We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“recommendable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magallanes Square Hotel
Ranked #39 of 97 Tagaytay B&B and Inns
Las Piñas, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“recommendable”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

As what the title said, indeed its true .We stayed here just for a night with my dear husband who's at that time is about to go on board again so it's our 'night together' away from home and kids.Actually this hotel was not our first choice,and we're glad we stayed here.Room was far from ok considering that we paid less than a $100 it comes with a free breakfast though its not that hard to find good place to eat because the hotel was located just across the 'restaurant hubs'-starbucks,carlos pizza,pancake house etc.so many eateries to choose from.We will surely come back with our kids here the next time we needed a place to stay in Tagaytay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dengski68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    13
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
14
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Makati
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Pros:
-centrally located... very accessible from the main road; restos and coffee shops are just across the road... thumbs up!
-they offer free coffee and bottled water which are not usually available with the other accommodation sprawling within the area.
-clean bedding and bed, clean bathroom and a big flat screen TV.
-equipped with personal safe... thumbs up!
-they accept credit card for payment! THANK GOD!
-acceptable variety of breakfast.

Cons:
-floor carpet smells funky!
-broken light bulb inside the bathroom
-no wifi access inside the room... thumbs down!
-no view.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recidivist8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2013

we have stayed here for the second time already so far this hotel is the best for me room price was ok considering the good location near 711 across a lot of food establishments(chickboy,max,leslie,etc.)room is clean we stayed at room 104 there is internet access and it is fast possible if you will stay upstairs there is no wifi signal.food price though is exoensive i am not sure if the food price is good for more than 2 person.parking is secured and big.hotel employees were very helpful and accomodating.we have tried looking for other hotels(which are not that expensive)so far i prefer this hotel.bathroom is clean and bed linens as well.we arrive around 7am yesterday and we were allowed to check in early around 9am with no extra charge.the room has its own ref,hot water kettle,free 2 bottles of mineral water.I would suggest they put a dock for ipod or radio so that in case you dont want to watch tv you can just listen to the radio.hope they can have more food optuons and also not that expensive.you can bring your own food by the way inside your room.hoping as well they have specialdiscounts for loyal customers.i forgot to mention i was surprise that they have a free car wash i wasnt able to avail that since we had to go out that time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

very accessible and convenient near to Leslie's, Dencio's, Starbucks, pasalubong kiosks, 7-11 and other restaurants, where you can see a clear view of the Taal lake... hotel rooms are nice and clean, particularly the bathroom. bt we seldom stayed inside the room since we travelled around Tagaytay. No wi-fi access inside our room ...you have to go out to the lobby area, its a hassle. price of the room quite high, breakfast is included but limited food selection. Nice to stay overnight.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

A good hotel in a very good location. It's near everything. Convenient Store (7-11) and lots of restaurants to choose from just across the street. Stayed here for a night. The room that we're in is kinda small but no fuss about it since the room is equipped with a flat-screen cable TV and a personal safe + free wifi. =) The room also has this modern vibe, i just don't like the T&B.
No problem with parking, you're car or van or whatever is safe. Staffs are friendly but slow. Breakfast is ok - nothing to rave about. Overall, the hotel is good because of it's location (don't expect to have a view of Taal Volcano though!) plus good value for your money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mutyamoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The hotel is right across from Leslie's restaurant along tagaytay calamba road. If you are looking for a hotel just to sleep in and expect limited interaction with hotel staff, this hotel should be okay. If you have an option to get a cheaper rate with no breakfast, go for it! Breakfast is terrible and it took 1 hour and a half to prepare a simple meal for two. I had to go inside their kitchen to pick up my food - no exaggeration!
Horrible front desk service (name Karel/Carel - not sure of the spelling) she was rude, also did not give us any option to go for no breakfast just gave the more expensive deal. Did not want to give us extra keys for the room. The electricity was shutdown every time we stepped out of the room. The temperature during the weekend was in the high 30 degree Celsius so it took some time for the AC to cool the room every time we had to step out.


Pros:
Nice location, lots of restaurants across from the hotel, free wifi, nice room interior, the other staff were okay - greeted customers a lot

Cons:
Terrible experience with front desk staff (Karel, Carel - girl with glasses)- sounded sarcastic every time she would answer questions, no extra key allowed - room electricity including A/C was shutdown, few choices for breakfast and expensive, no menu available in the room, breakfast took 1 hour and a half to prepare

Tip:
Go across the street to Max's restaurant for better breakfast. Try LZM which right outside the hotel for Dinner or lunch.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have no window. Executive rooms are better and have windows but you can see the silhou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tagaytay hotels

manila
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night last march.
my review:
Pros:
friendly staff but needs a little more training specially when dealing with foreign guests.
everything i requested was accomodated.
room was cozy.
Location of the hotel was very convenient. walking distance from a lot of restaurants and 711.
bathroom was nice.

Cons:
no view
some rooms has no windows.
breakfast was cold.
coffee was cold.

price range: i bit to high for its amenities

over all i rate this hotel a 3 and 3/4 star

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gianskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
1.4 mi away
Tagaytay Country Hotel
Tagaytay Country Hotel
#17 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Aroha
Hotel Aroha
#51 of 97 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
2.1 mi away
MC Mountain Home Apartelle
MC Mountain Home Apartelle
#26 of 97 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lazea Tagaytay Inn
Lazea Tagaytay Inn
#6 of 97 in Tagaytay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Q Hotel
The Q Hotel
#68 of 97 in Tagaytay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lee Boutique Hotel
Lee Boutique Hotel
#4 of 97 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magallanes Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magallanes Square Hotel

Property: Magallanes Square Hotel
Address: Magallanes Drive cor. Sta. Rita Road, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Magallanes Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magallanes Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing