We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel experience I had” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lake Hotel Tagaytay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Tagaytay
Cavite City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best hotel experience I had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

First of all, the location site of the hotel in Tagaytay is so beautiful and grandiose. The scenery of the Taal lake and volcano is such a joy to watch. We only took an hour to drive from our residence to The Lake Hotel, Tagaytay. It is so convenient and easy to locate (along the National road). It is our third anniversary of my husband and we decided to go upland to celebrate it. When we got in the grand lobby of the hotel itself, we were so delighted with how the attendants helped us with our needs in assistance. The staff in the information desk is so polite and accommodating. We got a room suited for the both of us. The room is so cozy and ideal. Everything that we needed was provided to us with the great service of the entire staff. The food was enticing and so was the drink. It tasted so sumptuous and tender. Moreover, we planned to stay in the hotel for just a night but when we experienced the good service of the hotel itself, my husband and I decided to stay for one more night. We were very satisfied and relaxed in our stay there. The celebration of our anniversary was so romantic and perfect and one factor that affected it was The Lake Hotel, Tagaytay.
Thank you so much and we swear to go back and stay in your hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room which is overlooking the view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayalaeliza14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    121
    54
    18
    20
See reviews for
94
95
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Lake Hotel Tagaytay charged me P10,500 for a room with a mulfunctioning hot/cold water. I had to call the front desk to have it fix. The maintenance were able to fix the hot water at the tub at the expense of the cold water. Who the hell could bathe in an almost boiling water? To my frustration, I decided to just have a shower instead - NO HOT WATER AGAIN!

To The Lake Hotel Tagaytay, you are charging a lot but please give what your customers are paying for.

Based from my experience, I won't recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tagaytay hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

It was during the recent typhoon and when we got there we found that the view of the lake was poor in visibility. There were few guests at that time due to the typhoon and poor weather and despite them having spare capacity, they put us in the basement level rooms which made the place felt claustrophobic . After paying for an upgrade to 1st level we found both room too small for the extra bed which we had paid for during our online booking. When confronted,hotel pretended not to know of the extra bed we paid. Since we had paid out $65sgd for the extra beds...we did not the matter drop... They then suggested the rental of 2 1hr foot bath machines in exchange instead. We preferred and requested an exchange instead for 2 breakfast vouchers for a 6 and 9 year old child. They resisted and promised that the manager will contact us on our additional breakfast voucher request ....but till the next morning no manager followed tro or reverted on the our trade request. In the end we had to pay for the additional breakfast for both kids ourselves.

The service at breakfast was the worst I have ever encountered before. Menus served were repeated short changed and had to be requested. For example thr menus sited 2 eggs per plate ... Which we found we were shortchanged when they only delivered 1 egg for each plate. Toasts came without butter and had to be requested. Coffee without milk and creamer and had to be reminded. Later Pancakes without syrup. And 4 entitled servings of fruits where only 2 servings were served. They were consistently shortchanging us for that things that had been paid for...similar to the shortchange we got for the extra beds.
I wonder could the restaurant staff and managers on the floor be genuinely consistently unfamiliar with their menu portions or are they merely consistently pretending?

The hotel did nothing to make up for a more pleasurable stay Under the circumstance of the poor weather and fog the typhoon brought us...they even tried to shortchange us all through our stay

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karenchiasiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed in the hotel last week and had a wonderful time. I would consider the view they had of the Taal Volcano to be one of the best there is in Tagaytay. We almost cancelled the trip after reading some the negative reviews but decided to continue and we’re so happy we did… To summarize: Rooms are not that big but are nice(one queen and one single bed), Location is great –walking distance to major restos in the area, best view of the taal volcano; Hotel looks great and pretty new; Service- people were very helpful and accommodating. Would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WGN778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed at a deluxe room with a balcony, with an awesome, unobstructed view of taal lake. It's located on the good part of the ridge, hence the awesome view. The room is just the right size, with 1 queen and 1 single bed. Wouldve ben nice if it had a king bed though. Everything was nice and tidy. They should taken advantage of the view for their restaurant though, coz it was awful, it was in an enclosed convention type hall, just awful...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnottyChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed here during the tail end of a typhoon and couldn't get out to visit Taal volcano (boats across were cancelled as it wasn't safe) so had to stay in the hotel most of the weekend. Despite being trapped by the bad weather, we enjoyed the atmospheric view from our balcony, clouds swirling and tumbling over the hillsides and lake. Rooms were nice and modern, glass panels between room and en-suite, upper floor rooms with balconies and good views over the lake and surrounding hillsides. The volcano could be seen from the general central area and balconies of rooms on the right hand side of the hotel (facing the lake), not the left. Not so keen on the buffet breakfast (limited choice and busy, tables needed clearing), but the small restaurant was reasonable value, very nice tomato soup.

We had planned to go for dinner one evening at Antonio's, a couple of km away. As we had been dropped off and didn't have a car with us we had thought we would get a taxi there. However, both Antonio's and the hotel advised us that taxis were not generally available in Tagaytay so we had to give this a miss, disappointing but not the hotel's fault. Staff were helpful and friendly, and presented us with a free umbrella as a memento of our rather damp trip!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSFLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

the hotel is relatively new, built just about a year ago. hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. we took the overnight package which included dinner, breakfast, 1 hour spa, and other freebies, but since we already had dinner plans, they willingly changed our hotel dinner coupons for lunch the next day. jeanette, the hotel admin manager, took note that it was my friend's bday, so during lunch, she surprised my friend with a bday cake. as we were enjoying the fabulous view of the volcano and the lake, one hotel staff offered to bring us to the executive lounge, which the view was even more spectacular! they truly made our stay and my friend's bday special.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmco_mnlph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
3.5 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
1.0 mi away
Taal Vista Hotel
Taal Vista Hotel
#5 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
4.2 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#4 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kimberly
Hotel Kimberly
#2 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tagaytay Country Hotel
Tagaytay Country Hotel
#16 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
#12 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Hotel Tagaytay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Hotel Tagaytay

Property: The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
Address: Km 58 Emilio Aguinaldo Highway Maharlika East, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake Hotel Tagaytay 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuddled up amidst the slope of Tagaytay Ridge, approximately 90 minutes away from Manila, The Lake Hotel Tagaytay is a picture of verdantly serene and majestic haven. The Mediterranean inspired architectural design is complimented by the breathtaking view of the world-famous Taal Volcano and the opulence of over a hundred year old trees sprawled along the cliff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lake Hotel Tagaytay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing