We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view of Taal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Tagaytay
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view of Taal”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We went there at around 10 in the morning but was told that we can chack in only by 1PM so we decided to explore (for the nth time) tagaytay first.

By 1 in the afternoon, we checked in at the Lake Hotel. We got the Deluxe Lake View Room to have a better view of the Taal volcano. Located on the 3rd floor of the building, the room was actually big and spacious for two as it has 1 queen size and 1 single bed, with its own private veranda. The only thing that my boyfriend did not like is the orthopaedic queen size bed. It was uncomfortable for him because at that time he had a back pain (old age!).

Like a typical hotel, bell boy will assist you in checking in your room. You also get some privacy here since there are only more or less 30 rooms in total. There is also a pool for kids. I just don’t know if it’s heated, since we have not tried swimming during our stay. Half of the pool has cover, while the other half has none, so you have the option either to get tanned or hide from the heat of the sun.

Bathroom was spacious, with bath tub. There’s even a glass window with curtain, perfect for couples, and also gives you the option to have privacy if you are with others.

Location wise, it is superb as it is just along the highway. It’s easily accessible to restaurants and Lourdes church, if you go there on weekends.

The next day, we ate breakfast (well, I actually forced him to eat breakfast! :p). The view from their café early in the morning was stunning! We’ve been to Tagaytay for a lot of times but we decided to check in at the Lake Hotel because of its majestic view of the Taal. The weather was cold, perfect to escape the burning heat in Manila.

Breakfast was not that impressive, not much variety of food, but good enough to make your tummy full.

Room Tip: Deluxe Lake View Room (located at the 3rd floor) to have a better view of the Taal volcano, but if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette_Ruiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    124
    57
    20
    23
See reviews for
102
99
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I obsessively poured over the reviews of all the listed hotels in Tagaytay on this and other websites because I wanted my honeymoon to be a memorable experience for all the right reasons. Reading the negative reviews very closely and weighing the complaints vs. expectations of the reviewers, I finally reluctantly decided to make our reservations for The Lake Hotel. I must say I was overall very pleased with this hotel. The service provided by the staff was very efficient, professional and competent. From the overseas calls I made to confirm changes in reservation requests to the concierge, breakfast, laundry and maid services, every part of our stay was handled in the most professional and competent manner. The room was clean and well kept. The lobby and breakfast area was beautiful. The pool was nice, although I can understand why some reviewers may not have liked the location. The driveway does need to be re-paved. They do have crumbly old tiles on the ground that could be a safety concern for some people, but the hotel guards more than made up for it by aiding in our parking and escorting us to and from the hotel holding umbrellas over us when it rained. And boy did it rain! We went in September and it is the rainy season so it is to be expected but there is a dampness problem with the lobby and with the flooring being marble it was very slick. I was suprised nobody fell while we were there. The view of the Taal is amazing and a wonderful sight to wake up to. The place is still under construction so if you are expecting perfection maybe wait 2 years and I am sure it will meet your expectations. I have been to the Philippines a number of times and have stayed in every where from 20 dollar a night hotels to 300 dollar a night hotels and have learned not to view these places with the same expectations I would have for an American hotel, but I must say The Lake Hotel exceeded my expectations for a hotel in the Philippines and would be easily comparable to a legitmate 4 star hotel in the U.S. My wife and I will come back here to stay the next time we are in Tagaytay for sure. I am sure when the construction is finalized it will be an even more memorable experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ignatius R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This is a great hotel in the middle ofTagaytay City.  Location is ideal - near the restaurants & tourist spots. A view of the Tagaytay lake from the room is very nice. 
We were given a room near the lobby & pool area & so we enjoyed it so much.  But the best thing about this hotel is the excellent service given by the staff from security, parking, frontdesk, restaurant & bell service. Everyone was so helpful & provided assistance with a smile.  Another best thing is the hearty buffet breakfast.  We would surely be back to this hotel and hopefully by then, the basement construction is completed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LADYMMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here few days ago. Upon arriving, we were welcomed with warmth by the hotel staffs.  The front desk officer is friendly and attentive. He offered us the Sweet September Promo, for the rate of 5k it has so many freebies like free massage and dinner (impressive enough). We experienced fast registration and check in. We stayed at a Standard room with two beds (but we just need one) and a balcony, its just right for a couple the room is clean and relaxing. Food is okay, serving is enough but hoping next time we would experience a buffet breakfast.  The only problem I encountered is the weak wifi access in our room.
Over all experience is great, the price is worth it. The staffs are very friendly and accommodating.  I’ll come back to this place and we’ll try a room with a view! Hoping there’s still a promo like what we had.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkasuchiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valenzuela, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My partner and I went here over the weekend of September 15 to basically celebrate our "first ever" anniversary. We simply wanted to spent a relaxing Tagaytay overnight away from the busy city so we booked a standard room which is packaged in a promo called "Sweet September" which include a free massage, tibetan foot sauna, set dinner and breakfast buffet for two. When the Manager learned that it was our anniversary, he upgraded our package to a superior room with a great view of Taal which was great!!! We arrived 2 hours behind the 2PM check in time but the Manager offered that we can stay until 2 pm on the next day which is SUPER GREAT!!!

The room was cozy with two spacious beds. The veranda was cute but offered a fantastic 180 degree view of the entire lake and the world famous volcano. The cool breeze from the lake was so relaxing! My partner was jumping up and down in happiness! The bathroom is also spacious with all the little things you need. I simple love their bath gel which smells terrific.

We stayed most of the time in the hotel because of the bad weather but we enjoyed every minute of it. The set dinner was nice and we really enjoyed their salad! The buffet breakfast was AWESOME with lots of choices. We simply loved their beef tapa, chicken gordon blue, bacon and pancakes topped with fresh blueberries!

The garden overlooking was really nice with stuffs made for the kids to enjoy (bikes, etc.) We never got the chance to take a dip in the pool but we were amazed that some kids had the gutts to swam over the cold waters over a rainy day (probably they couldnt resist to experience the lovely pool).

Overall, it was a splendid experience and I cant wait to visit this fascinating hotel soon!!! It was like looking at Taal in a new way. (pictures to follow)

Room Tip: TIP: Never hesitate to talk to the Manager for any special requests. He will always be GLAD to help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John Virzon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

We spent our 5th year anniversary in this hotel last May 2012.Its our company outing so my mahal and I decided to take a trip in Tagaytay for our celebration.He opt not to make any reservation with any hotel bec he thought it will be easier for us to get a hotel.its saturday so most of the people are away to unwind themselves.all of our chosen hotels were fully occupied.we came across this hotel and decided to try our luck.at first we were hesitant to acept the only available room offeredto us because its too expensive for our budget but since we dont have a choice so we just grab the room(it cost 8k by the way).the room is locTed left corner of the hotel.it has a veranda with coffee table outside and a breathtaking view of taal lake.they have s small garden outside with the awesome view of taal.u can do stargazing at night in the garden.it also has beach chairs where u can sit and relax.by the way,our roomhas two beds,one queen size bed and 1 single bed(w/c is no use to us since we're only two).it has a bath tub and toiletries but no bidet.my mahal had a hard time asking for "tabo" when he needed to.simce the hotel is fully occupied they had a buffet breakfast in the morning.the food was great most especially the mushroom soup.i cant forget the taste the only downside of the hotel is the pool whre situated on the entrance area.it could have been perfect it was place somewhere.they asked for additional fee whenever u asked for addtl service like pitcher of ice.the parking is secured and the guard are all attentive.i wish they would place bidet inside their bathrooms.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rba_0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed here after a horrible experience the night before in another hotel. The immediate thing we noticed was how ugly the tiles were in the parking area. They were sinking and our feet got wet. They were renovating the parking also and they were almost fully booked so it was very difficult to get a parking slot, even if you are a guest.

Their hotel is open house so when it rains it is very slippery. They didn't have the more expensive non slip rubber carpet. Instead they a cheaper plastic carpet that is still unstable when rainy. Be very careful - their entrance is going down around 15 stairs a slip is dangerous.

For an unfinished project they had very expensive rooms. They were trying to be 5 star pricing but they fall short in terms of value. Their cheapest room is around 5000ish already!!!
Their Front desk is a bit lacking also and do not have presence of mind - we had to ask for a porter even though they saw that we needed one.

They should really check out some of their equipment also, a lot of the things such as handles in the tub feel awkward and rushed. Some were even loose.

The food was very good! They followed special requests and their chefs know how to make a perfect soft boiled egg. They had lots of food choices in their buffet.

All in all, they were very average, They could be better. Like i said, they are an unfinished project, ill come check them out in a year or so - in the mean time i suggest trying to get in the true 4-5 star hotels first.

Room Tip: Lake View is always the best. Could cost you as much as 16,000 or round 400 USD per night though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don Gabriel Oli... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
1.0 mi away
Taal Vista Hotel
Taal Vista Hotel
#4 of 26 in Tagaytay
1,132 reviews
3.2 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
3.6 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 26 in Tagaytay
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kimberly
Hotel Kimberly
#2 of 26 in Tagaytay
523 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
#11 of 26 in Tagaytay
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
#14 of 26 in Tagaytay
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Hotel Tagaytay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Hotel Tagaytay

Property: The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
Address: Km 58 Emilio Aguinaldo Highway Maharlika East, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake Hotel Tagaytay 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuddled up amidst the slope of Tagaytay Ridge, approximately 90 minutes away from Manila, The Lake Hotel Tagaytay is a picture of verdantly serene and majestic haven. The Mediterranean inspired architectural design is complimented by the breathtaking view of the world-famous Taal Volcano and the opulence of over a hundred year old trees sprawled along the cliff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Lake Hotel Tagaytay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing