We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Our Melting Pot Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I travelled alone and found this place through recommendation from OMP Manila. Rooms are nice given the cheap price you have to pay (500P or thereabouts). Rooftop is amazing, where you can enjoy the wide view of neighbourhood houses. Within walking distance to popular places in Tagaytay like Leslie's, Starbucks, Josephine, Sky Ranch...

Chateau, the owner, treats guests as family members.

Definitely would choose this again as my summer stay in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    21
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
23
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Best value for money.
Great and very accomodating staff.

I will defo recommend this to my friends when they visit the Philippines.

I didn't have any problem with bookings. Everyone was friendly. Ambiance was great! I met a couple of local and foreign travellers as well and we bonded like we've known each other for a long time.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TU T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
160 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our Melting Pot Hostel's location is great. It's merely a 2-3 mins. walk to restaurants, coffe shops and bars with the perfect view of Taal Volcano. Their introductory rate of 350 pesos (with free breakfast) is perfect for those travelers on a budget. I will definitely recommend this hostel to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malabon, Philippines
Level Contributor
134 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I like how this place is located just a few minutes walk from the Tagaytay Ridge where the restaurants and bars are. There is no view of the Taal Volcano from the hostel, but that's alright since their rates are very affordable. Agree with another reviewer of the hostel, it is quite possible that this is the most affordable place to stay in at Tagaytay. Indeed perfect for budget travelers.

Although it is branded as a hostel, there's not much indication of it being one (no chalk boards, book exchange area, graffiti, etc etc) probably since it just recently opened up. The rooms and main area are quite clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our stay at Our Melting Pot was pleasant overall. The ambiance felt like home. We stayed in a 5-bed dorm room on the second floor. There's a TV in the living room, Wi-Fi access in the entire hostel, and a spacious roof deck (where we spent most of our time chatting and laughing till the wee hours). We had a comfortable sleep even if our room had no aircon (you won't be needing an aircon in Tagaytay).

Our breakfast included bread, eggs, jam and butter, and hot beverages. The experience was homelike as we prepared and cooked our own food at the kitchen.

OMP Tagaytay is an ideal place to stay if you want to relax and find some peace of mind. It is situated in a quiet residential village far from the noise of the city center, but only a few blocks to the main highway where lots of food and entertainment options are available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kurtzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This brand new blue house 3 mn away from the main commercial spots in Tagaytay is a real haven of peace. Not only the place is very nice, clean, cozy, quiet and cheap but the staff there made my stay unforgettable. Chateau, the lady in charge, will welcome you as if you were part of her own family and will make yourself feel at home. She will also arrange everything for you if you want to visit the area and have a trip at Taal Volcano as i did.
I really recommand this hostel to all the travellers !
Thank you to all the staff for making my stay perfect !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasvstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloocan, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

At first you wont expect that this house will give you all that you need when you visit Tagaytay.
Very accessible to the prime spots in Tagaytay. Very cozy, its just like your still at home. Very accommodating "staffs",. Most importantly very affordable. A highly recommended place to everyone. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mads_930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tagaytay hotels
3.6 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tagaytay Country Hotel
Tagaytay Country Hotel
#17 of 25 in Tagaytay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taal Vista Hotel
Taal Vista Hotel
#4 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mountain Breeze Hostel Tagaytay Center
2.8 mi away
The Q Hotel
The Q Hotel
#68 of 97 in Tagaytay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
3.0 mi away
Keni Po
Keni Po
#2 of 97 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our Melting Pot Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Melting Pot Hostel

Property: Our Melting Pot Hostel
Address: 75 Smokey Hill Drive, Maharlika East, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Our Melting Pot Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the buzzling summer capital of Southern Luzon, Our Melting Pot Hostel is poised to provide you with excellent budget accommodation option in the familiar, old-fashioned, gentle ways of Filipinos. Call it as your true home away from home. This site promises to live up to the spirit of the legendary pioneer hostel in Manila, as you enjoy the cool climes with fellow travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Our Melting Pot Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing