We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Relax!”
Review of Taal Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taal Vista Hotel
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Tagaytay
Quezon City
1 review
“Best Place to Relax!”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Recently, me and my friends stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at Room 363. The moment we arrived we noticed that the staff were very attentive and warm. They were extra friendly and helpful to the extent of allowing us to leave all 6 of our bags in the small office when we arrived early in the morning of the date of check-in. The rooms and bathrooms are modest but clean and comfortable. Location is great too. The view from our room is fantastic! The breakfast spread is one of the better ones, we definitely enjoyed it. There was a small but useful amount of storage in the wardrobe and drawers. We had tea and coffee making facilities which were adequate and nicely presented. Also, an ATM machine is on the corner. Very convenient! There were plenty power points, free wifi, and cable tv - how can you go wrong?

Travelers, or perhaps couples, who want a convenient location for a good price need not look further.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally_escudero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    455
    199
    68
    42
See reviews for
470
263
25
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batangas, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Just came from a long weekend at the Taal Vista's premier room. It comes with a single and queen beds ideal for 4 pax with a balcony facing the magnificent view of the lake. the room is definitely spectacular as it is very clean and furnishings are all new since it is the newly built east wing. only thing missing is a bathtub!

as you enter the room, you will be greeted by a vase of fresh flowers, a variety of fresh fruits as compliments from the hotel. been to so many hotels around theworld yet these are a few add-ons which are becoming rarer this days and am happy to find it in a PHL hotel. i was on the lookout for the customer service / housekeeping flaws mentioned in previous reviews but to my surprise i have not encountered one. the staff has been totally generous in our entire stay. :o)

breakfast is something to be remembered as it offers so many filipino dishes. i had the time of my life with a buffet spread of chicken adobo, tuyo flakes, champorado and even taho for dessert on top of the usual american fares you normally get in hotel buffets. this is a welcome experience as well for foreign guests to sample our side of the bfasts. night caps is so relaxing and romantic given the temperature drop of tagaytay mixed with the soothing vocals with a good pianist in the lobby lounge. there is even a weekend market for fresh tagaytay produce!

our stay could have been better if not for the almost zero visibility of tagaytay due to the fog but then again it was quite a different experience.

the taal vista hotel has indeed come a long way from being the taal vista lodge (yes that was its name before). the lobby has been kept the same yet you know continued refurbushments are on the way. i would still recommend this hotel over the other newer b&b / hotels in the area since it has an expansive grounds worthy of the name "hotel".

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crissie328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Me and my son arrived mid afternoon today. The receptionist who entertained our check-in wasn't quite friendly. She doesn't use the word ma'am and she was quite rude when I asked politely about the breakfast buffet rate. And then I asked where our room was located, she said she will ask someone to assist us. I waited in the lobby for 15 mins but nobody came. We then just found our own way to our room. The worst part was when we got in our room when I checked the bathroom, the toilet was left unclean, not even flushed and with splaters on the seat. This is just not acceptable for a hotel of this class. We ordered room service 5 pm and after calling 3x for them to pick up the tray, 1030pm came and still no one was there to pick up the tray. I will never go back to this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jovy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This was my first trip to the Philippines and we bounced around quite a bit! We were happy to find ourselves in tagaytay for a few nights! The Rooms were definitely outdated, but the service was fabulous! Food was good (no one got sick!! Which we were quite worried about) and the hotel did a fabulous job of helping us set up our tours and transportation.

And be sure to visit the spa!! It is a great value for the services provided.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lb503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nr blackpool
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This hotel is a gem to find , on arrival we were given a welcome drink on arrival with breath taking views over Lake Taal . The reception and concierge staff are superb, the hotel is clean, modern(ised), the restaurant food and staff are first rate,the breakfast buffet was more than adequate.The bedroom was large,spacious and clean with all the facilities that comes with a good quality hotel, I would have given this hotel top marks but for one tiny error, On returning from the casino across the road one evening not to late ,(10pm) we found the hotel bar shut and in darkness, I have pointed this out to the manager, and he has very kindly replied to me to see if this can't be rectified, so hopefully in the future, late(ish) night revellers from the casino can enjoy a nightcap back at the Taal Vista

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryholdenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antipolo City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The hotel still provides the best views of the Taal Lake and Volcano from its balcony. Service is good, staff are friendly and the rooms are nice. Our room didn't have a view of the outdoors but is still quite good. We weren't able to sample their breakfast buffet but I assume it must be good enough for most guests to opt to have breakfast at the hotel given the other temptations in Tagaytay and that the hotel is located a bit of a distance from most of the restaurants in the city. There's a very good souvenir shop and the cakes at the lobby are something to really try out. SM did well in reviving the hotel but I guess the regular room prices are a bit high for most people going to Tagaytay (we went there for the weekend). I think its still the best hotel that isn't packaged as a bed & breakfast or boutique in Tagaytay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d0ctrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Reservation: Check Taal Vista's facebook account for their latest promos. They respond faster if you call rather than sending them an email. The promos cannot be availed if you booked your stay online so again, please call them to make most of your money.

Room: We reserved a room on the west wing. the room was kinda tired but the view was spectacular. the long walk (around 10-min) from the entrance to the room is kinda tiring though. The water (hot and cold) in the bathroom was ok but i hope there was a bidet. the a/c was great and the cable tv, ok. The ref was kinda a let down because it would require hours for it to get your drinks cold. the bed sheet and the pillows all smelled clean which i really liked.

Front desk: Disappointing. on our second day, as we were unlocking our room using the magnetic card, we were so surprised that the card had been deactivated. we called front desk to report it and they said someone would come to our room to assist us. after 15 minutes of waiting, nobody came and our room was 10-min walk from the front desk, also, when i called them to ask things about the freebies included in the promo we availed, they were not so friendly. i hope they can improve their frontdesk by makng their staff here more friendly.

Food: This is the best part of taal vista aside from the view in the hotel. The staff of the cafe on the ridge and the coffee shop in the lobby were all very attentive to the needs of the customers. The food- ALL GOOD. The food in taal vista will be the main reason to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Kimberly
Hotel Kimberly
#2 of 26 in Tagaytay
520 reviews
4.7 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 26 in Tagaytay
369 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
#10 of 26 in Tagaytay
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
2.5 mi away
Tagaytay Country Hotel
Tagaytay Country Hotel
#16 of 26 in Tagaytay
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
Summit Ridge Tagaytay
#14 of 26 in Tagaytay
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taal Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taal Vista Hotel

Property: Taal Vista Hotel
Address: 60 Aguinaldo Highway, Km, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tagaytay
#3 Spa Hotel in Tagaytay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tagaytay
#4 Family Hotel in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Taal Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views, crisp cool mountain air, lush flora and quaint nooks all come together at the new Taal Vista Hotel, Tagaytay City - the country's favorite destination. Taal Vista Hotel, is perched on a 700 meter high ridge that has the best view of the majestic Taal Volcano and its surrounding Taal Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taal Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taal Vista Hotel Tagaytay
Hotel Taal Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing