We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great if you can get there”

Mt Isarog National Park
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Naga
Attraction details
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great if you can get there”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Naga is not set up for foreign tourism. When I asked my hotel about getting to Mt. Isarog, directions began with a deep sigh. Taxis do not like to go out there because they cannot get a return fare, so they will charge a double fare 600P. The only public option is the jeepney, but it only goes when its full. I waited 1.5 hours before we left the station. And there is no clear answer about when or IF a jeepney will be around to take you home. Some people said the jeepneys stop at 7... others said 4. Its a gamble and you could find yourself stuck out there. That being said, its beautiful and worth the adventure! ... Just be prepared for an "adventure"

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
18 Thank expat_in_hongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

It is well worth a visit if you are in the area. On the way up, you will be rewarded with a magnificent view of the valley between two mountains aside from the waterfall at the park. people do go to have a picnic by the first falls although it is quite a walk. My only beef is that they did not pave it all the way into the entrance of the park. The last part is a dirt road. If you go at the right time, you can buy some produce at some of the produce near the top. We bought chayote at very good price.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank selos10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Pinas
Level Contributor
1,448 reviews
637 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 687 helpful votes
“Not as aaccessible but a great eco destination”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

it is a bit of a stretch as far as accessibility goes but it is one of a kind beautiful and has lots to offer the eco tourist. Facilities are basic but it is well worth the trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JEmmanuelLasPinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“need improvement”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

consider to be good but lack of aminities compare to other national park.i think the local govt is not concentrating in this kind of project.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank auto a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
1,278 reviews
765 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,207 helpful votes
“An Oddly Neglected National Park”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

During our visit today to Mount Isarog, the second tallest volcano in the Bicol Region, we literally did not see one other tourist, local or foreign. This is odd for a few reasons. First, the mountain is close to the large urban centre of Naga City, so there are no shortage of people in the region. Second, the region has sweeping views across to the isthmus; you can see the Pacific Ocean on one side of the peninsula and the sea inland. Finally, the lush, green forest and waterfalls are very appealing in their own right. Perhaps the reason is because the area is not well-developed. Not even the major trails are well signposted. But you really don't need a guide to check out a couple of the falls and enjoy the views. This is a better attraction than anything you will find in Naga City itself.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mt Isarog National Park also viewed

Naga, Camarines Sur Province
Naga, Camarines Sur Province
 
Naga, Camarines Sur Province
Naga, Camarines Sur Province
 

Been to Mt Isarog National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing