We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
Review of Hotel Kimberly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kimberly
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Tagaytay
Certificate of Excellence
philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Nothing to do on christmas day here. There were singing with a band and a children's choir of sorts but they didn't prepare anything special for Christmas not even for the kids. I was disappointed with the pool.It looked bigger on their website.It was actually a small pool with the kids pool even smaller.There was a basketball court but it wasn't well maintained.The gym was 2 treadmills and an orbitrac with a billiard table,darts and pingpong table all cramped in one room.
The hotel itself was a little far from the central hub where restos and hotels line up. A good 5 mins drive.Not bad if you have a vehicle with you.Nothing exceptional about the the room or the breakfast included.No towels for the pool and no lifeguards either.
They seemed to be shortstaffed .

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chocnut216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    195
    63
    14
    9
See reviews for
368
38
5
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

My friends and I were happy with our room at Hotel Kimberly as it was spacious and clean. It also didn’t hurt that Hotel Kimberly Tagaytay just opened last year so everything looked and felt new.

We did have problems with our shower in the morning though as water was not flowing through the right outlet. Good thing the maintenance staff of Hotel Kimberly addressed the problem in no time. Just make sure to take a bath early as hot water seems scarce 9am onwards.

We also availed of our complimentary breakfast at Cafe at K and it was the saddest breakfast buffet spread I’ve ever encountered. Food choice was not only limited but was also unremarkable. I didn’t mind this though as I didn’t expect much to begin with.

The only thing that might throw people off about Hotel Kimberly is its out of the way location. The hotel is a good 10 minute drive from the national highway. The seclusion, however, is actually another thing that I liked about our hotel as it removed us from the maddening crowds of Tagaytay. No annoying perky tourists!

We couldn't have made a better choice as one can't go wrong with Hotel Kimberly Tagaytay!

For pictures, visit: http://dumtodee.blogspot.com/2010/09/peace-serenity-at-hotel-kimberly.html

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mintymalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We arrived at 10pm at Hotel Kimberly. We were clueless that the hotel was actually a very warm place to be. The facade did not even give the slightest clue what to expect inside. The service was great and the room was relaxing. The staff were also very friendly and they really made our stay a worthwhile experience. Me and my boyfriend will be coming back soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruthee0620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Make sure you bring your own transport or you will be forced to take a tricycle around. This clean and basic hotel is set back from the main strip in Tagaytay and would provide a tranquil getaway if it werent for the tiled floors that pick up the noise of every suitcase wheel, trolley, high heel shoe etc. The rooms are clean basic and a good size but the bathroom had no hot water and the wifi was only available in the hallway which made using the internet a painful experience. The hotels restaurant is catered entirely to the Philippine taste and contains no healthy food or choices for children.
All in all the experience was not one i would wish to revisit. Stay on the main strip and be amongst the action. When i look for a hotel I dont look for one that tries but rather one that does.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Benny_Doda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat0123, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kimberly, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We take pride in our staff hospitality and quality and take your comments very seriously.

We checked the record of your stay. Unfortunately we had a temporary problem with a city wide power outage that day and ran on hotel generators hence the hot water and internet problems. This was rectified within the morning. This was a one off occurrence and I regret you had to experience it.

With regards to your transport, there are car hires available should the guest need. However we recognize that this may not be suited to all and we are going to provide guest shuttle services to the surrounding areas.

Again my apologies for your experience and we hope to see you in the future to personally assure you of a great hotel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We went here on our bible study group's series break. The place was sooo nice, comparable to that of a four star hotel. Rooms were new, clean and cozy. Dining area big, and the staff accomodated us when we played games. Wish to go back and stay there again.
The location is far from the main road, but it has the same coolness. And the place was quiet too. Lots of corporations and big groups are using it for their conferences.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shandawanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batangas, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

I have been to numerous hotels in the Tagaytay area and having foung Hotel Kimberly is such a welcome relief. It is an ideal hotel not far from the Tagaytay main strip yet has a country feel to it! The swimming pool and the playground area is highly rated and they have the biggest rooms i can remember. At 6500 pesos, you can enjoy the premier suite and this comes free with dinner and buffet breakfast for 4 persons... yes - for 4 - you read it right ,which now is a rare promo to enjoy. Their restaurant though menu choices are limited are by far commendable... only room for improvement is that their restaurant staff should be trained more to keep quite and focus on the diner's needs since they are usually carrying a conversation with one another at the same time attending to the customers. They are always joking around and at times loud to the irk of most of us. I also hope that they will be more prudent in their use of air freshener as it tends to be overdone - just a warning for those allergic with fragrances. Despite these 2 hitches, I have still enjoyed our stay - by the way.. have i said that they have the best water pressure in their showers, complimentary bottled water, room safe, tea making facility, and game room? Will definitely stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crissie328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

We were there 30 Dec to 1 Jan. From afar, the hotel was really inviting. It sits apart from its residential neighbors and you can tell the hotel is still new. The facade is clean; the guards were very courteous.

I don't know if this is practised only in Tagaytay or other provincial hotels but we were told to pay the whole amount of our stay upfront, when we checked in. It was a bit of a discomfort since my cash was in the luggage. Anyway, this is not much of an issue. The lobby was very pleasant, especially at night. They have children's books and sungka, dominos, etc. We stayed in a deluxe room. There's a flat screen tv and a dvd player, a balcony, a tiny sink with the toiletries in a shelf near the door, which was a bit strange because when you need your night cream after washing your face, you needed to turn to the door and get your cream, or your deodorant etc, because the sink was a rounded thing with no spaces around it. You can put one glass each side and that's it. Other toiletries you need to put near the door. (They don't readily provide toothbrush kits so you need to call them and ask). The shower was good. They have hot and cold water; bathtub was working. But after each bath and even when you took pains in preventing the area from getting wet by putting towels on the floor and making sure the curtains cover the tub perfectly, the leak will come from the toilet bowl itself and the sink. By the way, the sink was shaky. I've asked housekeeping to fix it. What they did was mop the place dry. When we showered again, place was a dump. A bidet near the toilet could be very useful, especially when you have kids. It's not very hygienic to wash in the tub after the deed but we had no choice. Tissue paper's not going to do it.
The room we stayed in (2nd floor) didn't have any safety deposit box as their website advertised. I even asked front desk about it and she said she'd check on it but she never came back to me.

It was buffet for breakfast and dinner. I loved the breakfast more for the nicely brewed coffee and omelet and cereals. Dinner was the same (almost) the entire time we were there. Chicken in a sauce, stirfried veggies, watermelon and pineapple for dessert, and some fish with sauce. Although you can do ala carte.

It could have been nicer if they didn't keep the food away when it hit 10am. They shut down the coffee maker exactly 10am; the late riser doesn't have a choice but to make do with what he managed to pile up his plate, if there's any. The cafe staff were very nice (most of them anyway; there were only 2 who smirked all the time) and accommodating.

On our first day, there was a foul smelling area on the tables near the pool, just outside the dining area. From where we're seated while watching our daughter swim her heart out, the staff were not too discreet about a dead rat. I even heard a lewd remark. I think staff should be courteous at all times. There were bathrooms swimmers needed to wash up before jumping in on the pools but the lights were out. We had to change our daughter outside the comfort room wrapped in a towel.

It rained on our second and third day. The kiddie playground was greatly missed and the pools! We just had to stay in and sleep. When the rains stopped on our third day, we kindly asked if we could be allowed to check out a little later but we were declined. Didn't see a full turnout and I wondered.

Overall, the stay was pleasant because of the kiddie facilities (only if it didn't rain). Free wi-fi could have been very good. Cable tv should have more channels than 11 stations. An indoor play area should also be very inviting especially to young families.

If you want a very serene weekend, Hotel Kimberly is a nice place to check out.

  • Liked — Pools, playground
  • Disliked — staff hospitality, no event for the new year, limited indoor activity
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank arella_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
1.9 mi away
Taal Vista Hotel
Taal Vista Hotel
#4 of 25 in Tagaytay
1,102 reviews
4.2 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 25 in Tagaytay
366 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tagaytay Country Hotel
Tagaytay Country Hotel
#18 of 25 in Tagaytay
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
#10 of 25 in Tagaytay
294 reviews
1.8 mi away
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
#13 of 25 in Tagaytay
308 reviews
3.8 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kimberly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kimberly

Property: Hotel Kimberly
Address: Brgy. Kaybagal, Amadeo Road, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tagaytay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kimberly 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the cool breezes and relaxing ambiance of Tagaytay City. Get comfortable at Hotel Kimberly, where quality service and exemplary facilities meet. Nestled in the heartland of Tagaytay, this 4 star Hotel Kimberly Tagaytay is now open to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kimberly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel Tagaytay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing