We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kensington Stars Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$154
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
    HotelQuickly
    View Deal
    Great 4.5/5
      TripAdvisor
      View Deal
      Great 4.5/5
      • Restaurant
      TripAdvisor
      View Deal
      Good 3.5/5
      • Free Parking
      • Beachfront
      TripAdvisor
      View Deal
      Average 3/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      TripAdvisor
      View Deal
      Average 3/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Room Service
      Reviews (174)
      Filter reviews
      174 results
      Traveller rating
      44
      64
      46
      16
      4
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      44
      64
      46
      16
      4
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsnational parkcable cardouble decker busesmountain viewfront desk staffan alternativethree roomslondon busesbreakfast pricelate octoberkorean menucheaper roomswalking distancepublic areasearly checksoupmt seorak
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      79 - 84 of 174 reviews
      Reviewed 8 January 2014

      I booked a Noble King room, but found the wifi signal non-existent in the room I was allocated, and no overhead shower. The hotel was kind enough to move me to another room with good wifi signal and a better shower. The bed was quite hard and uncomfortable to sleep on. Food in the hotel 'Abbeyroad' restaurant is of good quality but rather pricey in my view ie US$9 for a cappuccino, US$20 for a pizza. On the positive side, great location to explore the park which is just 200m down the road.

      Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
      1  Thank vsylee
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

      Dear vsylee,

      Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

      We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for location from Mt. Seorak and staff friendliness.

      And in the meantime, the area you have advised will be shared with the team concerned to serve you better in future.

      Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

      Thank you.

      Best regards,

      Rachel Hwang

      Hotel Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 4 January 2014

      Three great things about staying at Kensington Stars Hotel - 1) very friendly and helpful staff, 2) great location to Seoraksan National Park, and 3) great mountain view from your room.

      Hotel staff gave us a run down of places to visit at Sokcho (what each is good for), recommended us places to visit, made calls for us to check schedules of Sokcho City Tour. Thank you very much. We tried to get these info at the Tourist Information Kiosk at Express Bus Terminal after we alighted, but staff there was not forthcoming.

      Hotel rates, however, are on the high side. If your trip is solely for hiking, this is the place to stay.
      If you are on holiday, wanting to explore Sokcho, Seoraksan Park and all other nearby places, then there are many alternative accommodation at Sokcho city or even a few km away from the hotel (still within Seoraksan area). You do not need to stay at Kensington.

      Each floor at the hotel showcases photos and memento: 5F Sports Stars; 6F Ambassadors' floor; 7F Singers' floor; 8F Movie Stars. However, all the displays are older stars (maybe none from the year 2000 onwards?). We feel that hotel needs to continuously update their displays to make them current and hence live up to the name of the hotel.

      • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank aliysue
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

      Dear aliysue,

      Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

      We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for location from Mt. Seorak and staff friendliness.

      And in the meantime, the area you have advised will be shared with the team concerned to serve you better in future.

      Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

      Thank you.

      Best regards,

      Rachel Hwang

      Hotel Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 22 December 2013

      If you are hiking Seoraksan, this hotel is the absolute best place to make your "base camp". Rooms and amenities are average, nothing to shout about. We did not have our meals in the hotel as it was very convenient to go to nearby Sokcho town by public bus. Bus fare is only 1000won (one way) and takes about 15 to 20 minutes to the city. Frequency of bus is also very good, just check with the hotel staff.

      I would recommend spending at least 3 nights here if you are going hiking on seoraksan. Take time to explore Sokcho as well, the fish market (there are two, one for raw seafood, the other for cooked food) is simply amazing.

      The people are friendly in this place and the view from the hotel is simply amazing.

      • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Nicholas_Booi
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2015

      Dear Nicholas_Booi,

      Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

      We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for location from Mt. Seorak and staff friendliness.

      Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

      Thank you.

      Best regards,

      Rachel Hwang,

      Hotel Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 8 December 2013

      location just grate for your trip to mt sorak national park. Walking distance. the rooms awesome interior comfortable bed. the view from the balcony spectacular facing the mountain and rows of cherry blossom. We had a good English breakfast at the restaurant with very classic English deco with superb view. recommended stay !

      • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank travelisious
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2015

      Dear travelisious,

      Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel.

      We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for location from Mt. Seorak and staff friendliness.

      Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

      Thank you.

      Best regards,

      Rachel Hwang,

      Hotel Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

      Like most of the other contributors this is a difficult place to rate. On location it should get a 5 as it is perfect for the Seoraksan national park. Up the access road, just 500m to the main gate. So of you want to spend the max time in the park it's the best place.

      On everything else it gets a 1. Even allowing for the quirkiness it is not good. We booked through Booking.com which said there were only 5 rooms left, but it was nearly empty. There are 3 restaurants, but only the Beatles themed one was open, with a very limited menu and very average food. Also apart from in our room, everywhere else was freezing. In the restaurant we even saw one couple eating with their coats on.

      We have had a great time in the park, hiking in the mountains, but won't be staying at the hotel if we come back again.

      Stayed: November 2013
      4  Thank richardmccrohan
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2015

      Dear richardmccrohan,

      Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

      We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for location from Mt. Seorak.

      And in the meantime, the area you have advised will be shared with the team concerned to serve you better in future.

      Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

      Thank you.

      Best regards,

      Rachel Hwang

      Hotel Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews