We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compare 2 hostels”
Review of James Blue Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
James Blue Hostel
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I spent one night at the James Blue, and another at the very popular House Hostel. James Blue is very new, clean and comfortable. It is also very near to the Sokcho Intercity bus station, though not as near as the House Hostel. I stayed in a double-bed room with private bathroom. One thing I like about James Blue, compared with the House Hostel, is that there are white sheet covering the bedding, and another under the duvet (like in a hotel). That means these sheets can be changed after each guest. Also, the room is bigger and the water pressure of the shower was strong making showering an enjoyable experience. The bathroom at the House Hostel was rather old and the water pressure there was rather weak.
Another thing about the room is it is equipped with hair spray, comb and many others which are not found in other hostels. There are also 2 bottles of water in the fridge for the guests.
For breakfast, both offered the normal jam and bread, tea and coffee. However, the House Hostel also offered my favourite cereals!
Even though the room rate at James Blue is higher, I think it is worth the price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Checked into the female dormitory room. It has a individual toilet which was quite clean. I love the fact that each bed has its individual power socket to charge our devices. It cost me 20,000W per night. But do note that price will vary during the different season Breakfast is really limited and is available from 8am. The common room is quite quiet. But it was really nicely decorated. The owner was helpful in recommending the places to visit. There's a nice brunch cafe just across this hostel. It's rather hard to find cheap Korean restaurant around the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Autumnday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just like everyone else said, awesome place. James BLuE is in a great location, and James himself is very helpful. As soon as we got in, he gave us the rundown of the whole city and everything there was to do. He's very friendly and even went out with us for dinner the night we arrived.

Computers in the lounge, beer for sale, free little breakfast, and the bathrooms were even equipped with shampoos and soaps, which is a nice little bonus. Highly recommended. One of the best hostels I've ever been to.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveHina7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I'm french and I slept in this hostel few weeks ago. The hostel is the best in town for this price range. James is an amazing host, I highly recommend it. Great location and typical food. Super! I will come back here for sure next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Despite we arrived at night, a father of owner was happy to help us. We were really surprised about the cleanliness and facility in the room. There was more than we expected, room was newly and high quality furnitured, everything worked and looked very good. We would say the quality of the room is almost same as in better 3stars hotel. The stuff speaks english so we would recomend this place to all international visitors!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sixilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

jamesblue is located almost in the middle of the heart of sokcho. walkable distance to most of the attractions and especially the bus terminal which made travelling so much easier.
air-conditioned rooms and REALLY clean and huge bathroom.
i had a good time staying in sokcho, all thanks to james blue hostel!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED GUYS!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arisonnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

i went on a trip. my Best friend!!!

the owner was friendly

the building&room is clean

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7Daniel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sokcho hotels
1.7 mi away
The Class 300
The Class 300
#4 of 15 in Sokcho
171 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Gangwon Sokcho Hotel
5.7 mi away
Kensington Stars Hotel
Kensington Stars Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sokcho
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Maremons
Hotel Maremons
#6 of 15 in Sokcho
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
The House Hostel
The House Hostel
#1 of 40 in Sokcho
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mr. Egg Sokcho Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Blue Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Blue Hostel

Address: 192-2, Jungang-ro, Sokcho, Gangwon-do 24824, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Sokcho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Sokcho
Price Range: £26 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — James Blue Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcom to Sokcho!!Cozy and neat room with breakfast in James BLuE.The hostel James BLuE is located in the middle of the most touristic places in Sok-Cho.Sok-cho intercity bus terminal, Bus stop for Mt.Seorak, Beach, Abai-town, Jung-ang traditional market and Dong-myung harbor. These are all in FIVE - TEN minutes to get on FOOT!Free WIFI, Breakfast, Laundry, Cafeteria, Outdoor terrace, Bar.Every room has each free WiFi.Simple breakfast will be served in the morning 8 to 10 AM for free.You can do your laundry for free.You can use plates, cups something like that in the cafeteria 8AM to 11PM.Make some friends in cafeteria.Outside of cafeteria there is a terrace you can use.If you ask me about this city I will tell you the real information about this city.Information on internet is not that good.We have 4 kind of rooms. Dormitory room(Four beds, Six beds), Single room (for 1-2 people), Double Room(for 3-4 people), Family room(for 5-6 people)There are two kind of dorm rooms. One of them has two bunk beds. Another one has three bink beds.It is very easy to find because James blue is infront of the sokcho city hall!!It is very easy to find James blue hostel.Go to the right from the Sok-cho intercity bus terminal to the sea (Downhill). Take the Second right and walk along the main street until reaching a cafe ALMOST HEAVEN.Across the street, there is the hostel White and Blue building Welcome!!!!!!!!There is an Information Center in front of the bus terminal.You can also ask them or ask any body "Si-cheong". That means the City hall in Korean.James BLuE is very near the Sok-cho city hall.1. Keep your important things in the front desk.2. Keep your voice down in the room at night time.3. Check in - 14:00 PM Check out - 11:00 AM Breakfast - 08:00 ~ 10:00 Living room - 08:00 ~ 24:004. James BLuE is a nonsmoking building. (Including the room)5. Front desk is open until 11 PM.6. Smoking is strictly forbidden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your James Blue Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing