We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
84
7
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
7
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor jacuzzifire lake grillcorner suitehomemade granolabuttered toastspinach mushroomtaal volcanowedding prepsr rrelaxing weekendview from the balconyenjoyed our stayspacious bathroomgreat viewjeffpreparationsir
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2014

That was an overnight stay only for that foggy week-end getaway on that end of July but a truly memorable one. Check-in process was overwhelming. There were welcome treats with personal notes from the manager. We felt like vvips and all of our requests for room service were granted. Mini bar had great varieties at very reasonable prices. Toiletries were abundant and of class quality. Turn-down service was touching accompanied with a sweet remembrance. Ambiance was romantic. Surrounding in-house establishments cater to all varying wants as they have like more than 5 outlets in the vicinity. Breakfast was so elegant in presentation and superb taste. I love the sausage! Resort staff were all warm - front and back of the house. Excellent service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Island_Professional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2014 via mobile

It was a very memorable stay at Cliffhouse Tagaytay. The whole hotel smells so good. The ambiance is super cozy that I ended up staying in the hotel the whole day. Their minibar inside the room is heaven. The food tastes good and its presentation is very very nice. I love it! :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CovertCouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2014

Upside
1. Staff were wonderful. Very friendly and looked after us.
2. Room decor - cosy, inviting, ambient (there is only 4 to choose from)
3. Food (breakfast) - tasty sausages; loved the presentation!
4. Check in process- warm and quick; lobby is decorated nicely
5. Location- easy to find; surrounded by good restaurants
6. Surrounding Noise - none at all!
7. Linens, towels, etc. - Fresh
8. Mini bar- well stocked

Downside
1. Pricey at $350 per night (Php 15,000+), so you expect the place to be spotless
2. Chipped tiles in our bathroom
3. Peeling wall paint inside our room
4. Wall cracks
5. Dusty in the outdoor Jacuzzi area
6. Mould on ceiling drapes in the balcony area
7. Booked breakfast for 10:30am, phone rings at 10:15 to tell us "food is ready". Wish they could just let us chillax, no rushing on a saturday morning... after all, there's only 2 rooms occupied.
8. Feedback Form - needs improvement

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NorthStarManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatcliffhouse, Manager at The Inn at Cliffhouse Tagaytay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

September 11, 2014

Dear northstarManila,

Thank you for your review and comments regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Cliffhouse Tagaytay.

We take all guest comments seriously and would like you to know that we are aware of the conditions mentioned.

Our repair and maintenance work (such as repainting, etc.) had already been scheduled previously and will commence sometime towards the end of the 3rd quarter, at the end of the typhoon season.

Regarding dust in the outdoor Jacuzzi area, admittedly, it is a constant battle keeping the area totally dust-free. Keeping the terrace spotless is a delicate balance between scheduling more frequent cleaning while respecting the privacy of our guests. This area overlooks and has a 180 degree view of a forest and sanctuary, and is exposed to the wind and other natural elements. And although housekeeping makes every effort to keep this area clean, in the future, you should feel free to call our housekeepers who will be more than happy to come and spotclean at your
convenience, and even help run the outdoor Jacuzzi for you.

We regret the inconveniences, however minor, that marred what otherwise might have been a perfect stay. All the issues you mentioned have already been discussed with staff and have been communicated to our corporate office in Manila. You have my personal assurance that they are being addressed.

We value your business and hope for an opportunity to welcome you back to The Inn at Cliffhouse Tagaytay.

Sincerely yours,
Rolly Legislador
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2014

This is one of those places that falls into that increasingly common group of hotels that seem to ignore the importance of good housekeeping and on-going maintenance.

Although the location is great, the general lack of facility management detracts from what could be a great boutique hotel.

Issues we found:
The bathroom fittings were stained with what appeared to be either lime scale or soap scum. I was unable to get any hot water from the overhead shower although the handheld attachment was warmer. The edges of the bathroom floor are encrusted in what looks like mould or algae. The overhead drapes on the balcony were filthy. The fan was dirty and clearly hadn't been cleaned in some time. There were broken tiles on the balcony and the paintwork needs cleaning and refreshing. Paint around the door in the room was flaking off. The TV reception was grainy and the wifi connection was so slow I gave up and used 3G instead.
Good bits:
Great Location - several dining options nearby. Friendly staff. Nice jacuzzi on the balcony.

Really couldn't recommend this place at these prices. At 350 USD per night I expect much better.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank RippleRise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My family and I stayed overnight in January 2014 and got two rooms. We loved the location, and the surroundings have a beautiful view of Taal. Each room is spacious, with it's own Jacuzzi, TV and amenities fit for a 5 star hotel. We had lunch within the vicinity, although I regret not trying the much reviewed restaurant nearby at dinner time. Breakfast is complimentary, and I was pleasantly surprised with the quality and the quantity of their Breakfast! We were so full that we didnt feel hungry until we reached Manila again.

This is my first trip back to Tagaytay after 8 years. I am so surprised with the traffic in this slice of heaven. It almost ruined the feeling of returning to the "country side", but once entering the room and seeing the view. It was our own private heaven.

The only issue I have is that there was no place for our driver to stay. The Security Guard wouldnt even allow our driver to stay in the car overnight. And for the driver to look for lodging at night, he has to take our car with him, park it at his place of stay, and come back the next day for us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mjckit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews