We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent safari lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nature Safari Resort & Lodge
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent safari lodge”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had a great time staying in Nature Safari Lodge. We booked through a package from http://bardiajunglesafari.com. You should note that although this website mentions a raft safari as part of their 4 day package, this is only available in the rainy season! The activities are also flexible so you are not confined to any specific schedule.

We were picked up by Madhu from Nepalgunj airport and driven back to the lodge. Madhu and all his family and staff are very friendly and helpful people. The rooms were comfortable and included a mosquito net and ensuite bathroom.

Madhu's guide Shiva is an experienced guide and very friendly and knowledgeable. Although we unfortunately did not see a tiger while staying here, we did see plenty of rhinos, mugger crocodiles, gharial crocodiles, jackals, wild boar, otters, rhesus monkeys, langur monkeys, sambar deer, swamp deer and many kinds of birds, including the elusive lesser florican.

We had a full day jeep safari and full day walking safari. We did an elephant-back safari as well, but would not recommend that since it was extremely bumpy and uncomfortable and you don't really see much.

Food at the lodge is great and all cooked by Madhu's wife. If you have any specific requests (e.g. we were vegetarian) they will always try to accomodate.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
11
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had lot's of fun with Madhu (the owner) and Shiva (one of the guides).
They showed us both the Rhino, Crocodile, Snakes, Monkeys and the Tiger!!

Good prices, perfect food and lot's of fun we had here. In the evening we went swimming in the river. And it is so quiet here, few tourists and big chance to see the tiger. They told us March is a perfect month to go and return successful!

If you want to experience the real jungle go to Bardia instead of Chitwan that looks more like a theme park.

Nature Safari Lodge gives you honest fun, prices and a real good service!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tijn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maasbommel, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a perfect time in Bardia National Park, staying in the Nature Safari Lodge! The owner Madhu and is family are very friendly and gave us a warm welcome. Though we booked a standard package in Pokhara, Madhu informed us almost everything was possible during our stay, we only need to ask for it.

The lodge was great. Nice two-person bedrooms including a bathroom and musquito net, meals included in our package that were different every day and tasted delicious, a nice river outside the lodge to make a swim in the afternoon to cool down from the nice and warm weather. We did not need to arrange a taxi to the lodge, because Madhu came to pick us up from the bus stand in his own jeep; perfect service.

Madhu and his employee Shiva did not only function as helpfull and friendly lodge staff, but also as terrific guides! Everyday they would take us on a great safari adventure, including an adventurous walking safari, a jeep safari and an elephant ride. We spotted al kinds of precious wildlife, including rhinos, monkeys, crocodiles, huge pythons and of course the rare and wonderfull tiger. What an experience! Our guides knew exactly where to take us. The great thing is the lack of huge tourist flows; it is quiet, and the chances of spotting wildlife are much bigger then in any other Nepali nature park.

The Nature Safari Lodge provided us with a unique and wonderfull safari experience. Definatly a
good place if you are looking for Nepal's wonderful nature.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maarten v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

In Bardia National park you can choose between several logdes to stay but you definately need to go for this one! First of all Madhu, the owner, will charge you the best price you can get! You get a very warm welcome together with he's colleageu guide Shiva. They are a very nice and funny couple they and will often make you laugh.They will listen to your wishes and they will fit in a programm that will answer these! While you're on a jungle safari, walking safari, rafting, elephant riding or bird watching, they always ensure excitement and a variaty of information about the animals and their behaviours. When you come back from the jungle you will get served delicious food made by Madhu's wife! I hope to be back in the future once more!

Madhu and Shiva thanks a lot!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pokhara, Nepal
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The best you can get! We couldn't find a cheaper place than this one. We bought a package in Pokhara. We got a jeepsafari, walking safari, elephant ride, cultural evening and birdwatching.
The whole time we had two guides with us that told us everything about the park in a fun way and from the beginning they feel like new friends.
At the safari's they will provide you with a starting breakfast at the hotel and a really good lunch on the safari provided with water, juice, Nepali food, banana, egg and cookies. After the trip you have a nice chance to shower at your room. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and have a musquito net. The lodge is very nice and looks good with the garden. Still feels like you are in the middle of the forest. Next to the hotel is a small river what is a good place to take a refreshing dive!
Service is excellent. You ask they deliver. When you are a vegeterian they will remember and cook different meal for you. They will come sit with you, drink a beer with them if you want and have good conversations.
Alone, with friends or as a family? Doesn't matter!
The lodge people will pick you up from Ambasa at the busstation and bring you to the bus. The owner calls to know when you arrive and calls to check if you arrived at the destination after. He tries to help you in all the ways so don't be afraid to ask!
Bardia park is a perfect place to see wildlife. We saw 4 tigers, rhinos, crocodilles, monkeys and a python. They guides will bring you to all the good spots to see them. They do as ever you want. Wanna go to a different place or wait for the whole day to spot animals and make photos? They do as ever you want.
The owners are born in the area and have a lifetime experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruud65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

It was a nice, freindly and very clam place. We enjoyed the hopitality and the food. The owner Madhu was very helpful and knowledgable. He answered all our questions and told us interesting stories about his country and Bardia region.
We were in Bardia duaring strike before November2013 elections. It was just perfect place to avoid all these political hassle and to relax and walk in the forest you seldom find in other places on earth.

Room Tip: Any room here is good cause it is quite remote place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khatmandu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

It's difficult for me to explain how much a enjoyed my jungle safari experience at Nature Safari Lodge. Good solid three days of hiking through pristine jungle teaming with wildlife including tigers, a variety of apes, crocodiles, a kaleidoscope of bird species, wild elephant, and the endangered Indian one horn Rhino. Wonderful people, great food, good exercise, and several thrilling big game sightings; a perfect experience, and the crew at Nature Safari Lodge makes everything so easy. I'll be back again very soon!

Room Tip: All of the lodges are clean, comfortable and are equipped with quality mosquito netting. I slept lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cavanaugh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardia National Park
1.1 mi away
Cygnett Inn Krishna
Cygnett Inn Krishna
#1 of 4 in Nepalgunj
20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kalptaru
Hotel Kalptaru
#2 of 4 in Nepalgunj
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bardia Jungle Cottage
Bardia Jungle Cottage
#11 of 19 in Bardia National Park
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 mi away
Anjali's Dolphins Resort
Anjali's Dolphins Resort
#1 of 4 in Bardia National Park
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nepal Wildlife Resort
Nepal Wildlife Resort
#3 of 4 in Bardia National Park
11 reviews
43.5 mi away
Racy Shade Resort
Racy Shade Resort
#3 of 19 in Bardia National Park
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Safari Resort & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Safari Resort & Lodge

Property: Nature Safari Resort & Lodge
Address: Bardia National Park | Thakudwara, Bardia National Park 21800, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Mid-Western Region > Bheri Zone > Bardia National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Bardia National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of Bardia National Park, Nature Safari Lodge was created to provide the perfect setting from which to explore this pristine conservation area. With accommodation ranging from standard to deluxe, Nature Safari Lodge provides guests with a relaxed atmosphere in rural surroundings. Built to reflect the local Tharu style, the resort consists of timber and mud cottages with traditional grass roofs and decorations. Our dining hall - where we serve local, Indian and Continental cuisines - is a great place to get together in the evenings to share the day's experiences. All cottages come with attached toilet and hot and cold shower. Emphasis is on conservation of wildlife and its habitat, as well as the preservation of indigenous traditions and ways of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nature Safari Resort & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing