itself is ok, but the food is fantastic. You don't want to stay here for a romantic getaway, but the location is, as mentioned before, fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hanoded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The rooms were a bit basic and I really wish they had phones in them - lots of steps and a bit pointless having to walk to the restaurant to order room service - but it's more than made up for by the awesome views from the big picture windows in the rooms and private balony.

The service was very friendly and attentive to our needs, the food was delicious (although very slow to arrive in low season).

I could have just sat there and lapped up the views all day.

Room Tip: Just be aware that there are a LOT of steps to reach anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete6612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed 3 nights in December. For two of those nights we were the only guests, and on the third night only one other room was occupied. What is going on? How does this place survive?

Ate one night at the restuarant. We were the only customers there, so there were more staff than diners. Food was OK, nothing to write home about. Other nights we ate at the cheapie in town. Suggest eating at another of the upmarket hotels if you want more formal dining.

Hot water bottles were provided each night and were welcome.

The room price is quite negotiable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SYDHIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhulikhel
0.0 mi away
Himalayan Horizon
Himalayan Horizon
#3 of 12 in Dhulikhel
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel at the End of the Universe
0.0 mi away
Dhulikhel Mountain Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dhulikhel Lodge Resort
Dhulikhel Lodge Resort
#2 of 12 in Dhulikhel
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Dwarika's Resort-Dhulikhel
0.0 mi away
Gaia Holiday Home
Gaia Holiday Home
#2 of 15 in Dhulikhel
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High View Resort

Property: High View Resort
Address: Dhulikhel, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Dhulikhel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Dhulikhel
Hotel Class:1 star — High View Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
High View Resort Nepal/Dhulikhel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing