We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded. Charming room but needs better bathroom.”
Review of Casa de Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Carlo
Ranked #63 of 106 Tagaytay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We are a family of 5 and we stayed in their suite for 4 people and paid additional for an extra person. The room was decorated nicely though it could use more lighting and a bit more cleaning. The bathroom is a disappointment. It was very basic and very small - definitely not a "hotel bathroom". The garden was also quite nice and their lobby too.

The location of the place is kind of hard to find at first but we just took 2 tricycles here from the highway where we were dropped-off by the bus from Manila. The front desk can also arrange tricycles if you need to leave, just inform them around 10 min before your departure. You can then catch the jeep from the highway going to the famous places in Tagaytay like Bag of Beans, Palace in the Sky, etc. Their food was also good though it could be cheaper. Overall this was a nice overnight stay in Tagaytay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssofiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

A 2 hour trip via public transportation from Manila. (On a Saturday evening, imagine the traffic.)
We went here with the plan of just chilling out and having some quality time with my special someone and that's exactly what we had. We had fun naming the flowers and the plants in the garden. We also had our dinner and breakfast there, it really had a nice vibe.
The room is cozy, the bathroom works fine. The staff was very accommodating and friendly, we even became friends with their chihuahua there. :)
Definitely recommending this, can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: Booked Executive Suite 1, that was nice. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I read the Casa de Carlo reviews at this website and decided to book accommodations for 2 nights for me and my wife. Tagaytay is near so that's an advantage as we don't have to take a long trip to take a break. We stayed at Casa de Carlo because I read in your reviews that it was a quiet and Spanish-style place, and I don't want the cold interior of a hotel room anymore as one looks just like another. I wanted to eat the paella which I saw in their menu when I visited the Casa de Carlo website, and it was excellent. We were able to get a massage in the spa and it was great, and my wife and I will be going there again, for sure, as it lived up to my expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EngrAlonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Quite far in location in Tagaytay, but it's a place of serenity. We went there as a group and we never had such great time in Tagaytay! Great house we stayed at; the Spanish casa looks so rich; nice jacuzzi; the videoke house was very artistic, although we didn't like the microphone at all; nice staff too! We will definitely come back! Great location for team buildings!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeopoldBloom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The room is not attached to the main house and the rest room is not in good condition when we booked the place last August. The house has the influence of Spanish touch. It has a big garden outside perfect for reception and big gatherings. The place don’t have a pool.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhik30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

we got this voucher from ensogo. few days before our stay, i searched for REVIEWS and i must say that what i found worried us a lot. reviews for Casa de Carlo isn't good obviously, but we still went there since the voucher is non refundable.

BUT guess what? we did NOT experienced any negative reviews that i've read in the internet. here's my SAY:

1.old SPANISH style place
-- yes it is old. but we think that majority of the place still looks nice (especially the living room area/reception area). though a little renovations would be nice.

2. music and stuffs
-- the music in the living area is really nice and soothing to the ear. their antique decorations are really beautiful. they also have this compilations of pictures of celebrities who's been to the place for shootings and any other events :p

3. room is really BIG, though its smells old. (we had the Suite #3)
-- we didn't expect that the room is big, like sooo big! hahaha. though its smells OLD. maybe because of the antiques they have inside the room, which i think just add characters too it. we really like the 2 Beds we had, especially the one with the old style (with curtains) which gives you the princess-iish feeling. i also appreciate the mini library they have inside the room, since im a big fan of books!

4. STAFFS were very ATTENTIVE, POLITE and always have their big smile ready for us (especially Sir Lino and Ann :)
-- i remember reading a review that says their breakfast was prepared sooo late, and they requested for a coffee which arrived in their room 2 HOURS later. BUT hey! i think that the management read the review and did something about it.

a. upon arrival, Sir Lino welcomed and greeted us warmly. we asked if its possible for an early check-in since we arrived 12 noon and the check-in time is 2pm. Unfortunately he says no, since the rule for ensogo vouchers is really 2pm check-in time. We asked if its possible if we can leave our things, since we're planning to have our lunch at Sonya's Garden. He said he'll check on it first. He went back after 1-2 minutes and said that we can go to our room now and leave our things there.

b. before we left for lunch, he asked if he can take our orders for the breakfast for the following morning. (to be honest, i thought about the "late breakfast" review i've read from a blog, but anyway, we still chose from their menu thinking that we're actually living as early as 10am the following day.). we requested our breakfast to be ready by 8am, and he said its ok. he even asked if we wants it to be served in our room or in the garden, we chose the garden since a nice morning breeze would really be nice before going back to Manila :)

c. without us knowing it, Sir Lino actually called for a tricycle to drive us going to the hi-way "Crossing Mendez", where we can ride a jeep going to Sonya's Garden. (Clap! clap! clap!)

d. after Sonya's Garden, as soon as they heard the tricycle stopped at the front gate... Sir Lino welcomed us and greeted us again. seriously? YES. before, we went to our room... he asked if we need additional assistance. we said no, and told him that we came back just to rest but we will leave again to go to Magallanes Strip for a few drinks ;p we asked him if its ok if we came home late (like 2am), he said that the reception area will be close by 12 midnight. BUT, he said he'll check if theres someone who can open the gate for us by 2am. He left us for a while and came back saying that we can go out and be back by 2am. He said that he already asked someone to wait for us (NICE :)

e. we left CDC around 9pm, we actually saw Sir Lino and a few staffs sleeping already (hehehe...). This time, its 'Ann' who assisted us and walk us to the gate.

f. we actually arrived earlier, around 12 midnight. and there's Kuya who immediately open the gate for us as soon as the tricycle stopped in front of the gate (forgot to get his name...sorry :)

g. the following morning around 6am, i went outside our room to ask assistance in regards to our tv, 'cause we tried to change the channel, but we ended up with no connection (but the tv is working ok before we tried to change the channel). i didnt see anyone in the reception area so i walked down on my way to the gate and see if "Kuya" can help us. in my surprise, i heard Sir Lino calling me from behind and asked if i need anything (hahaha...) i told him the problem and he went to our room and fix it.

h. at 8am, we had our breakfast in the garden :) another positive review is that their food is really good! (i had salad, scrambled egg, tocino w/ rice and cold iced tea). crazy thing was Ann, who served us the breakfast was actually standing a few feet away from our table making sure that we're ok and letting us know that she's just 'right there' anytime we need requests. hahaha. its actually a little awkward and we're already thinking of telling her that we're ok and she can leave us... but we're all shy that no one dared to tell her that. so we just clean a little our table as a little help for her.

i. when we're about to check-out, the handle in the zipper of my bag got busted, because i have some junkfoods inside it that we bought but didn't eat. i asked to borrow scissor to Sir Lino so i can try to fix it. he came back with a small plies and fixed it himself.



*what i didn't like...*
1. the streets outside is really dark during night, putting streetlights on the way going to CDC would be really appreciated.
2. place is quite far from the main hi-way, and far from the Tagaytay center like; Magallanes strip and Tagaytay landmarks.
3. i do NOT like the big painting we have in our room...hahaha... its really creepy! i didnt even dared to study or look at it at night! its a big picture of a root tree. yeah, a root of a tree... in a ZOOM-iiish way. very creepy! *actually im not sure if its a painting or a picture... because again, i didnt do some closer look ;p cause im afraid that it would eat me! lols! hahaha



but ALL in ALL, we really enjoyed the whole stay. thanks to the nice staffs for welcoming us!


- Ann G.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My Casa de Carlo Review

A trip to Casa de Carlo is like travelling in time.

The hushed tones of the Spanish hall, the beautiful garden with stupendous flowers, and relaxing atmosphere makes you think of an era long gone.

Unlike most hotels that are harsh and cold, this place bears a resemblance to that home of rich old grandaunt that you might have had. This place is a must visit for the beauty of the garden is indescribable.

And note that another plus factor that this reviewer of Casa de Carlo noted is the affordability of accommodations where you can get a unit good for eight people at only 250 a head.

Another reason why you should go to this fabulous hideaway in Tagaytay is to enjoy the spa room, where they have a luxurious multi-jet shower with glowing colorful lights and an ipod doc inside to have the best shower of your life and enjoy a relaxing massage after.

If you've been dreaming of having a beautiful wedding, debut, or any similar kind of function, or to simply enjoy a getaway where you can relax in the cool winds of Tagaytay and no longer want to go for cold and generic hotel rooms, give yourself and your loved ones the unforgettable experience of going to Casa de Carlo.


This review of Casa de Carlo is one that I write so you won't get swayed by minor complaints of the other reviews that if you will note, nearly all issues where addressed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyDominguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
3.5 mi away
Destination Hotel
Destination Hotel
#24 of 27 in Tagaytay
88 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
#14 of 27 in Tagaytay
184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Tagaytay
Residence Inn Tagaytay
#22 of 27 in Tagaytay
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Discovery Country Suites
Discovery Country Suites
#6 of 27 in Tagaytay
212 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tagaytay Country Hotel
Tagaytay Country Hotel
#19 of 27 in Tagaytay
97 reviews
5.8 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#4 of 27 in Tagaytay
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Carlo

Address: Las Brisas de Tagaytay Mendez Crossing west, Tagaytay, Luzon 0, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Tagaytay
Price Range: £32 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Carlo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Casa de Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing