We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of the South”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Greenleaf Hotel Gensan
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in General Santos
Certificate of Excellence
General Santos City, General Santos, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gem of the South”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

No better place to stay in General Santos City. If you want a good night sleep,
safe and relaxing. The structure of this hotel is well architectural designed.
Can't find so much fault. Near to SM supermart and city center. You'll love the cozy ambience
It not on budget tight, stay here. you will not go wrong.

Room Tip: All rooms just the same.. no need to choose.. just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GatewaytravelGROUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    74
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
42
27
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Davao City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had an event at General Santos City, Philippines for our product broadcast on the said region. It was a two-and- a-half-hour-drive from where we departed since we were on board our Assistant Manager's company-owned vehicle. But if you commute on bus, you will arrive 3 to 4 hrs then. Anyway, the hotel is located right beside Shoemart - Gensan. So you don't have to worry that much if you have something to buy. As we entered the lobby to confirm our booking, i noticed the motiff of the hotel. It stood by their name. Even small details on the walls and pillars were carved in a root-like part of a tree. The colors of the chairs and tables were well-coordinated. It was so soothing to see. When I came into our room, though it was not that big but not so small, the first thing I noticed was the bathroom. It has glass walls but in the middle of it, they had it frosted. We know why? But at the far end, they put up a mini garden with small pebbles and potted plant. I was pretty much adored by this hotel because I felt the comfort and coziness of a home away from home. Greenleaf is much nicer than one of the high-end hotels in Davao City I had once tried. In the morning, we had our breakfast and still, captivated my taste with their delicious entrees, native delicacies and assorted desserts. Too bad I wasn't able to use their swimming pool. We had to leave early. Anyway, if you're curious about the price, you can say that it's very pricey. They are the 5-star-hotel in that city as they claimed. It's all worth it. I have a little secret though. We got a nice deal with the rates however because the owner is one of our customers.. hehe! Slight problem is their parking area upfront. Better park your car at the basement. From where you are coming, there is a little difficulty in making a turn going up the escalated entrance of the hotel. But if you're just a backpacker, no hassle at all. So, I hope you won't have double thoughts on where to stay at the southern part of the country. Have a nice trip and have fun!!

Room Tip: Well, a good room for me is where you can see the view of the bustling city at night. Maybe you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sui_Lai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I got the promo 2,999 per night, i booked two nights and requested the king size bed because we are a couple, but when we checked in i found out we were in twin room, pisses off because i fully paid the room and yet the request i got was opposite, now tell me greenleaf how can we squeez in because its a two single beds. So we wil sleep separetly since we are couple?? Stupid front desk! Next time gurantee your reservations. Wifi sucked also, its just by the door. You dont want to stay near the door always right? Breakfast was great, hotel lobby was surprisingly hot when you wait there or ur guest would wait there. Check out was smooth. A really nice hotel, but the front desk is stupid among all hotels i've been check in with. Dont expect to get the room you always up, you'll end up disppointing yourself.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank anjela07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Nice Things:
They are running a special in May 3,000P for room + breakfast.
Excellent (though smallish) pool open 24 hours, with 2-3 kiddie pools.
Backup generator kicked in within a minute of a power failure
Key-card power-off feature does not cut power to the desk, so your laptop/phones can continue to charge while you are out. Good planning here.
Housekeeping staff checking every evening if I needed something
Calling before they deliver laundry
Brewed coffee for breakfast
Excellent service from all staff
Several movie channels. My 1st room had a giant TV, the 2nd room I used the TV was large.
Some TV channels in Japanese and Chinese, and Korean.
Strong WiFi signal. Ping 136ms, Download 7.20 Mbps, Upload 5.70. See note blow about Internet
Excellent choice of tabletops, they will last a long time and still look good.
Nice price on draft beer in the club
Great breakfast
Just across from SM City mall. Next door to Gusteaus Seafood
My laptop appreciated the grounded electrical outlets
Nice items for coffee/tea service
Appreciate having a fridge and not having it crammed with mini-bar items
In room safe
Batter-powered bedside clock. Someone was thinking!

Not So Nice:
Many quirky design issues. If you are a hotel designer, hotel architect, or owner, please consider:
Closet has mirror doors, nice. No handles on the doors, not so nice
Shower, no down directing faucet.
Electronic Air conditioning control very hard to use. I resorted to manually shutting it off periodically. With the fan on low, I should not hear the air blowing.
Sinks are a nice modern design, and Not Flat (thank you), but they are small and don't match the faucet. Water splashes all over, which I am sure is a bother the housekeeping.
Toilet keeps running
Internet: rooms are wired for Ethernet LAN cable, but its not hooked up. The first room I was in the Internet was not connecting. I believe the blame is the small WiFi routers installed.
Select WiFi routers that have an Ethernet connection, so customers can choose either method to connect.
Nice leather folder to hold the TV remote, but no channel guide.
Too many light switches!
Sharp edges on the lower edge of the bed frame killed my toes twice!
Some defects with the low-wattage LED lights
Do we really need LED lights in the shower??
Water pot - no room for the plug, fridge filled all available space in the cabinet

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JamboME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Starting with the cons, be sure to advise staff you do not want a room in the upper floors
with the water pump noise. It is consistently loud and kept me awake numerous times
during my stay. After all, what is the main concern of staying in a hotel ...a quiet/comfortable
sleep/stay. For the price, Green leaf is over rated, selling themselves in the same category as
International hotels as hilton/marriot etc. Virtually nearing the same price, yet green leaf is
built with extremely cheap materials. Where they should be using stainless steal, they do not..
This hotel will fall apart in no time. No doubt they will not renovate until its a disaster.
Majority of the time, the wifi was tripping into nowhere land.

The pros, the pool is lovely, good food at the restaurant generally speaking, minus the
drowning of food with oil. Staff is generally attentive.
Unless there is a great promo going on, I would not bother again.
No doubt the staff must place a client away from the horrid noise of the water pump
when being asked for a quiet room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from the water pump noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank surfinraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is with out doubt the best Hotel in General Santos. The rooms are large, clean and have very comfortable beds.

The restaurants have improved dramatically since the hotel first opened, however the breakfast room can get crowded a peak hours if the hotel is full.

Great pool, well equipped gym, and a pleasant bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank isin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Have been wanting to try this new hotel since I saw it being constructed in my last trip there. Boy, was i impressed!

The rooms were quite stylish & elegant, the amenities were complete (led tv, complimentary coffee & tea, safe, etc.) bed & pillows very comfy.

The price was quite reasonable & came with a free buffet breakfast, which was also okay. Service was also good.

The hotel is also located conveniently across the street from SM City mall GenSan, should you need anything else.

All in all, this hotel is highly recommended for business travelers. I just hope they maintain the quality of the rooms & service.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank mike321ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these General Santos hotels
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham General Santos
0.2 mi away
Family Country Hotel
Family Country Hotel
#14 of 15 in General Santos
29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Columbus Plaza Hotel
Columbus Plaza Hotel
#7 of 15 in General Santos
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Marco Gensan
Hotel San Marco Gensan
#3 of 15 in General Santos
35 reviews
2.3 mi away
East Asia Royale Hotel
East Asia Royale Hotel
#6 of 15 in General Santos
67 reviews
2.3 mi away
Stonewood Hotel
Stonewood Hotel
#11 of 15 in General Santos
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenleaf Hotel Gensan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenleaf Hotel Gensan

Property: Greenleaf Hotel Gensan
Address: San Miguel, General Santos, Mindanao 9500, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > South Cotabato Province > General Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in General Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenleaf Hotel Gensan 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Greenleaf Hotel Gensan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing