We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bagnet in Tagaytay”
Review of Pamana Restaurant

Pamana Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 168 Restaurants in Tagaytay
Cuisines: Philippine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Bagnet in Tagaytay”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

If you've been to Barrio Fiesta then you essentially have an idea of the flavor profile of Pamana. Most of the dishes on the menu reflect the same dishes seen on Barrio Fiesta's menu albeit with slight tweaks. The Bulalo here while not the best in Tagaytay, can definitely be considered to be among the top 10, with the complimentary refill soup smartly placed inside a ceramic pitcher keeping it nice and warm. This is a huge factor for me since the biggest downfall of Bulalo is the oil and fat layer that starts to form as the soup begin to cool. With the hot refill pitcher in hand you can simply pour the soup in as it begins to cool, effectively neutralizing this problem. Two dishes however stand apart from the rest and are definite must tries if you ever find yourself in the area.

Pamana has the best Bagnet (crispy pork) outside of Baguio. The skin was crispy and crackling, but the best part is yet to come. Unlike most Bagnet served in other restaurants, (who for some reason associate crispiness with incineration) Pamana's Bagnet while wonderfully crisp and crunchy on the skin side, is beautifully moist and juicy on the meat portion. This provides you with an excellent play of textures in your mouth, allowing you to combine the crisp, crunchy skin with the moist and juicy pork meat. We ordered the Binagoongan version of the Bagnet, but in retrospect, we should have ordered it as is, since the bagoong did nothing to enhance the flavor and I ended up scraping it off anyway.

An excellent pairing to their Bagnet would be the Pancit Buko, which is essentially Pancit Canton but made using fresh buko strips in lieu of the traditional egg noodles. Although it may sound strange at first, it is a wonderful pairing that elevates the simple Pancit Canton to a world class dish. If you did not know what is was while eating it, you would simply think that you were having really good noodles with a bit of bite and a sublime sweetness to it. It's a fun dish that plays well inside your mouth by providing an entirely new texture to an otherwise old and boring traditional Filipino dish.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Master C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    88
    29
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Food wasn't bad but nothing extraordinary”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Sorry, but maybe we didn't order the right food, or that we didn't get the bestseller on their menu. We had Molo soup, Pakbet (asked to separate the bagoong), grilled Salmon and Liempo.
Molo soup was ok, but a bit salty. Pakbet tastes great but nothing special about it. What disappointed us was the Salmon and liempo. We ordered a grilled Salmon belly, expecting a rather generous portion of a full salmon belly, but what we got were 4 tiny strips of fish meat, so thin that you cannot distinguish the skin from the meat. Liempo was a major fail, we were served one slice of liempo with fat screaming all over the plate (that's 275.00). So how can you expect my 70ish old folks to eat that? For dessert we ordered turon with ice cream, but the banana was over ripe that made it mushy to eat. 2 pieces of turon and a scoop of cheese flavored ice cream for 170.00. Wow.

Well, the ambiance was welcoming. With their price, it should be.

Anyway, will we come back again? I guess not. But thank you for the experience.
It's Barrio Fiesta in Tagaytay actually. Only that, its 60km further from the city and yes, you pay for the ambiance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prechiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izegem, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pamana. Filipino cuisine on its finest.”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

My first time in Pamana as my wife told me that they have a great selection of filipino cuisine. My favorite of all filipino food is kare kare so I ordered one. Their homemade kare kare is probably one of the best Ive tasted so far. The blend, taste and texture was astonishing! Oh kudos to their 'Binagoongan' aswell. It was so good and somehow crispy. It ruined my diet but heck, im on a vacation! I rated their services poor as they are lacked of personel. We were at the rooftop and it was a total chaos. Nonetheless, the personel tried their very best to make our dining experience worthwhile.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayPascua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippines
Level 6 Contributor
780 reviews
391 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Authentic Filipino Dish in Tagaytay”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Tagaytay is a mountain resort south of Manila near Taal Volcano. We tried Pamana restaurant which served some Filipino dishes. The buffet dish were all Filipino dishes, including chicken inasal, bagnet, karekare and beef bone marrow soup to name a few. They also had fruit and pandan salad for dessert. Staff were very attentive and sufficient in quantity.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdchua521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“XO's for PAMANA”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Tried this restaurant last weekend. The restaurant was well designed and with excellent ambiance.We ordered Don Randy's Aligue Rice, Binagoongang Bagnet, Sugpo sa Taba ng Talangka. The food were served right on time. The food tasted great. The servers were very attentive and courteous. We were happy with our experience in this resataurant and looking forward to dine here again. XO's keep it up. :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gkasuchiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pamana Restaurant also viewed

Tagaytay, Cavite Province
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
 
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
 

Been to Pamana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing