We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very accommodating hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phela Grande Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in General Santos
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very accommodating hotel.”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The very accommodating hotel,I've ever been during my- Philippine trip. I admired the way they treated their guests. I choose this hotel because of the good reviews, and its really nice hotel. I asked of one the front desk how old is the hotel and he told me,The hotel is already 25 years in business. No-wonder they got the long years ,because of their efficient service, and the food was great. I stayed at the 4th floor the room was new and the cleanliness was good.To the staff of this hotel, I salute you all. you did your job very well. you were the GEM of this hotel.Highly recommended hotel!

Room Tip: Room at the 4th floor are new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sollamentemorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    20
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
8
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cavite City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The airport transfer was a plus and the driver is very accomodating.. we stayed here for 2 days during my grandma's funeral. The room was clean but rustic. They had old aircon that is so noisy. We had problem with our breakfast according to the waiter that we only one breakfast. But when I inquired to book for my sisters room this june each room will have the same number of breakfast and the occupant. Basta gulo nila. But with a tight budget this will be the best hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mincecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

I'm supposed to write a much better review, however I encountered a little bit of problem with the frontdesk at the time when I was paying the bill. They gave me unsigned charges wherein when I asked for a breakdown so I could
recall and double check, they can't provide one. I was even blamed by the staff for not keeping track of the breakdown of our orders. This is the only hotel I encountered which demands the customer to write down in detail the food ordered as well as its prices.

Nevertheless, hotel is good on outside facilities -especially the coffee shop. I like the feel of security by having a K9 inspect all baggages. However, low average for the room- old sheets, old pillows and leaking bathroom faucets.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristianBerrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We loved every moment of our stay in Gen San thanks to this lovely place we could go home to each night. It's at the quiet side of the city (All the malls are in Lagao) It's a very clean and well-maintained hotel. Room service was great. They have free airport transfers. The staff was very polite and helpful. Will definitely recommend this to anyone who will go to Gen. Santos City.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The_Finicky_Squid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I stayed here in march , there are 2 hotels and I stayed in the older one, I had room 301 , stay was good , room cleaned everyday and food was good , the staff really made the place as they were ever so friendly and could not do enough for you , will I stay here again , yes , I am back here in june , will try the newer hotel to see if it is as good as the old one , it will be a hard act to follow

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank williamjc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I stayed here for two nights on my way to a dive resort in Sarangani. Our room on the 4th floor was quite, clean and comfortable, with a small balcony that looked out over the city and the harbor. The balcony wasn't big enough to lounge on but it was nice to step out on for a view and some fresh air. The Wifi didn't work in the room and I had to go to the coffee shop for internet access. We ate at the restaurant one night and the Filipino food was prepared well. I don't know about the quality of the Western items on the menu.
The two nice things about the hotel was the coffee shop and the staff. The hotel has a coffee shop that can make real coffee, not that Nescafe or 3in1 crap that most hotels here offer. The staff was also very helpful in arranging a car for my trip to the dive resort. I spoke to the doorman and wound up saving 2000P over the price the dive resort was quoting me. My other interactions with the staff were also positive.
The hotel is located next to some restaurants, a Jollibees and some local shopping stores but be advised that there is not much to do in GenSan.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor will get you a good view of the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RadarKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthem, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Very nice well kept hotel and the staff is very attentive and friendly. I spent a week at the phela grande and honestly cannot complain about one thing. Everyone down to the driver, went out of their way to be helpful and made my stay great. I highly reccomend the Phela Grande to anyone looking to stay in GenSan.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cferrell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these General Santos hotels
0.0 mi away
Greenleaf Hotel Gensan
Greenleaf Hotel Gensan
#2 of 15 in General Santos
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Marco Gensan
Hotel San Marco Gensan
#3 of 15 in General Santos
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham General Santos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Columbus Plaza Hotel
Columbus Plaza Hotel
#7 of 15 in General Santos
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Family Country Hotel
Family Country Hotel
#14 of 15 in General Santos
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
East Asia Royale Hotel
East Asia Royale Hotel
#6 of 15 in General Santos
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phela Grande Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phela Grande Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Phela Grande Hotel and Convention Center
Address: Phela Grande Hotel and Convention Center Magsaysay Avenue, General Santos, Mindanao 9500, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > South Cotabato Province > General Santos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in General Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phela Grande Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of General Santos City, a Boomtown City, PHELA GRANDE HOTEL has been an elite for over eighteen years. This premiere luxury hotel, cached on the west side heart of the City, promises a unique business ambiance. Among Gensan's finest Hotels, this masterpiece is renowned for the sumptuousness of its accommodations, especially the extravagance and delicacies of the Meilih Restaurant - so fine that they hold premiere functions and conferences attended by enthusiasts from around the world.The exquisite Meilih Restaurant offers the best Chinese and Japanese Cuisine, where prompt and courteous service awaits. Savor the food heartily cooked by well-trained chefs.Cafe' Eduardo is a haven for coffee lovers. Soothed by the organist's sweet mellow music, it creates a cozy and relaxing nook.Amethyst Grand Ballroom offers complete amenities and faculties, fully air-conditioned, wide and spacious. It has a capacity of 150 persons for affairs such as wedding receptions, parties and seminars. For theater type functions, it can accommodate up to 300 persons. For different functions of smaller groups, Emerald Function Room is the convenient one, fully air-conditioned, with accessible restrooms and cozy veranda.Designed to provide guests with the residential comfort they expect when away from home, the hotel is definitely a second home.Whether you stay at PHELA GRANDE HOTEL or have an opulent function at homey, residential-style bedrooms and suites; or convening at the Phela Convention Center, that is widely renowned of its sumptuous delicacies, you will relish a level of refinement rarely found in General Santos City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Phela Grande Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing