We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Possible credit card fraud / hotel is just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Country Suites
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Tagaytay
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Possible credit card fraud / hotel is just ok”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Before i start the review here is a warning about using your credit card : Do not use your credit card to pay for the hotel room inside the hotel. if you want to pay by credit card you should do it through a third party biller. I got charged twice for the room and i am still waiting for a refund ( been a month so far )

Besides that the Hotel was just ok. The location is right next to the street so there is always some noise from the Traffic outside( Especially the trikes ) + be prepared that Starbucks is right next door and the people tend to drink coffee till 2 am. The rooms are alright but for what you are paying you're not getting that much. We spent about 700 usd for a room for 1 night for 4 people.

For that Money you can find something nicer in a more Private Location with less noise

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denyo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Country Suites, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Denyo83,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Discovery Country Suites. We hope to address your concern about the noise when we undergo our major renovation of our rooms next month,
Regarding the credit card double billing, I believe we already communicated about the matter and that the card company is already rectifying their error.

That being the case, we trust that you will give us another opportunity to change your first impression of Discovery Country Suites. We hope to welcome you back when we re-open within the 3rd or last quarter of the month.

Sincerely,

Jonahs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    74
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
82
74
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night and had the best Tagaytay experience. Location is pretty nice as it's still on the main road but far enough from the super busy row of restaurants. A 3 floor starbucks just opened beside so that's also a plus if you're looking for somewhere else to go. The staff and service were A plus. All so accommodating and nice. The included wine and cheese buffet and cookies and milk were unexpected delighters. The complimentary board games and dvds were also a plus. The hotel only has a couple of rooms so the feel is always cozy. I agree that some of the room features could use a touch up but nothing so major to detract from the nice ambiance. The hotel is really geared towards relaxation as the only amenity is a small jacuzzi. Overall if staying with family and you want a chill place to stay and enjoy the weather and view, this is the place for you. I would recommend getting the rooms below if you're a big family. You can take advantage of the common living area. Also good for couples as well.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Reg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Country Suites, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Reg E,

Many thanks for your review. It was also a joy for us to be of service to you during your brief stay with us. It may interest you to know that a renovation is being planned to further enhance the boutique hotel experience in Discovery Country Suites. This is slated very soon so I hope that you are able to stay with us when that happens. We will keep you posted.

Regards,

Jonahs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Nice and cozy accommodations but needs some renovation to update the designs and the room amenities.
I will rate their breakfast 3 out 5, 5as the highest. The bathroom fixtures need some changes to be upto date. :) i love their turn down service, especially the cookies and warm milk delivered at the room every night. Will surely return!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank otepz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Country Suites, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear otepz,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts about Discovery Country Suites in Tripadvisor. With regards to renovation, I am happy to tell you that this is indeed in the works and it will most likely be in 2014, We are very excited about it as we know it will enhance the guest experience even more. We will keep you posted on developments.

Yours sincerely,

Jonahs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I've stayed in this hotel once before in 2011 but stayed in another room. This time around, I stayed in the Nantucket room from Dec 6-7, 2013. I think it would be good to start the review with the booking process. Discovery Country Suites is quite efficient in this aspect. The people who take the reservations are equipped with most of the information you need to make a quick decision on a booking. This makes for a smooth and painless process.

Being a boutique hotel, service always seems to be a differentiating factor. The staff were attentive, courteous, and always smiling. They always try please and ensure your needs are met.

The room I stayed at with my siblings was the Nantucket room. It was very spacious and was furnished with one king sized bed and a queen size bed. It also had a desk, a couch, TV, and DVD player. I would say the room is ideal for a small family of four. The room is located at the lobby level and offered gorgeous views of the tall lake and volcano. It's perfect forrelaxingand just enjoying the weather Tagaytay is known for. On the downside, there was obvious water damage on the timber floor beside the bathroom. It's obviously an old problem as parts of the wood had began to rot and was already moist before we even used the showers. It makes me wonder what the hotel is waiting for to make the necessary repairs. Since the hotel is small, units below the lobby share a common garden with a jacuzzi. When people are in the garden chatting or playing, and the balcony doors of the Nantucket room are open, the sound appears as if the people talking are in the room. Although the linens smelled freshly laundered, they looked a bit dingy. The couch likewise smelled a bit old. The rattan lounge chairs in the balcony were already frayed in many places but were still quite comfortable.

The hotel's in-house restaurant Verbena, deserves is rightful place in the Miele guide and the Philippines list of best restaurants. The food that was served was consistently good. The room hotel price is inclusive of happy hour with complimentary wine, cheese, and some fruits & nuts. You also have a wide selection for the complimenary breakfast likewise served up by the award winning Verbena.

Overall, the good service, great food, and relaxing views, makes the hotel a place I would like to stay at again. If you're into the finer details, you may be slightly disappointed for the price you have to pay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peewee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Country Suites, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Pee Wee L,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Discovery Country Suites. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We wish that you will come back a third time next year. Hopefully the scheduled renovation of the hotel has concluded and that you are able to experience a brand new Discovery Country Suites. We will keep you posted on developments.

Yours sincerely,

Jonahs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I've been to this place last May 2011 and we stayed in the Nantucket room. It was a big room for 2 but it was summer so there were a lot of other guests when we made our reservation.
Our second stay was in June 2013 and we stayed in the Oxford room, which was perfect for 2.
I absoluely loved both of my stays. :) i love the view and the serene feeling of being in this place. It's not far from the Tagaytay center where all the nice restaurants are.
The staff was very nice. I love the milk and cookies touch they always give before bedtime. Movies in DVDs are available for those who just want to stay in their room. There's a jacuzzi available to those who want a quick dip.
I will definitely go back to this place over and over for a quick break from the city life. It's not so far from Manila but you feel like you're away from the hustle bustle of the city. :)

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank alexispaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Country Suites, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Aipe,

Thanks for this wonderful post. The pleasure goes both ways. We also love having you here. It is our hope that you will continue to make Discovery Country Suites your "special place" for special occasions, or whenever you find yourself in chilly Tagaytay.

Very truly yours,

Jonahs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Discovery Suites offers privacy (with only 9 rooms, there are less people to meet really) and some peace and quiet. The hotel faces the famous Taal lake and a dip in their heated pool/jacuzzi (also facing the lake) with a glass of wine onhand is a good way to unwind and de-stress. The rooms are spacious and the bed inspires deep relaxing sleep. The clincher is the great, amazing food selection. Spend a weekend night and enjoy their cheese and wine pre-dinner offering.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CampAran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Country Suites, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear CampAran,

Thank you for posting your review in Tripaadvisor. We hope that we have delighted you enough to merit another visit.

Yours truly,

Jonahs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

First time to stay overnight here in Tagaytay to celebrate my wife's birthday! We often pass this way from the Santa Rosa exit-easily accessible and nearest any landmark in Tagaytay. The staff are wonderful, warm and friendly. All smiles day in and out. The rooms are spacious and grand, even the bathrooms. Sans the tub but the outside jacuzzi is great to have pleasant conversation with your partner. The Verbena Restaurant is fantastic-got the steak breakfast with sundried tomatoes and taters, luscious fresh fruit and the "batirol-style" chocolate really perks your breakfast. Hands down to a 2013 Trip Advisor winner. The wifi works best only in the lounge but hard to reach inside the rooms. A bit of early morning traffic noise from the Andalucia room but nothing a good pair of headphones to a Coltrane blues won't cure. But if you're the type who wants to get away from it all. Its a great way to escape the city bustle. Definitely will be back.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wanastacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Country Suites, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear wanastacio,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Discovery Country Suites in Tripadvisor.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We will have our I.T, guys look into your comment about the Wi-Fi reception in the room. We trust that this will be addressed before your next visit with us.

Yours sincerely,

Jonahs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
3.2 mi away
Taal Vista Hotel
Taal Vista Hotel
#4 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
The Lake Hotel Tagaytay
#9 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kimberly
Hotel Kimberly
#2 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.3 mi away
One Tagaytay Place Hotel Suites
1.8 mi away
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
#13 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Country Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Country Suites

Property: Discovery Country Suites
Address: 300 Calamba Road | San Jose, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tagaytay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tagaytay
#3 Family Hotel in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Country Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Country Suites offers a relaxing respite from city life. The experience begins with a scenic drive along a wide open space, lush greenery, vast flower fields and pineapple plantations. Your journey ends with a panoramic vista of a majestic lake and a volcano. Luxurious suites, delectable country cuisine from the Miele Guide rated Restaurant Verbena, exquisite wines and cheese at sundown and warm fireside chats make your Tagaytay experience simply unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Country Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Country Hotel Tagaytay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing