We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bardia Kingfisher Resort
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights here. The owner is extremely nice and helpful. Give him a call and he'll come pick you up from Ambassa. Most beautiful and affordable safari with lots of amazing nature and wildlife, it was like a dream. We didn't bring enough money (no ATM there), but the owner drove us all the way to the Indian border and even arranged our next ride to Lucknow. Everything was perfect, recommended for everybody!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Floris v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Hello to everybody,
we spent here really good times, seven days. We didn´t know nothing about NP Bardia, but we decided not to go to famous NP Chitwan, we wanted to see something less popular. We came to this resort by luck, because some unpleasant and reserved man wants us pick up by jeep from Ambasa to Forest Hideaway resort. It was fortune, that we went to Kingfisher, because after times in the jungle, we saw guides from others resorts, who didn´t explain nothing to tourists, maybe they have very bad english like me. Jack, the guide from Kingfisher resort has big knowledge, because he works in park for 17 years, he lived 4 yers in Europe, so his English is pefect. He show us rhino with baby, lot of wild elephants, crocodiles, otters, four kind of kingfisher and lot of other kinds of birds, deers, trees etc. We didn´t see tiger, because december isn´t so hot, so tiger didn´t come for bath to the river. We did 2 jungle walk, one jeep safari and one trip by motobikes to blackbuck conservation area. Food and service was delicious and cheap. I recommend Kingfisher resort to people with the heart on the right place.

No goodbye

Michal and Katka

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

this was the best place in our whole trip.... One of the memorable place with kind heart'd host and staffs.. we had a great time in jeep safari in the national park... A perfect get away,, to say in short its like " a home away from home" ...very peaceful, and warm hospitality .. if you are planing to visit this place make sure you are there for minimum 3 days, you got many things to explore... thanks to Jack(praveen), Meline,ramesh, chris.... The food so yummy - fresh, rich and made with so much love and care and thanks to Meline for offering us the "french coffee"(best coffee ever).....

This place is best for all types travelers from round the globe....bikers really can enjoy
the ride from mahindranagar to BARDIA KINGFISHER RESORT....
(miss you kallu)

have a nice time....good luck

Room Tip: all rooms are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travele108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

kingfisher in definitely the best place I've been in in Nepal,
the mud huts are beautiful, Jack and Melin are grate , all the staff are really nice and worm people .
we had a grate time in the jungle walk, where we saw rhinos, many deers, birds and wild boars.
ohh and the food are sooooo good

thank you all for a grate week !!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidandavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Our stay turned out to be one of the best times of our lives, thanks to beautiful Bardia itself and thanks to Jack, Meline, Pratap, Budhi, Balle, Tilak and the rest of Kinfisher resort's amazing, beautiful staff!
The hotel is absolutely beautiful - mud huts, green garden, trees and birds and fields and water all around. the rooms are huge, clean, and simply but gracefuly designed, with attached toilet and shower and a super comfortable bed (rare in India and Nepal...)
The food is so nice - fresh, rich and made with so much love and care.
Jack is a charming guy, speaking Nepali, english and french. He is a total expert concerning wildlife and is full of enthusiasm and vision about nature, about the wellfare of his workers and guests, and about life in general. Meline, his wife, is a kind and brilliant woman (and also a talented cook for all kinds of european foods she makes in her clay oven).
Jack and Meline employ local boys who they take close and loving care of. The boys who neet it are sent to schooling they otherwise would not have been able to afford. Generaly, alot of the hotel funds are dedicated to providing for the needs of the local community, and the vision is setting up a school one day!
Kingfisher resort is also the most affordable stay in Bardia - this goes for room prices, food prices and activities. Even poor backpackers can afford to stay in bardia and even enjoy wildlife adventures thanks to Kingfisher's owners, who's values, loving heart and deep understanding of the needs and wants of young travellers don't let them charge more then almost any backpacker could afford to pay.
bottom line: Bardia is magical, and staying in kingfisher alows you to experience it deeply and enjoy all it has to offer in reasonable costs. this hotel has a constant atmosphere of love, respect and generousity. Definitely - the place to go in Nepal!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eden R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

You, the one who will read this review..you HAVE to take a trip to this place.
I arrived there thinking I will stay 2 or 3 days, and finally left the place after 9 with tears in my eyes.
I was intrigued as there is not much online about Bardia but then somehow I end up staying at Kingfisher and I had a great stay.
Accomodation are simple but nice, food is really yummie, I am missing the fried potatoes, the tomato soup but that's detail.. What really brought into my heart an unforgettable experience are the guys, from the cook to Jack. He passionate by wildlife and will do his best to show you birds, rhino, elephant, tiger !! I was even lucky enough to catch a wild cat !
Not to mention the evening around the warm campfire remembering the day and preparing the next one.
Its definitely a great place to stay, forget about the too busy Chitwan, explore Bardia and enjoy the local village life.

Frenchie.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchie_Monia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I stayed with Jack and his brother Pratap for a week in their Kingfisher resort and I loved it. In general Bardia is such a nice and peaceful place in the Nepal countryside, where you will just come across a few other tourist, The Kingfisher resort distinguishes itself from the other places in Bardia by the way it is run by the two brothers who, by the way, have complete opposite personalities. They employ local youth in order to help them in their future careers. It takes a few days to know who is who, but they are all lovely guys. It might take a bit before you have your food, but it is worthwhile the waiting as the food made from fresh ingredients form the market. I highly recommend the tomato soup!

Also, I really liked the passion these people have for nature.Like the tiger is the king of the jungle, Jack is the king of Bardia. He knows everything of wildlife and when we did get to see the tiger he was so incredibly happy despite the fact he has seen it hundreds of times already.

Skip Chitwan, go Bardia!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannes-el-viajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardia National Park hotels
10.4 mi away
Racy Shade Resort
Racy Shade Resort
#4 of 23 in Bardia National Park
96 reviews
14.8 mi away
Tiger Tops Karnali Lodge
Tiger Tops Karnali Lodge
#15 of 23 in Bardia National Park
53 reviews
34.7 mi away
Bardia Jungle Cottage
Bardia Jungle Cottage
#19 of 23 in Bardia National Park
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mr B's Place
Mr B's Place
#1 of 23 in Bardia National Park
162 reviews
0 mi away
Nature Safari Resort & Lodge
Nature Safari Resort & Lodge
#12 of 23 in Bardia National Park
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bardia Wildlife Resort
Bardia Wildlife Resort
#3 of 23 in Bardia National Park
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bardia Kingfisher Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bardia Kingfisher Resort

Address: Thakurdwara - 6, Bardia National Park, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Mid-Western Region > Bheri Zone > Bardia National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Bardia National Park
Price Range: £16 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bardia Kingfisher Resort is just 50m away from the Bardia National Park entrance gate... it lies in the middle of the Tharu village named Thakurdwara. The resort is composed of bungalow lodge and offers you a fair tourism and eco tourism tour in Bardia National Park. We're unique in this region for our philosophy, we focus on local experience and quality of service rather than luxury. Our main focus is: Local experience, Local impact, Respect for the tourist, Respect for nature and wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bardia Kingfisher Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing