We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice way to close the day”
Review of The Class 300

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Class 300
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sokcho
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A nice way to close the day”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Checking in was handled smoothly and efficiently. When entering the room was greeted with a dark open spaced but soon was replaced with the feeling of spaciousness after turning on the light. Such a big room with sofa to sit on and what more to come is the spacious space I have in the bathroom. This hotel just make my day complete when after showering and I lay myself in bed. Just the right nice comfortable bed. Have a good night sleep everyone

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 625hendras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    65
    70
    10
    7
See reviews for
41
37
2
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A modern and nice hotel in Sockho Area..And I think it's the only *4 star hotel around here. About 15-20 minutes from Sorak National Park, one of tourism destination in south Korea ( about 3 - 3.5 hours driving from Seoul). The hotel itself has a a spacious room and bathroom, some room had a view to the ocean. No smoking at entire hotel. There's no ammenities like tootbrush and toothpaste, but you can buy it in 711 shop in hotel lobby, but its only open until 22.00. There's another 711 shop right beside the hotel open for 24 hours. There's a church in front of hotel..Breakfast is ok, check in process is smooth. I stay here a few times for business.

Room Tip: Choose room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Patsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogor, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my tour group and this hotel is comfortable. They have a number of English TV channel. The restaurant is located at the 15th floor which served various and tasty breakfast with good views. There is a market nearby which sells various items

The only down point is the wifi is only provided at the lobby area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Full of nationwide tourists. Convenient store located next to the hotel. Small rooms but conveniently set amenities. Lobby is small but many tourists walking around to get wifi connection. Hotel is favorite choice by travel agent as seen from tens of buses parking on the next road.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ksw-notes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed one night when visiting Seoraksan Park. Modern and big rooms. Got the impression that hotel caters for locals as the remote control in the bathroom were Korean. Do not try to use the control if you don't plan to get wet. Faulty design on the outlet plug. Saw some stains on the sofa. Provided with instant coffee, cup and water heater but there was no spoon or stirrer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed in this hotel after visiting Mt. Seorak. Rooms were big and furniture looked new. But a friend complained that there were bed bugs on her bed. Plug outlets not functioning properly as well. Breakfast buffet was bland but acceptable. Free Wi-Fi on the lobby. I'd try to look for other hotels near the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micol_mca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sokcho hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boston
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I booked one night at The Class 300 hotel, during the peak weekend of Autumn foliage sightseeing period of October 26th, 2013.

ranked at #4, I did search for the first top 3. But they were sold out and I had no choice but to book this one.

1. Booked it through hotels.com. Deluxe Room wass the first available. And, I learned there was a smaller Standard room available directly from the hotel reservation line.

If you book through the hotel desk( the desk staff barely spoke English during the time of Booking inquiry calls), they are likely to suggest the lower-rated standard rooms, to save you some bucks, assuming that the guest would want the great deal. Not necessarily.

The staff needs to understand the guests are never the same from one to another.

The room rate was 50-70% overrated as the entire town raise the room price for the few weeks of the tourist season. And, yet, the price was still very inexpensive for any westerner's standard at $140~150. Instantly, you can picture this hotels sits between a typical Holiday Inn and a newer Holiday Inn Express.

But, without a gym, a pool, a cocktail lounge. Hence, the class 300 falls back to a typical tourist hotel. This adequate price range whether it is the peak price or lower, shouldn't make any hurried traveler make a confident decision at the Class 300, honestly. I recommend it.

Nevertheless, upon booking, you will need to insist taking the seaside view on a higher level. The other side is still underdeveloped, and quite dingy neighborhood. Sokcho is like this through the town. Not one area is particularly better than others.

2. Entering the deluxe room, you will be first impressed with the size and adequately furnished features of the room. The separate bathroom comes with the window to the room with blinds, very mid 2000s design. And, the acrylic tub, separately from the glass doored shower booth make the room more luxurious than what they really are. Also, the room is equipped with the hairdryer, kettle, a mini-fridge and ample desk and luggage space, and a bidet in the toilet, with all-korean remote control-silly.

Ah, one of the single beds we had is blocked by the wall. That is quite Korean mentality. In fact, the sofa settee don't quite fit the room if the bed position wasn't compromised that way.

Visually pleasing, however, we were instantly disgusted by the musty bacteria odor from the bathroom. Obviously, the hotel housekeeping did not know how to sanitize the room, other than visually wiping the surface, they did not use any disinfectant for cleaning the wet room.

There were lots of stain marks throughout the room. The carpet and the sofa fabric were not pre-treated with any stain guard. And, there were coffee stains and sweat stains everywhere, although we could tell that the hotel attempted to clean them.

Also, you will find that the mattresses are like they were added with a cardboard under the first layer pad. Strangely, it was as good as any 5-star hotel sleep experience, of course, considering the heavy climbing throughout the day at Sorak Mountain park.

3. In the hotel there is a breakfast lounge overlooking Dong-Hae, the East Sea, which is somewhat soothing in the morning, but we already have the same view from our room. The Sun Rise is NOT as spectacular as the hotel promotes, but the actual morning water view is calm and soothing after the sun rises above your eye level.

The breakfast buffet offers fruits, some juice, soups, yucky coffee, that tastes like a brewing once-filtered coffee again. The breakfast meats, and eggs are typical, and there are cereals and other Korean foods for the foreign tourists to sample. I didn't have much of the expectation and 18,000won was slightly steep based on the reviews by the hotel staff. But, I find the experience quite acceptable. Not shabby, never.

One thing to warn you all,
when we checked out, as we had this extra breakfast, they charged us separately, but, the receipt printed some other tour bus company name with the correct amount of the charge. This made me think of the some Korean Mafia business and petty tax scams.

4. Although this is very close to the Express Bus Terminal, and situated one big block away from the beach (the beach boardwalk is quite fun at night, all the way to the north to A-bai Maul(Grampy village), first-generation North Koreans settlement after the Korean war, is quite interesting as it was fun to peep into Sokcho's present and past in overlapping layers. Indeed, Sokcho grew as a quaint beach village to me from one night's walk. I highly suggest the night walk on the boardwalk and into the back street to North.

5. We took taxi to Sorak mountains, it was only 16,000+won + tip one way and 15min ride to the entrance of the park. But, it was quite chaotic, although ticketing was super fast and somehow, there was this magical Korean efficiency and order you will experience from the worst scene. from the hotel, just outside the building, there is a bus stop. Take 7 or 7-1 bus, and after 10+ stops, it is the final stop of the bus route, and you will be dropped off 3-4min distant location away from the park entrance. Bewarned that each bus will be packed with tourists. And, you may want to get a taxi up.

6. But the way down to the hotel by taxi is almost impossible. These taxi drivers were not trained for the international standard and they would refuse a passenger who would want to go to Sokcho back. Instead, they would make a cheap fixed rate of 5,000won($4.50) to shuttle between the entrance and the visitor parking lot down the road. We had to shout for the double the fee to stop one taxi. The next day, on Sunday, we saw the government worker out to watch the traffic flows for the tourists, and, the taxi drivers no longer refused us. But, they complain a lot for not making money driving us to the hotel.

The Bus for the return trip was almost impossible, as there were almost a 1/4 mile-long line and hundreds of people. Even for the taxi, there were more than 50-60 people in line.

7. If you think of returning to the hotel, without a car(say you are a foreign individual guests), I suggest you go FIRST to eat out at the mountain park or at one of the harbors in Sokcho before it gets too late.
Once you are back in the hotel, it might be you get a bit too lazy and it gets too late to get out to find a good eating spot during the daylight. I hardly found taxi near the hotel. And, your smartphone for google search will not give many heads-up either.

For those unfortunate ones, there are 4-5 convenient stores, that are open for 24 hours. But, you will never get a meal from a store but snacks.

This limiting dinner time was very challenging for us during our stay.

8. In general, our focus of the trip was the Sorak Mountain hiking, not the stay in hotels, as they are not obviously the best in the most popular town. If you don't expect much, you will definitely enjoy this hotel, and its location very easy and convenient.

However, I noticed that there is no English Signs anywhere throughout the town and, it would be quite frustrating for any foreigner, without a helpful local advice ahead of the day. But, that is also the fun for the young hearts.

I hope that Sokcho town officials get a better sense of tourism as a serious business opportunity and make sure the town welcome the domestic and foreign tourists altogether with more organized guidance. they are missing out lots of opportunity to leap at the moment.

To sum up, our stay in the hotel and the visit to Sorak Mountain park was quite pleasant from my perspective. But, my partner, rated this experience as B-.

[Extra tip for a day or two in the park]
--a. book 3-4pm cable car, then head to Ulsan Bawi Route (4-5 hours, lunch on the way down, pancakes, and squid rolls yum!)
--b. Cable car up to Gwongum-Sung, get out and up to the right side (no sign) for 25min. to the rocky mound (open space), climb further up, following the rope lines(very challenging for big foots!) the view from there watching the sun set, and overlooking the base of the park and watching ulsan-bawi is fantastic. Better than Arthur's Seat in Edinburgh.
--c. On 2nd day, we headed to Bison-dae, pleasant and easy shaded path along the creek(1+hr), then vertically challenging Gumgang-gul for next 1.5hr, the view from there is just like a picture. You will definitely appreciate the Sorak mountain.

These 3 routes will make you love Sorak mountain for ever. And, it made me feel juvenated again.

Room Tip: Seaside View, higher level above 8th floor, not many dinner places nearby, experience the breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank One_Big_Hopping_Dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sokcho
0.8 mi away
Ramada Gangwon Sokcho Hotel
5.6 mi away
Kensington Stars Hotel
Kensington Stars Hotel
#2 of 14 in Sokcho
148 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Maremons
Hotel Maremons
#5 of 14 in Sokcho
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Benikea Hotel Mountain & Ocean Daepohang
0.0 mi away
Two Y Hotel
Two Y Hotel
#2 of 8 in Yangyang-gun
3 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eastern Tourist Hotel
Eastern Tourist Hotel
#13 of 14 in Sokcho
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Class 300? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Class 300

Property: The Class 300
Address: 3915, Donghae-daero, Sokcho, Gangwon-do 24894, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Sokcho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sokcho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Class 300 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Class 300 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing