We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, on Seoraksan's doorstep, and on bus stop for Sokcho.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kensington Stars Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Sokcho
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, on Seoraksan's doorstep, and on bus stop for Sokcho.”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I think the website describes this hotel very accurately. I'd say it certainly is 4 star standard. The bed was the best we've had in Korea. We paid about $170 per night, expensive for us, but with such spectacular scenery and hiking at the front door its cheap. Their attempt at a western breakfast was pretty woeful but hungry hikers don't mind.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JarJah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2015
Dear JarJah,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for convenience of facilities and staff friendliness.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Rachel Hwang,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    58
    37
    14
    4
See reviews for
50
59
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
223 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at this Eclectic hotel. The room was a music themed room that had a toilet that I thought could fly. State of the art toilet with heated seat :) which was great with the cold and snowy weather. Enjoyed the proximity to the Seoraksan park. Would stay again but not at full price, I got a great deal using priceline.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2015
Dear Dave W,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for convenience of facilities and staff friendliness.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Rachel Hwang,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I booked a Noble King room, but found the wifi signal non-existent in the room I was allocated, and no overhead shower. The hotel was kind enough to move me to another room with good wifi signal and a better shower. The bed was quite hard and uncomfortable to sleep on. Food in the hotel 'Abbeyroad' restaurant is of good quality but rather pricey in my view ie US$9 for a cappuccino, US$20 for a pizza. On the positive side, great location to explore the park which is just 200m down the road.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vsylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2015
Dear vsylee,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for location from Mt. Seorak and staff friendliness.

And in the meantime, the area you have advised will be shared with the team concerned to serve you better in future.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Rachel Hwang

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Three great things about staying at Kensington Stars Hotel - 1) very friendly and helpful staff, 2) great location to Seoraksan National Park, and 3) great mountain view from your room.

Hotel staff gave us a run down of places to visit at Sokcho (what each is good for), recommended us places to visit, made calls for us to check schedules of Sokcho City Tour. Thank you very much. We tried to get these info at the Tourist Information Kiosk at Express Bus Terminal after we alighted, but staff there was not forthcoming.

Hotel rates, however, are on the high side. If your trip is solely for hiking, this is the place to stay.
If you are on holiday, wanting to explore Sokcho, Seoraksan Park and all other nearby places, then there are many alternative accommodation at Sokcho city or even a few km away from the hotel (still within Seoraksan area). You do not need to stay at Kensington.

Each floor at the hotel showcases photos and memento: 5F Sports Stars; 6F Ambassadors' floor; 7F Singers' floor; 8F Movie Stars. However, all the displays are older stars (maybe none from the year 2000 onwards?). We feel that hotel needs to continuously update their displays to make them current and hence live up to the name of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2015
Dear aliysue,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for location from Mt. Seorak and staff friendliness.

And in the meantime, the area you have advised will be shared with the team concerned to serve you better in future.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Rachel Hwang

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

If you are hiking Seoraksan, this hotel is the absolute best place to make your "base camp". Rooms and amenities are average, nothing to shout about. We did not have our meals in the hotel as it was very convenient to go to nearby Sokcho town by public bus. Bus fare is only 1000won (one way) and takes about 15 to 20 minutes to the city. Frequency of bus is also very good, just check with the hotel staff.

I would recommend spending at least 3 nights here if you are going hiking on seoraksan. Take time to explore Sokcho as well, the fish market (there are two, one for raw seafood, the other for cooked food) is simply amazing.

The people are friendly in this place and the view from the hotel is simply amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas_Booi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear Nicholas_Booi,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for location from Mt. Seorak and staff friendliness.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Rachel Hwang,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

location just grate for your trip to mt sorak national park. Walking distance. the rooms awesome interior comfortable bed. the view from the balcony spectacular facing the mountain and rows of cherry blossom. We had a good English breakfast at the restaurant with very classic English deco with superb view. recommended stay !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelisious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear travelisious,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel.

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for location from Mt. Seorak and staff friendliness.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Rachel Hwang,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Like most of the other contributors this is a difficult place to rate. On location it should get a 5 as it is perfect for the Seoraksan national park. Up the access road, just 500m to the main gate. So of you want to spend the max time in the park it's the best place.

On everything else it gets a 1. Even allowing for the quirkiness it is not good. We booked through Booking.com which said there were only 5 rooms left, but it was nearly empty. There are 3 restaurants, but only the Beatles themed one was open, with a very limited menu and very average food. Also apart from in our room, everywhere else was freezing. In the restaurant we even saw one couple eating with their coats on.

We have had a great time in the park, hiking in the mountains, but won't be staying at the hotel if we come back again.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank richardmccrohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear richardmccrohan,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for location from Mt. Seorak.

And in the meantime, the area you have advised will be shared with the team concerned to serve you better in future.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Rachel Hwang

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sokcho
6.0 mi away
Ramada Gangwon Sokcho Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Class 300
The Class 300
#3 of 14 in Sokcho
168 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Maremons
Hotel Maremons
#5 of 14 in Sokcho
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Benikea Hotel Mountain & Ocean Daepohang
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amaranth
Hotel Amaranth
#7 of 14 in Sokcho
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Two Y Hotel
Two Y Hotel
#2 of 8 in Yangyang-gun
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Stars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Stars Hotel

Property: Kensington Stars Hotel
Address: 998, Seoraksan-ro, Sokcho, Gangwon-do 24903, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Sokcho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sokcho
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sokcho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington Stars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kensington Stars Hotel is the nearest place from which the beautiful unexplored regions of Mt.SeorakㅡKorea's most famous vacation areaㅡcan be seen. It boast the panoramic view of Kwon Geum Sung, admired so greatly by the former president Park Jung-Hee, he held his own exclusive room in the hotel. The Kensington Stats Hotel is the first Theme Hotel in the World. It is decorated with goods contributed from celebrities of the cultural and sports world. The hotel has an English-style interior and gracious atmosphere, within which the Kensington family presents beautiful memories that each and every one of the customers may keep deep inside his or her heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kensington Stars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Stars Hotel Sokcho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing