We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice casitas rooms but with some areas for improvement”
Review of Hotel Dominique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Dominique
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Tagaytay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice casitas rooms but with some areas for improvement”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at a casitas studio room for 2 nights. The room was spacious for 4 of us - me, hubby, our 3yr old daughter, and manang (the nanny of our daughter who we decided to bring with us the last minute since she was so excited to go to tagaytay.) There was 1 queen or double bed, and 2 single beds. The room had a homey/log cabin feel and the rest room was nice and classy. There is also a veranda with a table and four chairs where we had our breakfasts. Overall, the place was clean, quiet and relaxing. Just dont expect any lake view since this hotel is along aguinaldo highway. Location is great if you want to stay close to all tourist spots, restos, and the rotonda Ü. Staff are very accommodating and friendly. Things they can improve on: 1) Breakfast food tasted good enough but the daing na bangus was not boneless! For a meal priced at almost php300, we at least expect the half bangus to be boneless! I really hope the hotel manager does something about this so we can keep on referring the hotel to friends. 2) Toilet room exhaust fan was not working. Check out casitas studio 3c. 3) Pool looked dirty and they allow adults and kids to swim in improper attire like shirts. 4) Wifi is necessary for internet experience inside the casitas since mobile signal gets weak once inside. Unfortunately there is no wifi even in common outside areas. I think you have to go to their cafe for wifi. Hotel by the way has no lobby with couches where people can just relax and enjoy free wifi or reading materials outside d room. If the items above get adressed, we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDTagaytay, General Manager at Hotel Dominique, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Hazel A,

This is to appreciate your open and sincere review. The compliments are truly heartwarming; I was so excited sharing them to my team.

On the other hand, I apologize if we did not meet your expectation for a “daing na bangus” to be totally boneless. Our Chef had taken immediate action to ensure that our special way of preparing “daing na bangus” is being observed. Ordinarily, the only thing that is being removed for the typical “daing” is the main bone. However, it has been reiterated to our butcher to remove other bones that may be exposed during the preparations. The malfunctioning of the exhaust fan was effectively addressed and preventive measures were formulated as well. Review on the effectiveness of our pool maintenance procedures was done also and necessary improvements were identified for immediate implementation.

We just encountered some delays in the completion of our Internet Access improvement project and we are sorry for the effect during your stay. We have completed the project already and we are pleased to inform you that the hotel is now completely a FREE Wi-Fi zone. You’ll definitely enjoy surfing the web inside and outside our rooms on your next visit.

Sincerely yours,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    67
    38
    8
    5
See reviews for
57
40
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

The room was great - clean, well lit and organized. The place offered a homely experience which i really liked. Didnt make me feel that i was in a hotel. One thing i always look for in a hotel is the room's bathroom. I usually use slippers inside except for the 5 star hotels. I was really surprised i didnt have to use one here. Good job :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pancho833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antipolo City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Pros:

*Good Location (along the hi-way)
*Free Breakfast is actually filling :) (Beef tapa all the way! rather than tocino)
*Nice Staff
*Good Food Yum!
*Near the Pink Sister's Convent (walking distance)
*Near Angel's Hill (walking distance)
*Near D' Banquet/Amira's Buco Tart Haus (pasalubong) (walking distance)
*Nice Ambiance
*Love the Rooms
*Have Free Wifi access on the Cafe only (but still free wifi right?)
*Have the amenities you need for your room
*Our Room have Veranda for smokers like my hubby
*Near the Olivarez Terminal (walking distance)

Cons:
*Pool area kinda dark at night not much lighting in that area so it is kinda scary to swim at night.. and we didnt tried the pool since its so cold and i'm guessing no heater :D and in the morning we are so busy getting ready to go out and explore Tagaytay
*Restaurant food is expensive :( but it tastes good though we ate Kare-Kare and had 3 cups of Rices that's it! our bill is like P500+ LOL
*the key card expired early even before the time of your check out... so if your out at the morning and your check out is 12nn you can't enter your room anymore and you need to go to the front desk to reactivate the card... hope next time they will deactivate the key card at exactly 12nn so it won't be a hassle to go to the front desk because it is far away from the hotel.

We celebrate our first anniversary in Hotel Dominique :) overall experience was nice and comfortable well we bought a voucher from CashCash Pinoy we stayed for 2 Nights at a Superior Room... We will recommend this place to family and friends especially when they have a voucher :) and their Breakfast was nice too and very filling ... I will recommend the Beef tapa than the Tocino :D We will visit again sometime with our family members...

Room Tip: Don't eat at their Restaurant... because they will charge you with 10% Service charge and 12% VA...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny_Cabig23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Used a voucher for an overnight stay and it was worth it. Our room was comfortable enough and had the basic amenities. Although it needs more thorough cleaning especially on the curtains and windows. We were told wifi was only available at the restaurant but since our room was directly above it we had free wifi in our room and it was very fast and reliable. Their complimentary set breakfast was good enough but we didn't get to try any of their other dishes. We were initially given a room with twin beds when I specifically requested for a queen bed, but it was immediately sorted out and we were transferred to the right room without any delay. I would definitely stay again at this hotel when in Tagaytay. You will be disappointed though if you are after the scenery.

Room Tip: Cabanas are probably quieter since they are far from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank groklovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taguig, Rizal, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I purchased a voucher online for an overnight stay at Hotel Dominique. We arrived around 8:30 AM in Tagaytay City. We head to the hotel to leave our backpacks first since we have to visit some places first before checking in. The Front Office staff was very welcoming and pleasant to accommodate our request.

Check-in process was quick. FO staff requested for P500 for the key card which was refundable. One of their staff carried our things and assisted us to our room. Eventhough it's near the highway, the whole place was peaceful and relaxing.

Comfortable room and cozy ambiance. Has a veranda overlooking the other side of the hotel premise (cabanas, casitas, etc.) Some of the amenities inside the room were cable TV (not flat screen), aircon, mini-ref, SDB, coffee cups, water kettle, drinking glasses and condiments tray. Bathroom was ok but needs improvement.

We had Filipino Breakfast via Room Service and it's delicious. We requested for complimentary bottled water and it was given to us immediately.

No water coming out of the shower around 11:30 AM (while we were preparing for check-out) so I had to call the Housekeeping regarding it. Problem rectified after 10 minutes.

Overall, I can say this hotel is truly commendable when it comes to their staff and service. Will definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were supposed to use the voucher I purchased from Hotel Dominique last summer. However, but it was full on our preferred dates because of the peak season, therefore, we decided to risk using it on a rainy July weekend.

My number one consideration for a hotel is its accessibility. Hotel Dominique is right at the center of Tagaytay City, less than a kilometer from the landmark Rotonda. It is easy to go there if you are commuting from Manila, the bus can drop you off right infront of it. The hotel is also a stone's throw away from Pink Sisters convent and various fast food chains. The hotel looks small upfront but once you get inside, it's pretty huge and clean. The reception area is quite small, but cozy. They require P500 fully refundable deposit upon check-in.

We stayed at a studio type Casita, which has 1 queen sized bed and 1 single bed. Since we are 5 adults and one toddler, we requested for an extra bed (P500), and we told the staff to put the two beds side by side so we have one huge bed. The casita has a homey feel with the soft lighting and glass doors leading to the small veranda. It has clear cable TV, small fridge and an electric kettle, with no adapters, so you can't plug it anywhere (The hotel has corkage fees since they have a resto, so you can't just sneak in instant coffee hehe!). What we love most about the Casita is the parking area right infront of it and the veranda where you can enjoy a cup of hot coffee. Mobile phone signals, however, is very weak especially inside the casitas, so if you want to surf the net, better do it in the resto.

Hotel Dominique is also a popular host to various events such as debuts and weddings. It even has a small swimming pool and a gym. The resto has a pretty extensive menu at reasonable price (P55 for a cup of brewed coffee, not bad).

If you want to spend a quiet weekend in Tagaytay while enjoying a little swim amidst the cold weather, you might find Hotel Dominique a suitable home for you and your family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank icequeen_emjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The location is located along the highway but it is ideal to bring car if you plan to check-in here. This is the other side of the street, not where you would have the view of Tagaytay in the morning. Good thing here is quietness of the place but it tends to get creepy if you are alone. Rooms are good. Complimentary breakfast is ok. Pool is very cold, you may not want to dip in there. Place is a bit closed.

Room Tip: Stay in cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xChaLeex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
0.5 mi away
Tagaytay Country Hotel
Tagaytay Country Hotel
#16 of 26 in Tagaytay
86 reviews
2.6 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 26 in Tagaytay
369 reviews
2.2 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Hotel Tagaytay
Days Hotel Tagaytay
#7 of 26 in Tagaytay
225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
#11 of 26 in Tagaytay
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Destination Hotel
Destination Hotel
#22 of 26 in Tagaytay
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dominique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dominique

Property: Hotel Dominique
Address: Km. 55 Aguinaldo Hi-way | Brgy. Maitim II East, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dominique offers comfortable rooms, first-rate facilities, and affordable hotel rates in Tagaytay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel Dominique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing